We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, rooms so-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hidden Paradise Cottages
Ranked #9 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Aalborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location, rooms so-so”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed here 4 nights. Inexpensive, but not our kind of place, even though the Lipah area is quite nice. Bungalows are very dark. Sheets not changed every second day as promised. Aircon seriously underdimensioned so be prepared for some hot nights. Outdoor bathroom was nice, though, as was the hotel beach which had decent snorkeling. Breakfast was a la carte, quality below average, and serving sizes for very light eaters only. When girlfriend asked for water instead of melon juice, she was told to buy a bottle. Also, the staff simply dismissed us when we asked them to help us open our accidentally locked in-room safety box - luckily we had no valuabled inside. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    86
    42
    20
    3
See reviews for
49
114
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights it was my first time to Amed. We had great cottage in the middle of complex. We hired snorkel, goggles and fins from the beach when we arrived and was able to snorkle straight from the front of the hotel the afternoon we arrived. The pool is small but was nice and shady it would be nice for a few sun lounger near pool. The resturant was nice we had the breakfast there and most lunches in the evening we walked out of hotel and turned left and found some great Resturants. We loved the outdoor shower and toilet. It was a very peaceful place to stay and loved the older style bungalows. We will definately come back and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bellajess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel staff was super attentive and friendly. The rooms are cozy and clean, with a nice bathroom. The pool was not very clean and smaller than it looked on photo's. There is a beach, but as soon as you step on the sand you'll try to get hassled by people offering massages, beach chairs and snorkel gear. The hotel beach chairs are not directly on the beach, but on the grass of the complex, which is also fine and at least you have some peace and quiet. The restaurant is ok, but do not order pasta's, because that was not very appetising. Next to this, the other thing we didn't like was the internet connection, it was terrible and at one point we didn't have internet at all. The next day we went to the Gili Islands. From Amed the boat ride is only one hour and the hotel arranged this for us at a nice price. It was great for a night and we would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: We stayed somewhere in the middle of the complex and liked our room. It's a quiet place, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was my favourite place in Bali. We have stayed in Coral View before but I prefer Hidden Paradise. Two main reasons why I prefer this hotel is that the food is much better and there is very good snorkelling right out the front...no need to pick your way through the fishing boats. I really enjoyed breakfast here as they make their own muesli, yogurt and sourdough bread. The restaurant is right on the beach. The restaurant staff were lovely. I have heard reports that the air conditioning unit is not strong enough for the room but this was not so with us. Love the little cottages and outdoor bathrooms. Gardens were lovely and so was the pool. They have a very big TV room near the beach which was being used by a yoga group while we were there. It just added to the peaceful atmosphere. I only have one gripe... When we arrived no-one seemed to be expecting us. We were given a room right near the road even though I requested a quiet room and booked five months in advance. I think this probably happened because the resort was quite full with a couple of groups. I would not recommend the rooms nearest the road as the motorbikes on the road are quite noisy. Having said this it was still relatively peaceful. I will definitely stay again but will request a room nearer the beach than the road. We took a boat to coral gardens but to be honest I had more fun snorkelling straight out in front of the hotel. I saw so many fish and lots of huge blue starfish. Blue Moon and Sails restaurants will pick you up for free. I really wish we had stayed longer.

Room Tip: Closer to the beach away from the road but really all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

First of all, I would have to say that I arrived having stayed at some beautiful hotels in very peaceful settings and with lovely outdoor bathrooms, great food etc - so perspective different than if comparing with a western style hotel in Kuta or Sanur.

Positives:
- good value
- quiet setting and hotel, very peaceful
- lovely pool (small but the vegetation made it a lovely place to swim)
- right on the beach (and a nice, quiet beach - some people approaching for hire, but not bad) - black volcanic sand which was cool
- pleasant staff
- TV room (we didn't go in, only saw it)
- nice gardens
- no problem with noise from other rooms
- nice outdoor area with choice of seating
- can arrive at rooms from reception via stepping stones over pond, which the kids loved (but can go other way if prefer too)

Negatives:
- room was very hot upon arrival and would only become coolish if stayed a long time
- our room was one of the ones closer to reception (proably one of the 5 closest) and we got traffic noise - also, from the outdoor bathroom I could look in the mirror and see the reception floor (not the actual desk, but places where people could go) so did not feel private at all
- outdoor bathroom which is nice but was the most charm free outdoor bathroom I came across
- food at restaurant not impressive, very average
- service ok only - little information upon check in or being shown to room, bare minimum in restaurant
- breakfast had lots of flies around the fruit and did not look at all nice
- no seating around the pool, so could not sit there to watch kids - could sit on edge of pool only
- no nice area to sit by the beach - there were some loungers by the beach (not on the beach) but not at all inviting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the road as possible for more quiet and proximity to beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the older version or coral view villas little older pool not as nice but still value for money the massage girls come off the beach and they were great once again beach not that flash very friendly staff have heard the sometimes charge in euros so be careful check your bill

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank badguysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The name says it "Hidden Paradise"
The reception and people around in restaurant, friendly, helpful.
The most beautiful tropical gardens ,manicured, lovely pool and direct access to the beach, where one can snorkel, dive or make an exciting trip in a Jukung.
The restaurant right in the beach, serves yummie jndonesian and Western dishes.
The cottages (AC)are a dream of balinese architecture and cozyness with and outside open air bathroom/shower.
We will definately come back here ,

Room Tip: Not knowing your budget, try a family cottage ,we had //21 with view on pool and thru to sea and bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.8 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
1.1 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 18 in Amed
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
221 reviews
0.7 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Coral View Villas
Coral View Villas
#12 of 86 in Amed
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hidden Paradise Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hidden Paradise Cottages

Property: Hidden Paradise Cottages
Address: Lipah Beach, Amed, Abang 808012, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hidden Paradise Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hidden Paradise Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hidden Paradise Cottages Hotel Amed
Hidden Paradise Cottages Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing