We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Baliku Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baliku Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were so pleased to have chosen this resort to stay for 8 days in Amed. Our room was lovely with a four poster bed draped with a mosquito net, crisp white sheets and a big doona. The mattress was comfortable and the air conditioning was good, although on most nights we slept with the doors open and the air conditioner off. The sea breeze provided sufficient cooling. There was a decent sized television in a cabinet which received the Australian channel and a couple of news channels. The sweeping view to the ocean and hills could have been on a postcard. In addition to the bedroom and bathroom, there was a small dressing room which also contained a fridge and sink and there was plenty of bench space for storage of suitcases and photographic gear I loved it that there were good tea and coffee making facilities including milk- again, rare to be provided in Bali hotels. . The bathroom was spacious and had a good shower over a bath big enough for two. Lighting in all the rooms was good and believe me , this is unusual in Bali, even for five star hotels. Outside the room and overlooking the view, there was a huge, king sized day bed and a small table and chairs. A good, free afternoon tea was also available every afternoon.

We ate most of our meals in the restaurant. The ‘no extra cost’ breakfast consisted of muesli, cereals, black rice pudding, pastries, a very big fresh fruit salad , eggs, toast and coffee. It was also possible to order a number of other things for a small price. The lunch and dinner menu had a wide variety of dishes offered (I have separate review for the restaurant) and the food was as good, if not better than the other restaurants we tried. The meals were ‘home cooked’ style. The steak with mushroom sauce and the fresh fish (not always available when we were there) with mango and cilantro relish were our favourite dishes of the ones we tried. Free afternoon tea was also served. All the staff were charming and gracious. The hotel arranged a transfer back to Denpasar and the car was newish and the driver, very good.

The only slight downsides were that there were a lot of steep stairs to our room and I would not recommend this hotel for people who have difficulties with their knees, mobility or who don't like a bit of exercise. There were also occasional power outages but this is probably normal for the areas of Bali which are outside of the biggest tourist areas.

The dive centre was fantastic and Murray, Niko and Helen were wonderful guides. They were fun to be with and had great knowledge of, and experience with the local dive sites. They were safety conscious and gave excellent briefings. On one dive, there was a sudden, strong and unexpected current which we had to negotiate to get back to shore and I had confidence that Niko knew exactly what to do. Helen also made me a wonderful video.

I am already planning a return visit.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the lower floors if you don't like exercise - we loved the top rooms though and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    99
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
86
214
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

What can you say that hasn't already been said. Accommodation very relaxed and perfect place to wind down. Staff always helpful and friendly, and Donna makes you feel like your family there for a visit, always well looked after. Myself I'm there for the diving and underwater photography and the crew at the dive shop are the best. Great drift dives, macro when we were after it and night dives that turned up subjects that ticked a few bucket list boxes for me. Thanks again to Murray and Nick for making the trip worthwhile. Can't wit till the next time I'm there, and the sooner the better - Brad, Perth

Room Tip: I like the bottom villa. has a bit of a side lane-way off the steps leading up into the day bed area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PerthDiverWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have stayed here for two years in a row and loved every minute of it both times. Donna's staff are extremely welcoming and available at any time of the day or night. I celebrated my birthday at the resort and the staff went above and beyond to make it a celebration to remember. They made me the most beautiful birthday cake and sand happy birthday which was so lovely. The rooms are just beautiful and extremely spacious with everything you need. The restaurant serves the nicest food and they have a huge variety. We hired scooters and went exploring for hours at a time which was very enjoyable. I would recommend this resort to anyone wanting a relaxing balinese holiday we will definately be going back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

we called in for lunch, then went back for dinner, then went back the next day to stay.
everything, food, staff, room cleanliness and appointments was of a very high standard.
we wished we had more time and have vowed to return for a longer stay. .steve and jo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We loved this cliff side hotel- the view from the room in the morning was the best. After staying in a couple of over done fancy hotels- this one was relaxed and easy and ended up being our favorite stay on the island. The staff was the friendliest and most helpful, the location was excellent. The dive/snorkeling shop was fun and the snorkeling right in front of the hotel was the best we've ever seen.
only downside was the food in the restaurant was not great- but we still enjoyed breakfast & coffee and beers there and then went on excursions to find other delicious local spots.
Definitely was a happy place and a happy stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the highest point- it means more stairs but worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ShadeyShade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur Bali
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Love the rooms love the food made some amazing friends what Bali is all about thanks Murray and the dive team for an amazing time ...Amed is clean not like Kuta amazing diving and snorkelling go to wa wa wee wee cant sing for peanuts but a great time had by all...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dallas669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

There is an excellent snorkeling spot directly across the street from the hotel, the Japanese shipwreck. It is some of the best snorkeling I've ever done. There is a reef right off the beach. You can rent a snorkel for 5 bucks from a guy on the beach.

What you need to understand is that the resort is located in Amed. This is a small scuba diving town. If you're not really into scuba diving, you probably don't want to spend much time at this hotel. They have an extensive dive shop and book dive tours from it.

We didn't go scuba diving but we stayed 3 nights and we were bored after the first day. There isn't much around that is easy to get to by foot. Baliku is several km away from anything. If you have a scooter or car, you should be in much better shape than we were.

The view from the room was the highlight of the hotel. Beautiful view of the ocean and coastline. The enclosed part of the room was a little small. Each room comes with a porch where you can order room service and have the staff serve you dinner. This was kind of a unique experience.

The food from the resort restaurant was mostly average. You will be eating here quite often since there are few other options close by.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dr0pkick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.5 mi away
Blue Moon Villas
Blue Moon Villas
#2 of 18 in Amed
481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.8 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Life in Amed Boutique Hotel
2.4 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 18 in Amed
221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#18 of 18 in Amed
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baliku Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baliku Dive Resort

Property: Baliku Dive Resort
Address: Banyuning, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Amed
#2 Family Hotel in Amed
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baliku Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An harmonious synthesis of traditional balinese craftsmanship and the more eclectic "Bali modern" style. Beautiful villas surrounded by lush gardens, frequented by a rich variety of birdlife and butterflies.A boutique style resort nestled on the hillside above a fishing village with stunning mountain and ocean views to Lombok, yet just steps away from the beach - a real retreat. A real retreat, yet only an hour or so from cultural and historical sites of interest as well as incredible shopping destinations, making Baliku the ideal base for your tropical sojourn. Luxurious villas with breathtaking views - privacy assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Baliku Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baliku Dive Hotel Amed
Baliku Boutique Hotel
Baliku Dive Resort Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing