We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tourism department should look into the matter”
Review of Gandhi Memorial

Gandhi Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$1,260.00*
and up
5-Night Beach and Historical Tour of South India
mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“tourism department should look into the matter”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

At the entrance there is a Shoe stand(saying 50 paise per pair) and you are not allowed to enter without paying the 3 people at the counter.They dont return you the change for whatever amount you are paying.On returning back these three people(1 man and 2 women) including the watchman rudely demanded more money .On politely refusing these people insultingly told senoir citizens in our family that they wont return the shoes and nor touch it even after we had paid the money priorly. These 4 corrupt people adulterated our pious tourism experience. We request the government officials and authority under ministry of tourism to take action against such practices.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank drAishwarya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    110
    88
    27
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Just so so .....”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

It is a memorial. can be visited while walking over kanyakumari. Nothing so special. The adjacent area is crowded with hawkers and polypacks. Not maintained properly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank amit d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“could be a lot better”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

went with a bit of expectation but all you get to see is a few not so well maintained photos of Mahatma. memorial could have been maintained much better.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GSKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trivandrum
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A tribute to the father of nation”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This mandapam is constructed in the name of gandhi,who is the father of indian nation.Every year during his birthday,that is on October 2,the sunlight rays will reflect inside the mandapam.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank psktvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beware of scams inside”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Unfortunately, I fell for a scam here. I entered inside the memorial in which a man approached me asking to show me the ashes. As we crossed the rope line, I thought it seemed a l little strange, so then I moved back to view the plaques on the wall. He began to yell and demand a fee that he was my guide and I did not pay him. It was not quite the spiritual environment I had hoped for so just avoid anyone trying to show you things.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Passionfortravel658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandhi Memorial also viewed

Kanyakumari, Kanyakumari District
Kanyakumari, Kanyakumari District
 
Kanyakumari, Kanyakumari District
 

Been to Gandhi Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing