We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great unwind”
Review of Baliku Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baliku Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Amed
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great unwind”
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We arrived in pouring rain after a 3 hr trip and were met by smiling Ketut and Wayan with umbrellas.We all got drenched going up the 60 or so steps to our villa then the 5 night stay slipped away too quickly. Magic views from our villa which was large and comfortable to relax about.Verandah has the best daybeds and window outlook over the bay - great spot for a read - then a 4 seater round table and upright chairs also if you choose to eat in your villa. Inside big opening glass doors is a great big four poster bed, TV, a large ensuite with huge rain shower into spa bath, nice linen and flowers. Also a kitchenette area with a robe for clothes. Village is easy to take, interesting for walks with anyone happy to chat. Great food and personal service at the Baliku restaurant anytime and good restaurant options nearby. Great diving around this coast too - just ask Murray at Baliku Dive. Don't go here wanting to shop or bop. We will be back - a truly special spot and friendly people.

Room Tip: The villas are tucked into the side of a hill so choose your villa preference based on how many step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bushells063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    101
    27
    9
    6
See reviews for
87
217
30
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2011

The owners Murray and Donna were generous and helpful and the staff were more than happy to climb up the steps to our beautiful room which was like a small luxury villa with a fantastic terrace where afternoon tea was served anytime we were "in residence". There were two day beds, perfect for relaxing and we never got tired of the view. Sunrise revealed the silhoette of a large volcano on Lombok about 80 km across the Strait while throughout the day, the tradtional fishing sailing boats returned to shore like a mass of butterflies.
Meals were good and the local snorkelling was as good as the Great Barrier Reef.
Only drawback was the hotel was at the end of the Armed strip so own transport would be idea.

Room Tip: The top two rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianp60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

well another year on an another trip back to baliku and it only gets better it was good to see all the frendly staff when we arrive with welcome drinks and afternoon tea as they took our luggage up to our room we enjoy the fantastic view from the restaurant . after a quick change we were swimming in the newly renovated swimming pool where we met the new dive instructor {murray} he book us in for a learn to dive course and he was fantastic a great teacher ,,,so we will be heading back at cristmas to do more diving .. the thing about baliku everytime we stay there we meet more wonderful people and there is alway a change when we return the restaurant has just been renovated and so much yummy food ..thankyou to all the great staff and donna for making our trips so special see you at cristmas

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sydneysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We (4 ladies) chose to stay at Baliku purely on the reports from Trip Advisor... we were not disappointed. Only one problem... two nights wasn’t enough!!!!

The location is sublime with views from every Villa to die for. The total feeling of relaxation kicks in the moment you’re shown to your Villa, which is immaculately clean with the biggest most comfortable ‘king plus’ size bed I have ever seen. Sharing this with my friend was not a problem, plenty of room without rolling into each other. The bathrooms were huge in the 2 Villas we stayed in & so beautifully clean. If the flowers, candles & incense sticks (to light if you choose) aren’t enough to relax you, the day beds surely will.

We were so relaxed we didn’t want to venture out to eat & once again... we weren’t disappointed... the food is absolutely delicious with a menu to suit most tastes, from snacks to mains & of course desserts. The ambiance of the Restaurant (not to mention the view) is just wonderful, with wonderful staff to match.
Hint: Have breakfast delivered to your Villa & make sure you order the fresh fruit (cut or juiced) & in particular the Black Rice.... sooo delicious... I want some now! oh & the jams... home made!!

The beach (pebbles/rocks not sand) is just across the road & local fishermen are happy to bargain a price with you to take you out on their traditional fishing boat to magnificent snorkelling sites.

As Baliku is elevated, the steps to the Villas are a little steep & rocky but one of my friends has short legs & manoeuvred these without a problem, so please don’t let this deter you from staying here. Baliku & Amed is where you will experience the warmth & friendliness of Bali, without the touristy hustle & bustle. Huge thanks to Donna and her staff and Murray for sharing this with us and making us feel so welcome and so, so relaxed.

Room Tip: Stay more than 2 nights, stay as long as you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kate54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Just back from our 3rd stay at the beautiful Baliku. We were greeted like old friends and treated like family during our 10 day stay.
It was cooler this time of year but still great hanging around the pool (which had been updated since our last visit.
Renovations to the restaurant and kitchen were a small inconvenience , but the results are beautiful. Good Job!
Food was great as remembered and again the scales tell the tale. We dined out only once at a new place called The Grill which was also good.
We tried scuba diving this time – very exciting – with ozzie instructor Murray who was patient with us and fun.
Going back for Christmas and it cant be soon enough…………..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwikct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

My partner and i with two other couples stayed at Baliku in Amed for 2 nights. It wasnt long enough, we totally fell in love with the place and didnt want to leave! It truely is an experience.

Baliku is nestled on the side of a mountain but a mintues walk to the beach. The resturant and the rooms espcially, have spectacular views. We were very surprised because the photos i've seen just doesnt do it justice. The rooms are very high quality, and theres heaps of space. I really enjoyed the daybeds on the balcony. I could quite happily spend a whole morning relaxing - watching the fishing boats and listen to the sounds of the village.

We spent most of our time enjoying the sceneary from our villa-like room, and snorkelling at the beach - just meters away from Baliku. I highly recommend getting into that ocean! The marine life is amazing. But be aware of the rocks on the beach, hire booties from the dive shop, it will make life alot easier for you :)

The staff were very friendly and helpful as soon as we got out of our car. We only ate at the Baliku Resturant because the food was amazing, and we got to enjoy it from our room on our balcony if we requested.

Words cant describe Baliku and Amed! You just have to go and stay there and you will understand what we are all raving about. We will definately be returning and staying for at LEAST 4 days.

If you need anything, or any information get on the website and give Donna an email. She was fantastic, even though i never got the chance to meet her unfortunately.

It really is an amazing place.

JUST BOOK IT NOW!! You wont be dissapointed! : )

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JillyB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanur, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Baliku is a small hotel perched on the side of a hill overlooking the sea. It is meters from the beach and moments from some of the best diving in the world. Every room has breathtaking views and has a wonderful Bali style. The food is the best available in the whole Amed area and the service is gentle and attentive. We can not recommend this hotel too highly. Attached to the hotel is a small dive shop, the dive master there is a huge Australian who will nurture even the most timid diver. He is a fountain of information on all under the sea....we went with 10 friends and family, 3 of them had never dived before - they all got their open water qualification and are now enthusiastic divers. Some of us were non divers, the pool at Baliku overlooks the bay, you can sip exquisite Chablis while just letting the world go by!

Room Tip: all of the rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Infield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amed hotels
0.8 mi away
Palm Garden Amed Beach & Spa Resort
1.8 mi away
The Griya Villas and Spa
2.4 mi away
Santai Hotel Bali
Santai Hotel Bali
#8 of 19 in Amed
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Amed Cafe
Hotel Amed Cafe
#11 of 19 in Amed
147 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
Wawa Wewe I Bungalows
#16 of 19 in Amed
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nalini Resort
Nalini Resort
#5 of 19 in Amed
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baliku Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baliku Dive Resort

Property: Baliku Dive Resort
Address: Banyuning, Amed, Abang 80852, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Abang > Amed
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Amed
#2 Family Hotel in Amed
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amed
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Amed
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baliku Dive Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An harmonious synthesis of traditional balinese craftsmanship and the more eclectic "Bali modern" style. Beautiful villas surrounded by lush gardens, frequented by a rich variety of birdlife and butterflies.A boutique style resort nestled on the hillside above a fishing village with stunning mountain and ocean views to Lombok, yet just steps away from the beach - a real retreat. A real retreat, yet only an hour or so from cultural and historical sites of interest as well as incredible shopping destinations, making Baliku the ideal base for your tropical sojourn. Luxurious villas with breathtaking views - privacy assured. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Baliku Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baliku Dive Hotel Amed
Baliku Boutique Hotel
Baliku Dive Resort Amed, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing