We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the weather before going”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace
Ranked #7 of 80 Amed B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights here and couldn't wait to leave , this was mainly due to the weather but due to the lack of power and no generator on the property we were with no Internet connection (poor reception anyway) no electricity and lights, no hot water working to take a shower and little trust in the food we were being served way past the 24hr mark with food that I have no idea could have stayed refrigerated properly. We tried to pass the time with getting an in room massage but that was with one of us put on a mat on the ground and the other across the bottom of the bed. The massage therapists were not very good at what they did and we were counting down the minutes. As for the room we would have liked some books , games , anything to do while we were stuck in the room during the stormy weather. The bed cover seemed tired and we had construction workers below us from 8am yelling over the wind noise as they tried to work , the owners seemed to sense the less than average conditions and on check out offered us a $9usd discount for each night , nothing really for the inconvenience of it all. Positives? Their driver is friendly and the staff who are at the house are lovely, and the food was nice on our first night.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blixama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 222 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2012

We purchased the special three-night "package" and stayed in the Spacious Terrace Room, which includes wonderful extras like afternoon tea every day and one Ikan Bakar (Balinese Seafood BBQ) dinner during your stay -- see their web site for details. It was a truly wonderful holiday. First, the location was fascinating: east Amed is far from the resorts and traffic of southern Bali, which we happily left behind when Livint (a driver associated with Aquaterrace, and a longtime friend of the owners) picked us up at Denpasar airport and spirited us away. Amed it is raw and rough and beautiful, a string of villages where you will see shiny small resorts abutting shacks inhabited by Balinese families, complete with pig pens and cow shelters. We wanted to see a different side of Bali, a more authentic side, and we saw and experienced it in Amed. Aquaterrace served as our base, and we loved it. Unlike many other hotels in Bali, the Aquaterrace is not owned by Westerners, which was important to us. The owners, Rasta (from Bali) and Eriko (from Japan), are helpful, thoughtful, and thoroughly invested in making their inn and bistro an unforgettable place. Their daughter, who is 1-1/2 years old at this writing, is utterly charming, as is their cat, Nana. Everyone on staff is incredibly pleasant and vigilant, always looking to anticipate your every need. This merry band -- which really feels like a family -- was the highlight of our stay.

Another highlight was the food in the bistro. Not only is it inexpensive (dinner for two, comprising 1 starter, 2 mains, 1 dessert, and 2 non-alcoholic drinks, was usually no more than $20 USD total), but also it is GOOD. The special Ikan Bakar fish dinner, included with our three-night package, was particularly delicious! We also relished the generous breakfasts every day -- your options are American (eggs + potatoes + meat + toast), Balinese, pancakes with fruit, or even a sandwich. We loved the food so much that we ate every meal in the bistro.

As others have said: the views from the spacious room are incredible, and we thoroughly enjoyed them while lounging on the comfortable daybed/couch on the terrace. The room itself was well appointed, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. It could perhaps benefit from some sprucing up (new paint, replacement of moldy window frames, removal of mineral stains in the bathroom tub and sink), but these are very minor things. Occasionally, the power goes out for a brief period, and the inn does not have a generator; this did not bother us, though it might bother others. Overall, I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough. We will never forget our all-too-brief stay.

Note: the inn and bistro do not take credit cards, and ATMs in Bali (especially east Bali) are scarce and quirky. So be sure to bring plenty of Euros or USD with you, and ask Livint to take you to the good currency exchange place in the town of Candidasa on the way from the airport, and exchange enough money to pay for your meals as well as your lodging at Aquaterrace. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed in Amed for 3 days in Nov11- wasn't many tourists around. The weather was hot and sunny but as you're at the seaside there were some breezes that helped. Still the room we stayed in at Aquaterrace got very hot inside as the fan isn't particularly strong- it's also quite tricky to operate. The bathroom has an open roof arrangement which invites mosquitoes and the shower is quite erratic- can squirt you in the face randomly- might be on a pump system. The people are especially nice and the breakfasts and juices are very good and well priced meals are available- we ate elsewhere though just to "go out". There are stairs as it's on a hillside so not for dodgy hipsters.The views are very nice and there is parking beside the road below. There are staff around at all times so no worries with security.
We had a small minibar fridge with reasonable prices in the room. The room had some dust around and we were bothered by a gecko making an incredible noise in the night. I discovered it was living behind a bureau- it was about 30cm long! We expected they would capture it and remove but it was killed- ugh! Not Buddhists evidently. The garden is nice- frangipani flowers. I imagine the upper, more expensive room is of a higher standard but I didn't confirm this. There isn't really any place to hang your clothes after you wash them- this is a requirement for somewhere next to a beach I think.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurencewise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

we stayed here for 3 nights in December. Its a small BB with one main room with an amazing terrace with panoramic views of the ocean. There is another smaller more basic room below. We loved it - there is a couch on the terrace where you can sit facing the ocean while supping on a cold one from the minibar. you even get an amazing view from the shower. The furnishings are nice and we were very comfortable. The only thing that needs to be fixed are the power points which didnt hold plugs so well (they kept falling out) as its a small BB the service is more personal and you feel like one of the family rather than just another guest. the owners Eriko and Rasta were lovely hosts. The beach is just 3 mins walk down some steep steps. its not the best beach quite rocky but the snorkelling is good. The is no pool at the BB but i know they have plans to build one and to add another room or two in the future. Competition in Amed is fierce there are loads of hotels but I really liked this BB and would definitely stay here again. Thanks Eriko and Rasta and good luck for the future. Chris and Nancy

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Can we recommend this B&B? YES! Amazing sea view, excellent (Japanese) food and great owners and staff. They only have 2 rooms, the simple bungalow is simple but nice (only fan so it can get hot) and the top room is top! Nice decoration everywhere, lovely terrace and the Amed region is really a must see in Bali. Great snorkeling and cute little beaches everywhere. The value for money that Aquaterrace offers is one of the best we experienced in Bali (3,5 weeks holiday).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An0uk85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The room is absolutely stunning, a fantastic view and wonderfully presented. For the room itself we'd probably give the place four or even five out of five.
The only downside was the welcome - we had said we would arrive at around 4pm, and yet arrived at 7pm as we had trouble getting a taxi. We didn't think this arrival was particularly late. Yet we arrived to some quite hostile questioning from numerous members of staff about why were we so late, and then discovered that the owner had (already!) sent us an email complaining about us booking and not turning up! There was a hostile and frosty atmosphere, which was a real shame as the room itself was beautiful. Hopefully the owners were just having a bad day and are more welcoming to other guests,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KunmingPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in at the Aquaterrace in Amed. The view was amazing and the restaurant was fantastic. They only have 2 rooms so make your reservation early, if you don't get a room make sure you stop by the restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.0 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 20 in Amed
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
2.2 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 20 in Amed
240 reviews
1.5 mi away
Anda Amed Resort
Anda Amed Resort
#10 of 20 in Amed
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace

Address: Selang Bunutan, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Amed
Price Range: $56 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed&Breakfast&Bistro Aquaterrace is located in Amed,east of Bali.180゜ stunning ocean view,from sunrise over the ocean.We offer 3 of comfortable modern-style rooms and swimming pool, spa & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast Aquaterrace Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing