We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Queue During Morning Check Out Process”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Ambon
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ambon
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Long Queue During Morning Check Out Process”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel has a strategic location. It's a walking distance to get to some attractions such as the cathedral and monument of peace. Beside that, you can see a beautiful view of the bay Ambon's bay from the bedroom's window.
However, there are some quite disappointing things. I was expecting some Moluccan traditional food available at breakfast, but they do not provide it at the buffet table.
Another thing to note is mostly non-local guests this hotel are the passangers of Garuda Indonesia airline with flight departure at 8.25 AM. When I did the check out process at 5:00 AM there was a long queue of guests were doing the same thing, and the hotel only got one officer to handle it all. I took about 50 minutes to complete the entire check out process.
I suggest you to consider the extra time needed so you don't need to hurry on your way to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrawitaCaesaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We appreciate your compliments regarding the strategic location of the hotel and Indeed it is a very nice hotel, centrally located right in the heart of Ambon city where you can take a walk to all city tourism spots however you still can see the beautiful scene of the sea and the mountain from the room.

In this opportunity I would like to inform you that we have provided some of Mollucan foods in our breakfast buffet and your constructive feedback regarding the queue on check out process has been discussed with team concern and we hope that you will notice the continues improvement when you return.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we would like to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards

Iwan Kurniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    84
    50
    14
    7
See reviews for
20
26
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location, nice rooms. Problems with resto as about half the menu was not available and the staff didn't tell us until after we ordered it.
Biggest problem was had a massage and money disappeared from my money belt when I was showering. Absolutely no response from management on the complaint.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Slick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your visit to Swiss-Belhotel Ambon.

We appreciate your compliments regarding the strategic location and the accommodation of the hotel however we also regret to read your comments regarding our Restaurant service and the lost of money while you are using our spa service though we received your information few days after the service, we investigated with the Spa operator regarding this case unfortunately we cannot find the evidence however Your constructive comments has already been discussed with the team and some action has been taken and we hope that you will notice the continues improvement when you return.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we would like to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards

Iwan Kurniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ambon hotels

Haacht
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The location is in the centre of the city that makes a lot of places within walk distance. The hotel is quite new and looks nice but in the room we noticed the poor maintenance. The restaurant is poor of service. Food ordered came after 2 hours and a lot of menu on the list not available in the kitchen. Breakfast is way below average for 5 stars.

Staff is friendly and the music (especially the keyboardist and singers) always made our evening wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ambonesegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon.

We appreciate your compliments regarding the strategic location and the appearance of the hotel and the friendliness of staffs However we also regret to read your comments regarding our Restaurant service and breakfast quality and Your constructive comments has already been discussed with the team and we hope that you will notice the continues improvement when you return.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we would like to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards

Iwan Kurniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. It's the nicest in Ambon right now and is at a perfect location, where you can walk to everything or take pedicabs quite easily. However, service is very slow and not very helpful. There is no internet access in any of the rooms, so you have to go to the lobby and it's horribly slow. While i was sitting there working online (because i couldn't get access in the room), an employee came and told me to leave the lobby because they were going to "spray chemicals". I asked him to wait a few minutes because my work was very important. He said nothing, but left the lobby. About five minutes later i was overcome by coughing and sneezing and sharp pain in my eyes. I looked up and every employee had run away, leaving me in the lobby alone to face the chemicals. It was horrible.

The breakfast food is almost inedible, with very little variety and almost no local food (except an unbearably sweet breakfast porridge).
However, it's quiet and clean and is fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BexYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We appreciate your compliments regarding the strategic location of the hotel and Indeed it is a very nice hotel, centrally located right in the heart of Ambon city where you can take a walk to all city tourism spots however you still can see the beautiful scene of the sea and the mountain from the room.

I am concerned about your comments regarding our staff services and internet which apparently did not meet your expectation and I will be using your information to review our operation to identify our obvious shortcomings during your stay and hope that with this information we will be able to improve our service.

And I would like to inform you that our internet connection now are free in all area including the rooms and once again thank you for staying with us and We hope that you will notice the continues improvement when you return as we would like to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards

Iwan Kuniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My first stay at this hotel though have visited Ambon several times. Centrally located but nothing much around it except some local eateries and small sovenir shops. Being new it is quite popular with local businesses holding their seminars etc here. Hence, worth making advance booking to avoid disappointment. Lobby area could get over-crowded when there are events held here - checking in/out. Friendly and hospitable staff. Good sized rooms - non-smoking upon request. Restaurant has non-smoking area and breakfast was reasonable with local and western dishes. When in town a must try is the "ikan bakar" - grilled fish.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regulartripster2805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon.

We appreciate your compliments regarding the appearance of the hotel and the staff service and our breakfast quality and Indeed it is a very nice hotel, centrally located right in the heart of Ambon city.
once again thank you for staying with us and we would like to be of service to you again in the future.

Kind regards

Iwan Kurniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

All are average, except the location exactly at the heart of ambon city. I enjoyed my self walk around the hotel and stop by at the centre of food street-the famous nasi kuning-, souvenir shop, and off course every little thing you need when you are on business travel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramotmotski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon. Very much appreciate your compliments regarding our hotel location indeed the hotel is located in the heart of Ambon where there are many tourism spots and Offices which can be reach by walking however you still can find the beautiful Ambon Bay and mountain from your room.

Myself and my team looking forward to welcome you again in Swiss-belhotel Ambon

Thank you
Iwan Kurniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It is a swanking new hotel and everything looks new. All in all despite the complaints this is the newest hotel in town and I am told the cleanest. Be aware that in Indonesia people smoke all over the place even in coffee houses, lounges and bars. The hotel is close to several good local restaurants one of which is the Imperial Restaurant which serves great seafood, prawns, crabs, lobsters at affordable prices. I wend there twice.

The quality of the breakfast offering was below par for the Swiss Belhotel Group...an exception..the chicken porridge was good. Part of this may be attributed to the remote location of Ambon from the rest of Indonesia. Most importantly except for the Manager and another member of the reception staff, the rest of the reception staff although friendly and try to be helpful but had a poor command of the English language and I had to struggle to help them understand basically simple issues like I needed an extra towel in my room as I wanted to take my room towel to the beach. Of course there were other miscommunications like when I asked them what was the basis or cost of making a call from the hotel to a local cellular number....they did not even understand the question and said that the amount would be on my bill eventually. The bathroom shower was badly designed as it has expensive tempered glass on one side and the other side adjoining the bathroom door was just a curtain so the water tended to splash into the room. Upon check in I discovered that they accorded me a non-smoking room which has been smoked it. They could not believe it until I insisted they came up and smelled the air in the room. They upgraded me then without additional cost to another room with a great view of Ambon Bay...without the smoke.

Room Tip: Get a non-smoking corner room on the highest floor possible..this gives your a fantastic view of Amb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

We appreciate your compliments regarding the appearance of the hotel and Indeed it is a very nice hotel, centrally located right in the heart of Ambon city however we still can see the beautiful scene of the sea and the mountain from the room.

I am concerned about your comments regarding our breakfast, housekeeping and reception especially ability to understand guest message and request which apparently did not meet your expectation.

I will be using your information to review our operation to identify our obvious shortcomings during your stay and hope that with this information we will be able to improve our service for the future.

I would like to apologize for your disappointment and would like to assure you that we will follow up on those points.

Even though I prefer to receive positive feedback but constructive comments like yours will surely help us to maintain and improve our quality of service

Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will notice the continues improvement when you return as we would like to be of service to you again in the future.


Kind regards

Iwan kurniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambon hotels
0.5 mi away
Amaris Hotel Ambon
Amaris Hotel Ambon
#3 of 13 in Ambon
97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Everbright Ambon
Everbright Ambon
#8 of 13 in Ambon
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amboina
Hotel Amboina
#10 of 13 in Ambon
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amans Hotel
Amans Hotel
#11 of 13 in Ambon
27 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Natsepa Resort and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Budget Hotel Ambon
Budget Hotel Ambon
#3 of 23 in Ambon
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Ambon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Ambon

Property: Swiss-Belhotel Ambon
Address: Jln. Benteng Kepaha, Ambon 97124, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Maluku Islands > Ambon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ambon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss-Belhotel Ambon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Ambon is a four-star international hotel. The hotel has 111 rooms with modern contemporary design and fully equipped with 32 inch LCD cable television and satellite channel, IDD/NDD telephone lines, high speed internet access, in-room safe, hair dryer, individually-controlled air conditioning unit, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities. Four (4) function rooms for small group meeting are available and a 300 square metre ballroom complete with audio-visual facilities can accommodate up to 500 persons. Swiss-Belhotel Ambon is an ideal choice for meetings, weddings, exhibitions, seminars and other occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Ambon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Ambon Maluku Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing