We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel not service”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanyakumari
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TTDC - Hotel Tamil Nadu
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Mysuru (Mysore), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Hotel not service”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Kanyakumari is a place where one does not live for more than one day and night. Hotel is no doubt good as at cheap rate we get a good room. But as this is under government thus we have to compromise with the room cleanliness at times. I booked a Double Suite AC room online from website. My room was big but not sea facing. When entered the room there were some insects which were removed by the person when he opened the room for us. After this we enjoyed our stay in the room. AC and electricity was never a problem and our stay was peaceful. For tea a guy came in evening and morning not caring whether you are sleeping. He even rang the bell when we didnt open the door.

Room Tip: Take sea facing room to enjoy the view. Double room AC and Double cottage AC are worth it. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank versatile_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    187
    75
    20
    15
See reviews for
284
55
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We visited Kanyakumari in the mid of December and stayed in TTDC hotel for one day. The property is really very nice and big. Most of the rooms have sea facing balcony. The rooms are also spacious and clean. The hotel is having a beautiful lawn and its wonderful seeing peacocks roaming around the lawn. The hotel also has a private path heading straightway to the beach. We stayed in a deluxe room at the first floor with a nice balcony facing the magnificent sea view. We especially enjoyed the sunrise with the morning tea by sitting in our balcony itself. The location of the hotel is also very good. Most of tourist places like the Vivekananda Rock or Gandhi Mandapam are very nearby. It was a family trip for us and we really enjoyed our stay in TTDC hotel at Kanyakumari.

Room Tip: Rooms in the first fllor have nice balcony with fantastic sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomaBasak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in the Deluxe Suite in the heritage part of the property and it was a wonderful experience. Very conveniently located with ample parking space and access to the sea shore, it was a perfect getaway. Next to lighthouse, it is govt run property which is surprisingly efficient.

You can sit in balcony and enjoy lighthouse or the sea depending on which view you have while peacocks and other birds roam around you peacefully.

Only drawback is the restaurant, which is there but can be improved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RanjanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went to Kanyakumari during mid August and stayed at TTDC hotel for a night. We went to Kanyakumari before and knew there aren't too many great places to stay over there, so settled for TTDC hotel because State Tourism hotels usually maintain the basic quality level. As one would understand by this time, we were not expecting anything great - our expectation was that we will find something "livable" for one night, especially when we were a group of people with family.

As we entered the hotel, we found the property to be really big and excellently placed facing the sea. As we walked into the room, we were pleasantly surprised by the size, amenities, cleanliness and above all great the view of sea from the balcony attached to the room. We found the rooms to exceed our expectations from every angle. So much so that the thought of changing the plans to extend our stay in Kanyakumari came across our mind. But that thought did not prosper because Kanyakumari is the not the greatest place to spend too much time.

About food, there is cafeteria run by a contractor. The quality of food is decent, nothing great. Quality of service is ordinary. Once again, our expectations were low and so we were not disappointed.

We spent quite some time wave-watching from the hotel balcony after dinner and it was a very relaxing experience. View of the morning sky from the hotel balcony was awesome. We did not go anywhere to watch the sunrise, we enjoyed the sight of morning sky and the sea from the hotel balcony.

As far as our stay in Kanyakumari is concerned, staying at this hotel was second best to the experience of our trip to the famous Vivekananda rock. Vivekananda rock has lots of historic significance for Indians and would remain as the main attraction to many traveling to this part of the country. So rating my stay at TTDC hotel as second best to it means a lot.

Although we did not go their with great expectations, but this hotel exceeded our expectations by a fair margin - especially the quality of rooms. In my opinion this hotel is a "great value for money". It definitely has great rooms with awesome view of the sea. Look no further for a short stay.

Room Tip: Go for the sea facing AC room. They are very reasonably priced and have great view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sourath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faridabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 422 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The location of hotel is perfect like any other govt run hotel. All rooms are sea facing but view from the rooms on first floor is much better.
They have two entry gates i.e. one from next to light house and other from the sea shore road. The ground area is big and you will find lots of peacocks roaming around. Lawns are maintained in small parts and rest of the ground area is left unattended, if they will maintain it then it will look beautiful.
We stayed in first floor room and it is spacious with clean bedding. There is a small dressing area between bed room and bathroom with enough space to keep luggage. Bathroom was spacious and clean but somehow it had foul smell. There is a small balcony in front of room with two chairs and you can sit and enjoy the watching waves in sea. Vivekananda rock and Thiruvalluvar Statue are visible from balcony. View tower is approx 100 mts and jetty to take boat for Vivekananda rock is 500 mts.
To watch sunrise you have to go to sunrise point near kumari temple, while sunset can be seen from hotel/balcony also.
There is a restaurant in premises but it is not run by TTDC staff. We have learn that is privately managed. We had breakfast here. They have few items to offer, service is fast but quality is not good and badly maintained. You can order to them and they will delivery it to your room, which is much better option then dinner there or if you don't mind walking then go to market for better options.
Now I get to the worst part. The day we checked in the guy on the reception was nicer and managed things decently ok (Though he was slow). But on check out day, the guy on the counter could not converse well and pathetically slow (It took me 45 minutes to check out becoz he was talking on phone to someone & then trying to arrange papers scattered around him and all the time he kept me standing on the counter). And height of everything after that he was perusing me to give tip, which he asked me atleast 4 to 5 times. I could have given him something but after wasting 45 minutes, I was damn irritated. Room service was not good but the moment you check in or check out, two guys suddenly appear next to you from no where.
It is nicest place to stay in Kanyakumari but its better to eat your meals outside and ignore the guy on reception.

Room Tip: Stay in rooms on first floor for good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapnakapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed in their Cottage Suite. It was a wow experience. For 2500/- it is a steal.
It can easily sale for 4000/- provided they focus more on the luxury side of the hotel. Sea facing with huge balcony. Walk to all the tourist locations.
I would recommend it to all.
Please carry your own soap, shampoo and anything you want. Government hotel don't provide anything in the bathroom.
Restaurant is average. I asked for Dosa with less oil and got one dipped in oil.
Food is not that great anywhere in Kanyakumari. If someone finds good food please add them to tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Cottage is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Wow, what a property and what a location! Hats off TN govt. It is a govt-owned property which is really huge. Think will take you at least half-an-hour if you brisk walk the entire property. Spotting is also easy. Look for the Light House, just beneath it. This hotel is simply awesome with its very much affordable rates. I was a little skeptical initially because of this being a govt-run hotel, did not expect much, but the rooms were excellent and maintained neat, surprise, surprise! It has rooms of all types from just simple rooms to cottages. I stayed in an A/c Twin Cottage (the main door opens to a room, which further leads to the room where the cots are, huge, enough space for 4-5 people, and then that leads to a sit out which can easily accommodate 5 people sitting next to each other). I had to pay less than 2000 (Dec 25 weekend 2012), bet you cannot find a better rate during the peak Xmas season.

But, sadly, the goodness of the property ends just there. There is nothing called room service. I never did see the guy who initially came during check-in again during my entire stay. The horrible part was he took our requests for water bottle and other items but did not care to get back till we checked out. Of course, he did not forget to take his tip when we checked-in. Also, on hearing our checkout came this another room boy immediately from nowhere just for the tip. Even the guys at reception counter and who you have not seen at all pester you for tips and will not take anything less than Rs. 50/-. A guy who seemed to be an admin guy was also behind me for tips.

Overall, a stupendous property whose reputation will be spoiled in no time if this tip-seeking behavior of the staff is not reined in.

NB: You can watch sunset from the property, but NOT sunrise, for which you need to walk to Sunrise Point, close to Kumari Amman Temple (5 minutes from TTDC).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaheshSundaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kanyakumari hotels
0.3 mi away
The Gopinivas Grand Kanyakumari
0.3 mi away
Hotel Temple Citi
Hotel Temple Citi
#1 of 30 in Kanyakumari
279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Seaview
Hotel Seaview
#2 of 30 in Kanyakumari
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Seashore Hotel
The Seashore Hotel
#3 of 30 in Kanyakumari
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sangam
Hotel Sangam
#8 of 30 in Kanyakumari
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tri Sea Hotel (P) Ltd
Tri Sea Hotel (P) Ltd
#23 of 30 in Kanyakumari
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TTDC - Hotel Tamil Nadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TTDC - Hotel Tamil Nadu

Property: TTDC - Hotel Tamil Nadu
Address: Light House Main Road, Kanyakumari 629702, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kanyakumari District > Kanyakumari
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Kanyakumari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing