We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amed
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows
Ranked #1 of 68 Amed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed here on our honeymoon in May and had an amazing time. Lisa and David who have recently taken over the running of the place were really friendly and accommodating. David is a very competent dive master who put me at ease and helped my wife do a trial dive which she thoroughly enjoyed despite being very apprehensive at first. His knowledge of the local marine life was also very impressive and interesting. I did a 'dive safari' which consisted of 6 dives which was very good value for money and was lucky to see a reef shark, a sea horse and a turtle amongst many other things. The accommodation was comfortable and immaculately clean (cleaned to a high standard every day without fail) Lisa, David and all the staff were very friendly and helpful and because it is a small place we got to know them all and it felt very personal. The only small drawback was the lack of air-conditioning, although the do have fans. The location was also good, within walking distance of a great number of restaurants and several shops. The beach directly across the road also offers some really good snorkelling. Would recommend this place to anybody visiting Amed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrFury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
82
242
96
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

These bungalows are a great option for those visiting Amed and wanting something very relaxed and friendly. It's also a great option for keen divers as there is dive centre attached. The bungalows themselves are of a decent size, clean, and airy. There is free wifi, though a little patchy. The free breakfast is the standard offered around Bali (yummy banana pancakes or eggs and bread). It is located across from the beach, with a decent selection of local warungs (small local eateries) to pick from.

Liselotte and David who run the dive centre and bungalows are really sweet. I think there are only 5 bungalows on offer, so that makes the whole service very personal and friendly. I did 4 dives with them over 2 days. On one of the days I was the only guest diving, and they still took me out and made sure I had an awesome time. The price is competitive and the sea life is plentiful!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spacerabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in january for 5 nights,we had an amazing stay,the staff went out of their way to get you everything you needed,the place is very clean,our room was cleaned everyday with fresh linnen,the beds are comfy and the bungalows are typical balinese.The location is great,handy for exploring the Amed coastline.They have their own dive operation on site which we found very professional and provided the highlight of our trip!! Breakfast was of good quality and the garden we founded just stunning ;) If you come to Amed to relax,good diving and great accomodation then Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows is definitely the place to stay! we hope to come back soon!

Room Tip: we liked the family-room,just in the middle of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selah, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2011

My family and I spent 23 days in Bali. We spent 4 of those nights at GGS. My husband and young son studied with the owner/diving instructor, Ian Coe, for their SSI diving certification. We were very satisfied with our stay and the diving experience. Ian is an excellent instructor. I was especially grateful for Ian's patience and knowledge given my fears about my 12-year old's first-time diving experience. According to my husband and son, the diving is amazing. And we were all happy with our bungalow. The room is very clean, pretty and quiet. The staff is excellent and unobtrusive. Ellie and Ian are excellent hosts. With GGS and Adventure Divers, they run first-rate operations.
The value of the bungalow and the diving instruction/certification can't be beat.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoorn, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights in april 2011, getting my padi open water diver certificate (adventure diving Bali is housed here as well). The bungalows are very clean and have enough space. We really like the people there, they made our holiday, and my dive experience unforgettable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roelhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

I simply love this place. The owners are amazing and the whole team is simply great! We had an amazing time with them and got the best service while we were in Bali! Maybe you will miss a swimming pool, but on the other hand you have the ocean some meter far from. The beach is perfect for snorkeling and you cannot miss the banana pancake.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katischulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

A perfect place for diving as well as for staying. Simply romantic, the only thing we maybe missed was a swimming pool.

Pros:
- perfect staff and owners very friendly and helpful in all aspects (owned by a Dutch couple)
- only five small bungalows. Very romantic and practical interior even though the bungalows are quite small.
- outdoor shower (warm) with fresh flowers every day in the shower from the trees on top of it... simply romantic!
- nice breakfast included (even though it is one of the cheapest places here)
- daily room service with fresh towels and fresh linen
- they support the local community (no restaurant inside, but they offer food e.g. to divers that they get from the neigboring restaurant... ), not the typical "I am the European expat and Balinese people my cheap workers"-mentality that is in most other places owned by Europeans (or Americans)
- the dive shop adventurediversbali.com belongs to the same owners and is in the same location. It was the best diving in whole Bali (and I did a lot) and the only dive school in whole Bali that was concerned about savety and environment. Usually 2 divers per divemaster.
- cool rooms. Even though there was no AC, the place has lots of trees and it never got too hot.
- best dive spot (Amed and surroundings) in Bali (much better than Gilis, Lembongan or Menjangan), nice reef (snorkling and (night-)diving) directly next to the bungalows
- really good restaurants around and a close supermarket and spa

Cons:
- No swimming pool
- Very loud frogs were "active" in some nights... I never imagined how loud frogs can be...

Tips:
There is no ATM in Amed, so take enough money (you can pay with credit card... but for the restaurants etc.)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank palmisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amed
22.3 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
2.8 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Villa Bukit Segara
Villa Bukit Segara
#2 of 68 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bubu Racok Homestay
Bubu Racok Homestay
#3 of 68 in Amed
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bila Restaurant & Bungalows / No Fear Diving Scuba
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows

Property: Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows
Address: Jalan Jemeluk, Amed, Abang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bungalows nestled in a secluded shady garden just a minutes walk from the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Geria Giri Shanti Bungalows Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing