We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hidden Paradise Cottages
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
90
99
46
21
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
99
46
21
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cottagesfishbeds pushed togetherbalinese architectureanimals livingoutdoor bathroomsister hoteldecent sizemosquito repellentac worked wellrestaurant staffsnorkel gearfrangipani treesreception areafront officewell maintained gardensamazing snorkeling
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 259 reviews
Reviewed March 8, 2013

A background of dry hills looming over the tranquil sea makes for a pleasant location.
The hotel compound has well maintained gardens and a small, but attractive, pool area.
Reception area is elevated and reached by a steep stair climb.
I made a casual inquiry about transport to Sanur and before I was unpacked, the receptionist was at my front door with his reciept book expecting payment for the journey. I declined and saved 100,000Rp by using a driver from a local restaurant.
Checked in to a super hot cottage and discovered a notice from management declaring their environmental concerns about running the aircon. I noticed that there was no fan alternative(I actually prefer a fan over A/C) and none too impressed when returning from my balmy days' out and house cleaning had turned off the aircon. The dated rooms are quite cavernous with huge gaps under the bathroom, and pad-locked, front doors- took forever to cool down. Maybe some passion for the environment should be directed to the nearby fetid, rubbish-filled creek/sewer that surely flows to the ocean during the wet.
Restaurant overlooks the ocean and was nice watching the incoming Jukung(fishing boats) during the average breakfast.The restaurant is quite expensive compared to others closeby. The Amed fresh fish is amazing by the way!
Snorkling is best at the other end of the beach/bay.
Overpriced stay compared to similar accommodation in Bali
Great area to visit compared to the absolute madness of south Bali!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zozo1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeaudie, Manager at Hidden Paradise Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Zozo1725,

Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to read that you spend a memorable stay in our hotel Hidden Paradise Cottages Amed and that you enjoyed the room,swimming pools and hotel garden

My apologies for the notice about the air condition, as we try to save in using the electricity during the guest not inside the room, but if it is too hot, you can tell one of staff not to turn off the air condition during you stay outside the room.

Again on behalf of Hidden Paradise Cottages, I would like to thank you for your stay and the valuable review.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back with another memorable stay in a near future!

Best regards,


I Made Audie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This is a lovely place to stay. The hotel staff are helpful in every way. The pretty small pool and sun lounging are within the well kept gardens. Food is good at the hotel restaurant while there also lots of of small restaurants nearby. Snorkeling in front of the beach is fantastic. This is the great place if you are looking for the relaxing holiday !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_Kencana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A purpose-build family compound that lacks charm and privacy, the cottages are ok, the staff is friendly(besides for the hotel driver who was very unpleasant to deal with), unfortunately millions of flies make it impossible to eat or even be outside- the beach has quite some litter but nothing compared to the surroundings- a continuous chain of filth and dirt spread from the surrounding favelas into with highly polluted water- not the right place for a little walk- Amed is just desperate-(the quality of snorkelling is highly exaggerated)- it stinks, it really stinks.

Room Tip: Just avoid the area all together-
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ino_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madeaudie, Guest Relations Manager at Hidden Paradise Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Thank you for the review Ino. unfortunately while you were staying with us we did have terrible weather (it was a dark moon, which increaces swell and there was a tornado north of Australia at the time again affecting the weather). You did see the big rolling waves, they greatly influence the quality of the diving and snorkeling in the water purely as a result of the turbulence in the water.
Unfortunately during the rainy season the build up of rubbish does seem exaggerated due to the rivers opening up into the water and the collection at the river mouths. The currents do wash it away, and we do appreciate that this is not a solution but we do and are trying to educate the locals in the correct dispensation of rubbish. it is a long and slow education process. Most of the year round there is not much rubbish, especially in the water however with the currents as they are it washes all the rubbish from the north of the island past our beach.
If you return from March to December the snorkeling and diving is truly amazing.
Regards management Liam Tan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

The bungalows are spacious, clean. Bed is comfortable. The open air bathroom is absolutely beautiful and the finishing touches in the decor are so authentic to the Balinese style. This place is so relaxing and the pool is sheltered from the sun. The beach is right in front of the hotel and you can snorkel. The locals are friendly and not pushy. The restaurant was average. Breakfast ok. They could improve on the pancakes as they were undercooked. However there are plenty of places to eat in and around the town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Amed heads a series of little villages on this ten kilometre stretch of coral coast. Lipah, about four km south east of Amed is where you will find Hidden Paradise Cottages, right on the volcanic sand beach and steps away from an underwater paradise of mushroom coral and multi-coloured tropical fish. Not having pre-booked any accommodation we walked up to a few hotels before we decided on Hidden Paradise Cottages. We really enjoyed our stay there in a newly renovated air-conditioned villa. Facilities included an old-school kidney shaped cool water pool, an activities room with movies screened nightly and the beach-side restaurant’s menu was delicious with ‘Amed cuisine’ a favourite every night, locally caught fish a speciality. The staff were great, really helpful and we secured a good room rate that pleased everybody. We will return for sure.
Bali’s north east coast is still relatively quiet. It is dry, it is poor; a walk through these villages will challenge those who live comfortable lives away from the relentlessly hard and poverty-ridden existence endured by these stoic, proud and graceful people.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilesandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews