We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My trip to Kanya Kumari”
Review of Hotel Samudra

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kanyakumari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Samudra
Ranked #11 of 24 Kanyakumari B&B and Inns
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My trip to Kanya Kumari”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

During our trip to Kanyakumar, we stayed at Hotel Samudra. This is a nice hotel with warm hospitality. Advantage is that from the top floot of the hotel, one can view the sunset and Sunrise at Kanyakumari.

This gives a good glimpse of Vivekananda Rock

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vamsi1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    4
    5
    8
See reviews for
19
4
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We visited on 15th Oct 2011 booked though makemytrip.com.When we enter the room, honestly speaking horrible nightmare started. first we found a room with nasty toilet, uncleaned/dust full bedding where you never want to sleep can be compared with footpath livings.We paid Rs. 1200 per room per night, which was, as per them, the best room in the hotel, but any one could hardly pay more than Rs 350 for that room. We requested them to change the room but they first denied & then started playing a game. First they asked to provide additional Rs. 500 for changing the room to non ac deluxe but when we were ready to give ,then they denied and told that was the best room. At your first glance through the room, you may just feel vomiting. And please do not get confused with their marvelous picture ad given in the website of popular booking agents as they does exist virtually in the websites only not in real.
If u have no option pls stay in railway station but never go to this nasty place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anirban_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kanyakumari hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bengaluru, Karnataka, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We had done a booking at this hotel from one of the travel agencies - travel2southindia . After travelling Madurai , Rameswaram we reached Kanyakumari and we checked into this hotel. It is closest hotel to the last point on Kanyakumari and that is where all the good things about this hotel ends. And then everything is just as bad as it can gets.
Starting from elevators that needs manual closing for both of its door and which keep reahersing "Please close both the doors" all throughout your noisy stay in the hotel.
We had booked 2 rooms and in one of the room such a foul smell was emanating as if it was "public busstand toliet". Even after cleaning the toilet twice we were not able to sleep in one of the rooms and we 4 people had to adjust in a single room.
With all the aesthetics of the 15 years hotel matching the worst lodge you would have ever seen, I was wondering how does it brands itself as Hotel and I was surprised how can people even rate it better then terrible as it has redefined terrible for me. We did not even bother to check other things in this hotel like food and room service with already having such a terrible experience with the other things. And yes dont forget to take your own bedsheets and towels, as you wont be able to use there dirty linens and towels. If I would have known I am going to a lodge or would have read other people's review I would have not bothered going there. Hence I am writing this first hand review of this hotel to warn other people heading this hotel.

Room Tip: Dont bother to look for good room in this hotel. Better book another hotel or skip this place out of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sumit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PUNE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

I had an e-mail booking confirmation after confirming the tarrif on phone as well as e-mail and on arrival at the hotel they denied any such booking confirmation and had to look out for alternative accomodation which was time consuming and tiresome after a long journey to Kanyakumari.On requesting them to check their mail confirmation sent to me with the manager the reception staff denied any such e-mail confirmation sent to me and were rude aswell.I can provide the e-mail confirmation as reference on request.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JAYANPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

Hotel samudra was only for its location.
the day when i went to that hotel was in good location n airy.
But But when v entered in the room v some smell was coming.
Ven v slept in bed there was not at all clean but s muddy.
Toilets ver also very dirty seems to b rly stn.
The smell was horriblr I just went to reception n told my problem they told that if u want to stay then only stay orelse door is open tata by by n refunded my money by cutting almost 50%.
I went to hotel sparsa it was ok hotel 90%better than that samudra .
Sparsa is not budgeted but v feel relax in sparsa resort.
I prefer my friends u plz don’t go at this samudra its my advice all is ur wish.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Comments: Location is a main advantage.
It is on Sannathi Street- just next to the entrance of Kumari Amman Temple
Go to the terrace and you can see the boat jetty- just behind it
I had stayed here 13 years back and nothing except the room and room amenities have changed!
They are still in the average service- asking for tips everytime.
Probably the management are not that serious with this one since they have a high-end hotel (but slightly far).
Best Experience: The view of the Vivekanada Rock Memorial and the Kumari Amman Temple
Worst Experience: The lift ;-)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazy_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

As Kanyakumari is famous for its sunrise and sunsets, we wanted a room with a good view and thats when we zeroed in on Hotel Samudra. The first impression of the hotel was pretty bleak with a dark reception and the staff hanging around with nothing to do.
We got the choice of 2 rooms and we could select after we had viewed them, which turned out to be a good deal. And obviously the room with the better view did cost more but we still took it. The corridors were quite cramped and nothing great can be said about the decor. The room was a surprise and we really liked it. It was quite big with a seperate sitting area and a huge balcony from where we could see the Vivekanda rock and the Thriuvalluvar statue. The bathroom was clean but had a little musty smell.
We just had one meal at the hotel which tasted ok.
The highlight of the stay was waking up early to catch the perfect sunrise in the privacy of our balcony.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKL2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanyakumari hotels
0.1 mi away
The Gopinivas Grand Kanyakumari
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seaview
Hotel Seaview
#2 of 30 in Kanyakumari
776 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seashore Hotel
The Seashore Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kanyakumari
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Temple Citi
Hotel Temple Citi
#1 of 30 in Kanyakumari
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tri Sea Hotel (P) Ltd
Tri Sea Hotel (P) Ltd
#23 of 30 in Kanyakumari
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#8 of 30 in Kanyakumari
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samudra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samudra

Property: Hotel Samudra
Address: Sannathi Street, Kanyakumari 629702, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanyakumari District > Kanyakumari
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Kanyakumari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samudra 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel very near the Kanniyakumari Temple. The beach is just 10 metres away. Offers AC and Non Ac rooms of different types such as single, double, family. Has room supply of food. Has a generator facility. Running hot water (only till 1000 h). Accepts credit cards (but charges 2% more). Rooms have a balcony to watch the sea. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing