We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Nice for the Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace
Ranked #6 of 79 Amed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great place to stay. Large rooms and a nice free breakfast selection. Also, the infinity pool is just the kind of icing you want on your cake.

The only thing I would have to say is that one of the servers was in a bad mood our last day and it showed.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 217 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We paid AU$200 for 3 nights including bfst and afternoon tea.
We chose this little B&B after reading the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor, but unfortunately too many negatives lead to a disappointing stay :(

Pros
Amazing view out over the sea from our room - devine !
Lovely little balcony to enjoy it all from.
Beautiful clean pool with comfy pool beds
Good reasonably priced massage
Comfy bed
Cheap mini bar

Cons
Cleanliness - the floor of our room felt grimey, the cushion and lounge covers were stained and smelt disgusting.
The floor of the restaurant and chairs were in need of a good scrub and the entrance to the kitchen was filthy - could not bear to see where the food was being prepared - ugh !
The cat was often sitting on the table which was not wiped before food was served - horrible.
Breakfast was ok but our other meals were very ordinary so not sure where all the rave reviews are coming from for the restaurant. We ate at Sails and Blue Moon and the meals there were fabulous for slightly higher prices.
The bath towells smelt musty and the pool towells are recycled without being washed. They are hung on the owners verandah to dry and reissued - really bad ! Trust me, I saw it happen daily.
The shower area was filthy - the stones on the floor look nice but are covered in soap scum and hair and our shower did not drain properly and flooded the whole floor with an inch of water which took us an hour to clean up. We reported it to one of the staff who was unfazed - seemingly a regular occurence as there are water stains on the bed and wardrobe legs from past floodings !
Noise - because this hotel is right on the road the traffic is quite loud - so pack your earplugs.
Restaurant guests using the pool. The (approx)12 year sold son of restaurant guest swam in the pool which is probably ok except he had no swimming attire so swam nude - totally inappropriate and a very uncomfortable situation for in house guests !!!
Check out. We went to pay our bill and were told they had no credit card or EPTPOS available - it had been broken for 6 weeks !!!! How hard would it have been to alert your customers at the time of booking or at least on check in that cash was the only option for payment ? We offered to pay in our local currency but this was not acceptable. It was incredibly time consuming and inconvenient as we had to track down a money changer ! Could have been interesting if the only funds we had available were via credit card !
Wonderful staff working there - but there is no joy - no laughing - they just don't seem happy to be there which is so unusual for Bali.
The owners - very unfriendly. We tried for 3 days to get a smile or any acknowlegement from the female owner - she ignored us. I will give her the benefit of the doubt and assume she is shy.
The male owner was quite gruff but did speak occassionally.
We often felt that we were intruding on the families privacy which I guess is a problem when you stay at a B&B which is basically the owners home, but offering a spa and restaurant surely puts it into the small hotel category I would have thought !

The overall feel was that the owners were happy with the money but "over" having guests stay.
So Aquaterrace - make up your mind - keep it as your private home or make a decision to be more welcoming to your paying guests.

Sorry, but there are lots of much better places to stay in Amed for similar $$s

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We booked the Terrace room for 3 nights. This is the best room to book if you want a good view since the balcony extends outward and there is a 180 degree view. From this room the view is spectacular. Can clearly see the sun rise in the morning.

The credit card payment machine was out of service, so we had to pay cash, which is the best way to pay anyway.

Since we didn't need a ride to/from the airport, we were given a 500,000 Rp spa voucher, and 180,000 Rp restaurant voucher.

I would say the spa is quite good. I had never been to a spa before that, so I don't have much to go on. But the oil massage and full body scrub was a good experience.

The food at the bistro is good quality. There is a wide selection of Japanese and Balinese food. The Mie Goreng is FANTASTIC. Best noodles I had in Bali. Upon request they will also deliver the food to your hotel room. The complementary breakfast is adequate.

The hotel is well staffed, especially for such a small place. There is always someone around if you need anything.

The owner, Eriko, is a quiet, gentle woman and is very friendly. Don't hesitate to talk to her.

You can book a ride on a jukung (fishing boat). Just ask and they'll take care of it. Around 5am someone will come by and walk you to the boat. This is a great experience and shouldn't be missed. We were lucky enough to see some dolphins.

There are free scooter rides to nearby locations. Just ask and they will take you for a ride. Scooters can also be rented.

Room Tip: Book the Terrace room if you can. The balcony extends out so you get a full 180 degree view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaTraveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Upon arrival at the airport the driver mentioned the room booking is duplicated, no email notification, nothing,

they offered me other place to stay, they could have the courtesy to inform me earlier instead of surprising me on the spot, the only reason I wanted to travel all the way to Amed is because of this particular accomodation and it's view.

Very dissapointing.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TME77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We didn't stay at Aquaterrace, we stayed down the road at Bali Buhana. However, we came here one night for a friend's birthday dinner and it was phenomenal and very, very reasonably priced! We were eating a little late, so we were the only ones there, which made it even more perfect. Every dish was perfectly cooked and well-seasoned. Not a complaint to be made by any of us. We were too full for dessert, but we had some nice cocktails and then grabbed a brochure for their massages on the way out. Made took us back to our hotel and was extremely helpful in getting everything planned. A few days later, we decided to go back over for the massage happy hour they were having. Money WELL spent! My boyfriend and I both enjoyed the location overlooking the ocean and the ladies were so friendly and pleasant. Massage was very relaxing and with the 2 for 1 deal, we wished we could have stayed for another hour. They even let us take a little shower afterwards in their stone shower in the "room." After serving us tea, we headed downstairs for a delicious lunch and made reservations for the next day for another 90 minute massage. Three days in a row we came and enjoyed the happy hour massage, which gave us much more privacy than the more affordable ones they were offering right on the beach. Each time, Made came and picked us up and dropped us off with a smile. Although it's a little off the main area, we would definitely look at staying there if we find ourselves back in that area again. Quite a well-kept and simple family-owned bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staci J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We found this place was so relaxing and pretty. Cold towels and welcome drinks were served the moment we arrived. The room was pretty and clean. There was a minor problem with ants. The staff helped to remove them, but they came back the next day. We just ignored them eventually.

We had our dinner on the first night and found the food was really a restaurant quality. There were several other good restaurants in the neighbourhood as well.

The view from the room was really stunning, especially in the morning when the fishermen were returning from the sea on their jukungs. Even the shower room has a view of the sea as well.

We tried the massage but found it average. Perhaps because the massage we chose was non-oil kind of massage.

We will certainly choose this hotel when we visit Amed again.

Room Tip: Upper room has an unobstructed view of the sea.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I dont even know where to start these whole series of compliments and rave review...from the moment we arrived, icy-cold towels and refreshing (guava?) fruit juice welcomed us with a "huge smile"...the room is beautiful; so exquisite and cleverly designed...superb water pressure flow from the rain shower nozzle, blissful hot shower in the cooler evening weather and refreshingly cold shower during the sweltering heat of Amed Sun during the day...various shades of turquois and vintage-feeling-washed-out wooden theme conveys a Greece/Meditteranean feel that fits oh-so-perfectly with everything else we have encountered so far.....all the food at the restaurant (that we have tried so far) are finger-licking delicious! The tuna steak with wasabi-mayo sauce is unbelievably yummy...[unfortunately they ran out of fresh tuna as of now and I am hoping I'd get the chance to savour that delicately-crafted-awesome-flavour one more time (at least) before we leave...] As one slowly "recovers" from the ecstacy of the fanta-bulous cuisine of the bistro, one finds time to sip iced-cold beer from the cheap mini bar while happily-suntanning at the Santorini-look-alike poolside...I wish that I dont ever have to leave this place...it is just "extraordinarily blissful"...now Amed itself is a quiet place, if you want buzzing night life and party parteeey paaarrteeeyyy all night long, this is NOT the place for you... but if a peaceful retreat; a quiet, alone, ME-time is what you need, there is nowhere else better...and if you decided to stay in Amed, choose no other place but Aquaterrace Bed & Breakfast! Totally exceeded our expectations...wonderful ambience, super friendly staff with first-class service, delicious food (my boyfriend and I must have transformed into balloons by now cause we just cannot resist the yummy fine-dining-quality-with-super-reasonable-prices the bistro has!) last but not least, I just have to do a rave review on their spa!!! Its 50% off at all times for in-house guests; so it's not just a fantastic bargain but the quality of the massage is really out-of-this-world!!! Soooo SOOOOOO gooood!!! You can tell that the masseuse really knows what she is doing; so professional, the routine is done thoroughly and in perfect-deliberate-order...if you like to have strong, deep tissue massage (like I do) try their Non Oil Japanese Style Body Accupressure....you'd be so refreshed and revitalized afterwards...we are into our 5th night here as I'm writing this...we have only one more to go before we have to leave on Friday, and I already can't bear to say goodbye...well I guess it shall be "see you again soon!" then...can't wait! Thank you Maderasta and Eriko for making our stay such a wonderful one!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daisukigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 19 in Amed
501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.3 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
2.2 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#4 of 19 in Amed
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace

Address: Selang Bunutan, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range: $57 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed&Breakfast&Bistro Aquaterrace is located in Amed,east of Bali.180゜ stunning ocean view,from sunrise over the ocean.We offer 3 of comfortable modern-style rooms and swimming pool, spa & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing