We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Maluku”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Ambon
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ambon
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Maluku”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed at the Swiss-Belhotel in January, it's probably the best hotel in Ambon, which is a city quite far of the tourist trail, but if you do happen to end up in Ambon then the hotel is suitable and clean.
The foyer was well managed and efficient, the rooms were quite plush, clean and had great views of the bay around Ambon and indeed the city itself.
If I ever do end up in the city again, this would be the place I look up as the rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon.

We are Very much appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodation and the facilities were met your expectations and make your stay a memorable one.

I and team are looking forward to welcome you again in the near future

Thank you

Iwan kurniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    84
    50
    14
    7
See reviews for
20
26
19
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Makassar
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I cannot recommend this hotel. While the room was nice and clean, the room did not have wifi and the hotel turns off the hot water after 10PM. I paid $60 for this room. I expected wifi and a hot shower.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon and thank you for your compliments regarding our accommodation was meet your expectation.

However we would like to apologize regarding the hot water schedule due to we are following the government effort to save the energy and I will be using your constructive feedback to review our operation and hope that we will be able to improve our service for the future.

And in this opportunity I would like to informed you that we are in processing to provide the WIFI system in our rooms to replace the internet cable system existing and hoping you will find our improvement in your next visiting.

Yours sincerely

iwan kurniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede Holland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Coming from Island Saparua by boat we stayed for 1 night in Swiss Bell Hotel (10 floors) Kota Ambon reg. early flight with Garuda to Makassar/Jakarta.
Summary
Modern, professional handling; receptiondesk efficient; all staff friendly; big, clean room (western standard, even twin beds), sheets and towels okay, bathroom a little bit small but complete ; not noisy (neither inside nor outside), 2 well maintained elevators.
If desireable, an hotelvan is available for transfer to airport Pattimura.
In our opinion the best option in Ambon city.

Room Tip: On the first floor a Karaoke/opportunity. Claim one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennenheuvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Trip advisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotelambon. We very much appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodation, the facilities and the friendliness and the service of the staffs. It will be my pleasure to share your comment to my team.

Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Swiss-Belhotel Ambon soon in the future.

Kind regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is nice especially for the room, clean and comfy. When we stay there in July, there are not so many guests, so it suits us well. Good points: amiable service, very good menu, you should try their local seafood. Things to improve: breakfast choices are standards, and the corridor in the room floors are smelled of cigarettes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flixcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon. We very much appreciate your compliments regarding the hotel appearance, the cleanliness of our room, the staff service and the food quality. It is a pleasure for me to share this with my team; however your constructive comments regarding the breakfast and the cigarette smell in our room corridor has already been discussed my team for improvement effort.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to swiss-belhotelambon soon.


Kind regards


Iwan Kurniawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is located on Jalan Benteng Kapaha, means that it is located in the city center. Near to the City hall (Balai Kota) and Governor of Maluku's office.

Entering the hotel is welcomed with great lounge and receptionist desk. Too bad the receptionist is only available one person. Taking a quite long time finishing check in, payment, or check out.

The room is good. i recommend to take the deluxe.

If you are in Ambon don't forget to take pictures in front of peace gong and "Ambon Manise" statue.

Room Tip: Take the deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theonlykarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon. We appreciate your compliments regarding the appearance of the hotel and the room. Indeed it is a very nice hotel with International Standard, centrally located right in the Ambon Business area, Government offices and is not far from some tourist destinations.

We appreciate receiving your feedback regarding our Reception service as it enables us to focus our continuous improvement efforts.

We hope that you will notice the improvement when you return as we would like to be of service to you again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Ambon Manise

Kind regards

Iwan Kurniawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location in the centre of Ambon, which is a busy city with beautiful surroundings, including many attractive beaches within easy reach from the city centre. The atmosphere in the city was calm, and we felt safe all the time during our visit.

The room was nicely decorated, everything functioned, including the AC, and the rate was very reasonable. However, the hotel should not advertise that they have minibar in the room and 24 hr room-service when this is not the case. However, the cafe served food 24 hrs apparently, so this was not a big problem. The breakfast buffet was good and fairly varied.

The staff were very polite and friendly, and appeared to be well trained.

A warning: If you travel to Ambon with Batavia Air, it is advisable to bring a jacket or a sweater. it was freezing, and no blankets!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Trip advisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotelambon. We appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodation and the friendliness and the service of the staffs.

However we also regret to read your comments regarding our Mini Bar and Room service
Your constructive comments has already been discussed with the team and we hope that you will notice the continues improvement when you return.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at swiss-belhotelambon


Best regards


Iwan Kurniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

In the center of the city of Ambon, easy to reach, nice new hotel, with all the things you need on hand. It is certainly the best in the city but there are also some things that could be better.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok. Internet in the room isn't free but wifi in the lobby and free oif charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.
We appreciate your compliments regarding the appearance of the hotel and Indeed it is a very nice hotel, centrally located right in the heart of Ambon city however we still can see the beautiful scene of the sea and the mountain from the room.

in this opportunity I would like to inform you that our internet connection now are free in all area including the rooms and once again thank you for staying with us and We hope that you will notice the continues improvement when you return as we would like to be of service to you again in the future.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambon hotels
0.5 mi away
Amaris Hotel Ambon
Amaris Hotel Ambon
#3 of 13 in Ambon
98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Everbright Ambon
Everbright Ambon
#8 of 13 in Ambon
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amboina
Hotel Amboina
#10 of 13 in Ambon
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Amans Hotel
Amans Hotel
#11 of 13 in Ambon
27 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Natsepa Resort and Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Budget Hotel Ambon
Budget Hotel Ambon
#6 of 23 in Ambon
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Ambon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Ambon

Property: Swiss-Belhotel Ambon
Address: Jln. Benteng Kepaha, Ambon 97124, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Maluku Islands > Ambon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ambon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss-Belhotel Ambon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Ambon is a four-star international hotel. The hotel has 111 rooms with modern contemporary design and fully equipped with 32 inch LCD cable television and satellite channel, IDD/NDD telephone lines, high speed internet access, in-room safe, hair dryer, individually-controlled air conditioning unit, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities. Four (4) function rooms for small group meeting are available and a 300 square metre ballroom complete with audio-visual facilities can accommodate up to 500 persons. Swiss-Belhotel Ambon is an ideal choice for meetings, weddings, exhibitions, seminars and other occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Ambon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Ambon Maluku Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing