We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Manickam

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanyakumari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Manickam
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Eluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Well maintained hotel,neat and clean rooms.Wide view of seashore is available from the common corridoor ,the Vivekananda Rock is also clearly visible.Sunrise view is available from the room balcony.Hotel staffs are co-operative.Only problem is bar & restaurant are in the 'sister hotel' which is a short distance away.As per room rate I would like to recommend this hotel for a short stay in Kanyakumari.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SailesRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
7
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Secure and clean rooms. The housekeeping staff were extremely useful and only too happy to help us with an express overnight laundry service even though it was poor weather. Had to go to "sister hotel" to get breakfast but it was only a short walk. Would recommend this to the budget traveler.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1journeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

Foreigners will have a hard time staying here with the staffs very limited english and lack of patience. While asking a question about a bus the front desk guy misunderstood and answered something completely different than the question I asked. I tried to clarify my question and asked again. And again. By this point he would say nothing but "no, no, no" and keep repeating it. Ok, so he knows how to say "no, no, no" but I was asking about the distance to nagercoil. I then asked how much our bill was. "No, no, no." Clearly he was no longer interested in talking to me. I finally got him to understand I wanted to pay our bill, all the while trying to talk through his yelling "no." He looked in his book and said 800, the same price we were told when checking in. We paid our bill, he thanked us, and we went to meet our bus. He then sent one of the staff chasing after us asking for more money. I didn't understand why and explained we had already settled our bill and had a bus to catch. I refused to go back in. The "no" guy came running out to me and said our bill was actually 900. This was not what we were told when checking in or when checking out. Why would we give him more money after we already paid and left? I told him we already paid the amount we agreed to pay, turned around and walked away from him. He was a piece of crap. Do not support this shady business. Actually, there is no reason to go to this weird town. The southern point wasn't very intetesting.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cleg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kanyakumari hotels

Shimoga, India
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

we stayed at this hotel on the first day of our kanyakumari trip.. we came by parashuram exp to nagercoil n took a cab to kanyakumari.. the driver took us to this hotel but we checked other hotels too. there was another new hotel near by which had better deal but the driver insisted us to stay at this place may b he was getting commission which will b adjusted in the tariff. the room was good . balcony was the best place to enjoy the breeze in the evening. The receptionist din tell anything about the check out time nor it was displayed as it is adjusted as per their wish. next day when we came to check out we were told that it is 6 pm. as we argued we were not told the same the receptionist asked the receipt n showed it was written in the bottom. but it was just scribbled which no one could understand.
fortunately we had booked another hotel of the same mangement .the receptionist after yelling at us as well at the other hotels receptionist paid back the advance. we told him we r prepared to leave the advance paid if he really falls in trouble . finally it was settled. the best thing is the hotel is near the shores n one can have a good view of sun rise from their terrace.. but the only problem was flush was not working properly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandyrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Don't expect much. It is a decent place. The staff are not very helpful but your basic needs are taken care of. The bathrooms are just alright. The veiw from the balcony of the A/c rooms are splendid, especially early in the morning.
This hotel is ideally located between the railway station and the jetty.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjose24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

My stay along with my wife during March 2012 had been not so good at this hotel.Here everything is to be demanded.When we landed,there was no soap and on demand they provided.No dustbin provided,but again on demand it came.Room cleaning was not done automatically daily.Only when you ask,they clean.No toilet items provided(not even tissue paper)
Pros----Very good location,\
Cons: Noise in the morning from loudspeakers,service provided only on demand etc.

If you do not have any other place to stay,then you can think of staying here.

Room Tip: Tip for the traveller: Ask for the top floor double ac room facing sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TGMdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel. I enjoyed my stay in this hotel. The rooms are good and bathroom is big. The hotel is really good. The breafask is also good. You can get the view of church and vivekananda memorial from this hotel. You can see sunrise from this hotel. Only thing I missed is the availability of hot tea on time in the morning.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suru25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanyakumari hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#7 of 30 in Kanyakumari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
New Cape Hotel
New Cape Hotel
#8 of 30 in Kanyakumari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melody Park
Melody Park
#21 of 30 in Kanyakumari
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Temple Citi
Hotel Temple Citi
#1 of 30 in Kanyakumari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Singaar International
Hotel Singaar International
#12 of 30 in Kanyakumari
3.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gopinivas Grand Kanyakumari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Manickam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Manickam

Property: Hotel Manickam
Address: North Car Street, Kanyakumari 629702, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanyakumari
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing