We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved the stay during monsoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Biji's Hill Retreat
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“loved the stay during monsoon”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had a conference to attend and stayed for 3 days. heard that it is the oldest resort in Lonavala and many film shootings took place in the yesteryears. the newly refurbished room was well designed (except for placement of lights in the bath). The staff were very attentive and helped in making the stay comfortable. The food is not exceptional but not bad too. The conference hall was impressive and for those organsing a get-together or parties, this is the right place, as there is a big lawn with swimming pool and a bar. They have discothe durring weekend and karoke daily, Sitting on the wodden chair, sipping hot tea and watching the downpour was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raman K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    33
    35
    8
    9
See reviews for
51
15
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The approach to the resort was not so great. The reception, lobby & restaurant looked old while the rooms looked as if they were recently renovated.

+ve
* The rooms were recently renovated, looked modern and kept
* The bathroom had a Jacuzzi but the one in my bathroom was not working and was broken from one end
* Though snacks and dinner we had on the first night were horrible but the breakfast and dinner we had on the second day was good and had a lot in variety
* The service in restaurant was good

-ve
* The bed sheets and pillow cover were dirty
* Both of our rooms had no view
* The in room house keeping was horrible. Had to call them 2-3 times for everything
* The bathroom stinked as there was no ventilation or exhaust
* They did not have any arrangement for the driver to sleep
* The bar is over priced

The resort had a swimming pool with slide and play area for children, but we could make use of it as it was raining heavily.
We payed almost 5000 INR a room per night, I think its over priced.
I would stay again in the resort only if nothing else is available.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ManishMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Take it as an option if there is no other choice of 3 star hotels. Food quality is good if you order ala carte. Had taken the breakfast package. Very disappointed with the limited spread. Only boiled eggs served for non vegetarians. Rest was below average. Never choose the breakfast option. The pool water was smelly. Staff is friendly and service is good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Vaibhav T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

- Neat, clean & spacious rooms - with all required facilities
- Staff is very polite & helpful
- Food options were a bit limited, however were tasty
- Swimming pool is small. However one can relax - if too many ppl are not there
- We used the lawn for bonfire & evening party - which was fun. Service Tax will be charged for serving the drinks outside
- Only problem which I faces was that the bed was a combination of 2 smalll beds. So the partition did spoil by sleep a bit.
- Overall a very good option for family & friends

Room Tip: You can go for Swimming pool / Lawn facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moksh_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent rooms, ones at the pool side are very nice.
Family rooms are a good options when 4-5 people are staying. They are quite nice and big.
Food is very very nice especially the breakfast buffet.
Well maintained rooms with good hygiene and cleanliness.
Must try definitely.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms, Else family rooms are very very nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nivedita_mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel's location is poor. It is surrounded by residential buildings. There is no view worth the name in a place as beautiful as Lonavla.
The reception staff was very courteous and helpful. They responded quickly to all requests and were very polite too. All check in and check out formalities were done very quickly.
The reception area was very poorly maintained. The lift was undergoing repairs and the whole area was covered in a thick layer of dust. The heavy drills being used also created a huge din a lot of the time.
The suite room we booked was damp and smelled musty. There were damp patches on the walls and shoddily plastered cracks. The rooms were otherwise good in size.
The bathrooms were small but clean. All basic toiletries were provided and replenished daily.
Housekeeping was done efficiently.
The pools were reasonably clean. However the floor tiles in both pools were broken and hurt the feet a lot. Clean bath towels were available on request.
Old broken slides, swings and rusted equipment were dumped in a corner of the lawn and were an eyesore. The fountain was switched on only over the weekend.
The spa was very nicely maintained with good service.
The restaurant served a very nice breakfast. The weekend dinners were quite good. However, the dinners on the weekdays left a lot to be desired. But the restaurant staff was very courteous and concerned and served promptly too.
Overall, a mediocre place to stay in Lonavla.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RishiGrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Biji's is among the oldest properties in Lonavala, currently being renovated. The rooms are spacious, well done with the basic amenities maintained. There are open spaces. The lawns, swimming pool and water rides help you to relax and refresh yourself. The staff is courteous, helpful and understand your business. The food served is also good. I have stayed here for 8-10 days for business purpose, and was able to carry out my work well. Surely value for money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
1.0 mi away
Avion Holiday Resort
Avion Holiday Resort
#19 of 67 in Lonavala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
1.0 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
1.2 mi away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#16 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
1.2 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biji's Hill Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biji's Hill Retreat

Property: Biji's Hill Retreat
Address: Off Mumbai Pune Express Highway,, Lonavala 410401, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Biji's Hill Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Bijis Hill Retreat Lonavla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing