We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sparsa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sparsa Resort
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The best part about this hotel is its location - close to the sunset/sunrise points. I remember walking till the sunrise point in the morning and it didn't take more than 10-15 mins. Pool was clean but its slightly weird shape didn't let me swim properly but I guess nobody wants to really swim on their vacation! Buffet dinner and breakfasts were good to fill the stomach but thats it. Nothing remarkable about the taste though the spread was good. We just stayed for one night and it was definitely a comfortable and convenient stay. The hotel faces the sea (not sure if one can get sea-facing rooms - ours wasn't) and it was nice walking by the sea in the morning till the sunrise point. And in case you are a tennis player - they do have a tennis court!
Finally - Would I stay here again? Yes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank harsh198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparsaResorts, General Manager at Sparsa Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Mr Harsh

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sparsa resort during your recent visit to Kanyakumari and we are delighted to know that you found the resort to be good and comfortable.

We will continue to maintain these high standards and we look forward to your continued patronage and support of Sparsa resorts and Hotels.

Regards

Prakhash V P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    194
    81
    20
    18
See reviews for
230
115
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Choose due to good ratings on TripAdvisor, but it turned out to be biggest disappointment of my trip.

1. Unfriendly staff: In-spite of advance booking and availability, I wasnt given the better view room. Rooms were blocked by staff for spot takers and foreign travelers.
I was lied to about unavailability of rooms, but when i checked the reservation chart on their computer half of the rooms were empty.

2. Pathetic food & service: Had worst food of my life, It was only oil and spices.. highly overpriced for what it is. After many reminders and waiting for 15mins we had to get up from our dinner table due to no service of either food nor finger bowls.

3. Poor Rooms: We had 15 inch lcd screen for TV which showed just shades of Pink. AC wasnt effective, Couch were wet and smelly.

In all I would not advice this hotel for any1 visiting Kanyakumari, you can find plenty of hotels in half price on the road behind the resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank m1730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparsaResorts, General Manager at Sparsa Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sparsa resort Kanyakumari and at the outset do accept our apologies for the shortcomings that you had experienced and I can assure you that it was an isolated incident and definitely not the standards we operate under.

We have noted your feedback and corrective action has been initiated to ensure that it does not re occur.

We would certainly like you to give us another chance and will ensure that you go back with only pleasant memories.

Regards

Prakhash V P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is facing the Sea. One can have a very good sea view from the hotel. Most of the tourist attraction are within the vicinity. Breakfast was very good.

Only thing that we did not like that they employ young children (Child Labour) from the age of 14 to 16 as trainee and extract lot of work out of them. We refrained ourselves being entertained by these young children and did protested about it to the managing staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinayak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparsaResorts, General Manager at Sparsa Resort, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sparsa Resort during your recent visit to Kanyakumari and we are delighted to hear that you liked the resort and also found the buffet breakfast to be good.

We do not employ children and also we are a very socially responsible group under all aspects of social responsibility.

Whom you had seen and Industrial exposure trainees who have to be attached to a hotel as part of their academics and get exposure.

Thanking you and assuring you of our best services

Regards

Prakhash v p
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is one resort I would reccomend for people who visit Kanyakumari. I had asked specifically for an ocean view room and to be frank, I wasnt disappointed. The view was very nice, the room was neat and clean and I cant say anything wrong with it.
The restaurant served delicious food and drinks. Being a foodie, I enjoyed it to the limits. I was warned by everyone about the food in Kanyakumar being horrible but I found that this restaurant is an exception to that.
There is a nice pool located at the rear of the resort which is enclosed from outide eyes and maintained. Remember to bring your swimming trunks...strictly they dont allow normal shorts...but you can purchase if you want.
Each room has mini-bar and also you can order drinks from their bar downstairs.
Price is on the higher side compared to other hotels in this area but worth every rupee.
All in all, a place to be, in Kanyakumari

Room Tip: Ask for beach facing rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparsaResorts, General Manager at Sparsa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr Deepu

Thank you for staying at the Sparsa resort Kanyakumari during your recent visit there.

We are delighted to know that you found the resort to be good and the services of high standards.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of the Sparsa Hotels and resorts and assuring you of our best services at all times.

Regards

Prakhash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

In this city there are not 4 or 5 stars hotels and this is a very nice 3 stars.
Food is good, accomodation too, the people working very nice and helpful and after touring all temples in South of India this city is something different.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vichi50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparsaResorts, General Manager at Sparsa Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sparsa Resorts during your recent visit to Kanyakumari and we are delighted to know that you found the resort to be good and staff friendly and offered good service.

Looking forward to your continued patronage and assuring you of our best services at all times

Regards,

Prakhash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at Sparsa Resort for 3 Nights , considering the price they are charging and service levels they are providing , it is not value for money. The Hotel is offering complimentary breakfast but there is no variety , same stuffs everyday , Though the rooms are sea facing but the ambience of the room in terms of Lighting , amenities , furnishings , décor is not upto the mark

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashish42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparsaResorts, General Manager at Sparsa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Ashish,

Thank you for staying at Sparsa resort during your recent visit to Kanyakumari and have noted your comments.

As far as the product goes we have a given but shall check and improve the lighting as suggested by you.

We will ensure that the buffet items are not repeated daily.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of Sparsa and assuring you of our best services at all times.

Regards

Prakhash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying at the Sparsa, a group of 12 and I don't normally write reviews.

So far the journey through southern India has been amazing, sadly the Sparsa has been a huge disappointment. To summarise:

Pros:
good facilities
Clean comfy rooms
Lovely hot showers
Free wifi available throughout resort
Large clean pool and gym

Cons: very slow food service, about 30-40 minute wait
Staff unhelpful with questions
Seems to be favouritism with the local guests rather than overseas (we were told we were not allowed to use the pool after 7pm but 15 minutes later there were a family playing in the pool)
Bar is for over 21's but was full of children
Received laundry 3 hours later than expected
They struggled with continental food and this included the breakfast buffet
We came for dinner at 7:30pm and were told the buffet will not be ready till 9pm so we reluctantly ordered from the a la carte menu having to pay a premium price for dinner.

Overall it was a pleasant stay but more attention needs to be paid to service provisions.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SimGuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SparsaResorts, General Manager at Sparsa Resort, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mr Simguh,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sparsa resort during your recent visit to Kanyakumari and at the outset do accept our apologies for the service lapse and shortcomings faced by you.

I assure you that both action and corrective action has been taken to ensure that the points mentioned by you do not occur again. This is definitely not our standards of operation and something has gone awry and do treat it as an isolated incident.

Looking forward to your continued patronage of Sparsa and should you require any assistance in future do mail me prakhash.c@auromatrix.com

Regards

Prakhash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanyakumari hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seaview
Hotel Seaview
#2 of 30 in Kanyakumari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gopinivas Grand Kanyakumari
0.5 mi away
Hotel Temple Citi
Hotel Temple Citi
#1 of 30 in Kanyakumari
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Seashore Hotel
The Seashore Hotel
#4 of 30 in Kanyakumari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#7 of 30 in Kanyakumari
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Singaar International
Hotel Singaar International
#12 of 30 in Kanyakumari
3.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sparsa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sparsa Resort

Property: Sparsa Resort
Address: #6/112 B Beach Road | Near Sunset Point, Kanyakumari 629702, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanyakumari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sparsa Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sparsa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing