We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, efficient and good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swiss-Belhotel Ambon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Swiss-Belhotel Ambon
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ambon
Jakarta
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nice hotel, efficient and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

This hotel is nice especially for the room, clean and comfy. When we stay there in July, there are not so many guests, so it suits us well. Good points: amiable service, very good menu, you should try their local seafood. Things to improve: breakfast choices are standards, and the corridor in the room floors are smelled of cigarettes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flixcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon. We very much appreciate your compliments regarding the hotel appearance, the cleanliness of our room, the staff service and the food quality. It is a pleasure for me to share this with my team; however your constructive comments regarding the breakfast and the cigarette smell in our room corridor has already been discussed my team for improvement effort.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to swiss-belhotelambon soon.


Kind regards


Iwan Kurniawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    79
    48
    13
    6
See reviews for
19
26
17
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is located on Jalan Benteng Kapaha, means that it is located in the city center. Near to the City hall (Balai Kota) and Governor of Maluku's office.

Entering the hotel is welcomed with great lounge and receptionist desk. Too bad the receptionist is only available one person. Taking a quite long time finishing check in, payment, or check out.

The room is good. i recommend to take the deluxe.

If you are in Ambon don't forget to take pictures in front of peace gong and "Ambon Manise" statue.

Room Tip: Take the deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theonlykarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon. We appreciate your compliments regarding the appearance of the hotel and the room. Indeed it is a very nice hotel with International Standard, centrally located right in the Ambon Business area, Government offices and is not far from some tourist destinations.

We appreciate receiving your feedback regarding our Reception service as it enables us to focus our continuous improvement efforts.

We hope that you will notice the improvement when you return as we would like to be of service to you again in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Ambon Manise

Kind regards

Iwan Kurniawan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location in the centre of Ambon, which is a busy city with beautiful surroundings, including many attractive beaches within easy reach from the city centre. The atmosphere in the city was calm, and we felt safe all the time during our visit.

The room was nicely decorated, everything functioned, including the AC, and the rate was very reasonable. However, the hotel should not advertise that they have minibar in the room and 24 hr room-service when this is not the case. However, the cafe served food 24 hrs apparently, so this was not a big problem. The breakfast buffet was good and fairly varied.

The staff were very polite and friendly, and appeared to be well trained.

A warning: If you travel to Ambon with Batavia Air, it is advisable to bring a jacket or a sweater. it was freezing, and no blankets!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Trip advisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotelambon. We appreciate your compliments regarding our accommodation and the friendliness and the service of the staffs.

However we also regret to read your comments regarding our Mini Bar and Room service
Your constructive comments has already been discussed with the team and we hope that you will notice the continues improvement when you return.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at swiss-belhotelambon


Best regards


Iwan Kurniawan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
176 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

In the center of the city of Ambon, easy to reach, nice new hotel, with all the things you need on hand. It is certainly the best in the city but there are also some things that could be better.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok. Internet in the room isn't free but wifi in the lobby and free oif charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.
We appreciate your compliments regarding the appearance of the hotel and Indeed it is a very nice hotel, centrally located right in the heart of Ambon city however we still can see the beautiful scene of the sea and the mountain from the room.

in this opportunity I would like to inform you that our internet connection now are free in all area including the rooms and once again thank you for staying with us and We hope that you will notice the continues improvement when you return as we would like to be of service to you again in the future.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
306 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

best hotel in Ambon central location in old downtown free wifi available rooms are comfortable good beds flat screen tv good aircon bathrooms small but large walk in shower restaurant is good for meals attentive service breakfast buffet good not to be missed manager helpful with any problems or concerns difficult to get a taxi occasionally smoking is a problem in all sulawesi hotels

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon. Very much appreciate your compliments regarding our rooms, breakfast, the service and also our manager. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you and your back to Swiss-Belhotel Ambon.

Best regards

Diaz Yonadie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We needed some comfort and luxury and a good sleep and so booked into the Swiss-Belhotel for 4 nights while we went muck diving for 2 days. It is the only option in town although there are some 'resorts' along the peninsula. the staff really really tried to be helpful and give good service but on occasion I'd get the impression that they didn't know the accepted protocols. For example I called up housekeeping to ask for more toilet paper and the person on the end of the phone said yes but none arrived. Maybe they didn't speak English and couldn't tell me? A call to reception got the needed supplies quickly. We used the business centre to plan the next part of the trip. the printer was stuck with no paper for all the time we stayed there and there was no pen or paper. When we asked reception to borrow their pen he said no, he only had one. When my husband returned to tell me this I asked again and this time he gave me his pen, a half chewed pencil :-) Small points that should not put you off staying but may help the management polish their service. We had a great sleep and the breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alisonleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Alisonleahy,

Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon. Very much appreciate your compliments regarding our breakfast and I am also happy to read that you had a good sleep at our hotel.

I am concerned about your comments regarding housekeeping and reception especially ability to understand guest message and request which apparently did not meet your expectation.

I will be using your information to review our operation to identify our obvious shortcomings during your stay and hope that with this information we will be able to improve our service for the future.

I would like to apologize for your disappointment and would like to assure you that we will follow up on those points.

Even though I prefer to receive positive feedback but constructive comments like yours will surely help us to maintain and improve our quality of service

Yours sincerely

Diaz Yonadie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I Would recomend the Swiss-Belhotel to anyone visiting Ambon. It is in a great location. Staff are friendly, rooms clean, very comfortable. Our Family of 10 adults and 9 kids had a great time. Breakfasts were great. We will be booking again next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hardyfamily66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSBAM, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear Hardy family
Thank you for taking the time to record your comments on Tripadvisor following your recent stay at Swiss-Belhotel Ambon. We very much appreciate your compliments regarding the hotel location, the staff the cleanliness, service and the breakfast. Thank you also for recommending our hotel to anybody visiting Ambon.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Swiss-Belhotel Ambon.

Best regards

Diaz Yonadie, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ambon hotels
0.5 mi away
Amaris Hotel Ambon
Amaris Hotel Ambon
#3 of 13 in Ambon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amboina
Hotel Amboina
#8 of 13 in Ambon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Amans Hotel
Amans Hotel
#11 of 13 in Ambon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Everbright Ambon
Everbright Ambon
#10 of 13 in Ambon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manise Hotel
Manise Hotel
#7 of 13 in Ambon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Natsepa Resort and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Ambon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Ambon

Property: Swiss-Belhotel Ambon
Address: Jln. Benteng Kepaha, Ambon 97124, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Maluku Islands > Ambon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ambon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss-Belhotel Ambon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Ambon is a four-star international hotel. The hotel has 111 rooms with modern contemporary design and fully equipped with 32 inch LCD cable television and satellite channel, IDD/NDD telephone lines, high speed internet access, in-room safe, hair dryer, individually-controlled air conditioning unit, mini bar, coffee and tea making facilities. Four (4) function rooms for small group meeting are available and a 300 square metre ballroom complete with audio-visual facilities can accommodate up to 500 persons. Swiss-Belhotel Ambon is an ideal choice for meetings, weddings, exhibitions, seminars and other occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Ambon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Ambon Maluku Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing