We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rise from the ashes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sahil Sarovar Portico
Ranked #34 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rise from the ashes”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

"Not the best of places" was the title of the review I wrote for the same hotel 3 months ago. The manager (Mr. Santosh Kulkarni) responded to my review and requested me to visit the place again. He assured that he had implementation few suggestions and he promised that it would be a comfortable trip. I went there with my family and in all we were around 15 people. I must tell you that Mr Kulkarni really did a fabulous job. The 2 days that we were there he made sure that everything was taken care of. The food was good, and he went out of the way to accommodate request from a few kids that were with us.

Though it took some time for us to get the rooms ( the only hiccup) but they were clean and comfortable. The youngest of in the group was 6 and the oldest was around 70 and I am sure no one cribbed and they have no complaints. A job well done Mr. Kulkarni. Thanks.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms have a better view of the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creativegene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santosh k, General Manager at Sahil Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind and encouraging words which I will share with my team .
It is this kind of motivation from guests like you that spurs us to excel. Look forward to welcoming you back again to Sarovar Hotels.

Warm Regards

Santosh Kulkarni
General Manager

Sahil Sarovar Portico, Lonavala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    67
    40
    22
    14
See reviews for
75
40
1
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had traveled with a friend and his family and my family. Stayed in a Duplex. Very simple compared to the other Portico Hotels. But neat, clean and good courteous staff. Food is also average. The spa is good and clean. Its a economical hotel good for a short trip. Its peaceful since its location is in the middle of nowhere. They need to put up directions in the market place and advertise a bit too cause not many could guide us to the place. Would I return back? - Yes for short family trips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RashmiVaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santosh k, General Manager at Sahil Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for writing a feedback. We appreciate your review. Assuring you our best services at all the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Sarovar Hotels.

Warm regards

Santosh Kulkarni
General Manager

Sahil Sarovar Portico, Lonavala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Sahil Sarovar Portico is a nice mid range hotel in Lonavala. Its very simple if you compare this with other Sarovar chain of hotels...no frills. The architecture is certainly striking, rooms are nice sized, wonderful relaxing spa and a very economical price. The thing where this hotel looses out is location. Its in the middle of nowhere. No views, market is not at walk able distance, not enough to keep you busy indoors as well.
I would recommend this hotel to one-day picnickers who can rest here for a while between the morning and evening trips to waterfalls and lakes in Lonavala especially in rainy season.

Room Tip: None of the rooms offer clear views of the vista or the valleys. But if you can prefer rooms that fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddhesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santosh k, General Manager at Sahil Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for staying with us and recommending our resort through TripAdvisor . We appreciate your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Sarovar Hotels and Resorts.

Warm Regards

Santosh Kulkarni
General Manager

Sahil Sarovar Portico, Lonavala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This wasn't my first visit, but actually a 3rd one. The overall experience convinced me that I would certainly be here very soon.

Right from the first trip almost 4 years back to the last one a couple of weeks back I gathered the following...

... The place was just the way it was during my first visit.. Clean, and well maintained.

- If you are looking for a grand resort with a water park and crazy out of control day crowd, this is not a place for you.
- If you are looking for a massive 5 star property, this is not a place for you, either.

But if you want to get away from the noise and want to relax with family and friends, this icould be a place for you.

Sarovar Portico belongs to Sarovar Group. This is compact property is slightly away from the noisy streets of Lonavala. Yet it's not very far from the main market. The hotel building is a circular shaped building with the staircase on the centre. There is a small lawn in the entrance. The ambiance is further enhanced in the evening when the lights are turned on.

Besides the standard AC rooms, the hotel has 3 duplex rooms to accommodate a family of 4. These duplex rooms have a private bedroom with attached toilet/bathroom on level one and a hall with a pair of single beds, a seating area, a toilet on level 0 with a large veranda outside that is ideal to spend time with friends or family members. All rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable and the bedseets are clean. Rooms have a small TV. Upgrade to LED/LCD will certainly improve room experience.

Hotel has a small, well maintained swimming pool. Carom board, a small banquet room coverted into a disc over a weekend and a fantasic SPA. Most of the treatments offered are extraly good.

The hotel has a single multi cuisine restaurant that serves very good food. The buffet spread is limited, but the food served is just awesome. The staff is courteous, takes constant feedbacks from the guests to improve the quality of service.

For the price you play, this one is worth every penny. I would certainly recommend this property in case you are looking for a simple but elegant space to spend your holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njc3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

An average hotel much below standards of other Portico hotels I have lived in. Yet host one of most amazing spa, I guess few of only places in Lonavala which gives you very relaxing SPA with big steam room.

The rooms are pretty big in size but slightly sleazy, old construction average furniture. No theme to it. It is one of grand paas hotel and room. I guess that also will have better feel...:)

Food was below average atleast the snacks we ate, oh yeah they have very big / huge tub which is called as swimming pool.

In short and average hotel with Good spa!!!

Room Tip: Room facing swimming pool are good with slightly better view than the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neha6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Its a tiny little place tugged away on swirling road behind the Fariyas Hotel in Lonavala. Comparing with the Sarovar Portico standards, it is a small property. In fact, the smallest in the group. However that doesn't make the experience any bad. I would actually think, the compact nature of the place makes it feel quite private.

The place has a great ambiance. The unique curved structure ensures that none of the rooms peep into each other and you have an unhindered 270 degree view of the beautiful valley behind the hotel. The tiny little swimming pool in the lawn further enhances the ambiance. In the evening when the lights come-up, the tastefully done front lawn and pool side further add to visual impact. However the reception could have been better.

The rooms are comfortably sized and the interiors are quite modest. The beds are comfortable. The only the disappointment was the archaic TV in the room. The room, sheets and the bathroom are clean and smell nice too.

The icing on the cake is restaurant and their service. Do not miss out on their chicken preparations. I tried the Chicken Khatta Pyaaz and, I will confess, it was simply awesome. The chicken was very soft and juicy. The vegetables and salads feel so fresh as if they were plucked by the chef just on his way to work.

If you manage to get a discounted rate at this place, it is simply worth the money. Would recommend it to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maaz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am writing this review while I am in the hotel. It was a neat clean room, with a small bathroom, but I was happy to take it. No complaints there but my troubles were just starting. The first thing to to conk off was the A/c and since it was the last room I had to live with it. while the guys were sorting the issue they got in a couple of fans. I got up early in the morning to find no water in the bathroom. When i pointed out this to the management the said the water in the tanks had leaked. They filled in the tanks but then the water in the taps was the most dirtiest water i have seen. Its been 3 hours now and still the water is dirty. I have now used mineral water to brush my teeth. The water heater now stopped working. I have lost my patience and i would be soon checking out. I would still make a mention here that the food was good and the staff was very polite. Not once did they behave improperly during this overdeal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creativegene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lonavala hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
0.6 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
654 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Orchard Resort
The Orchard Resort
#12 of 67 in Lonavala
243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Retreat Heritage Lonavala
Retreat Heritage Lonavala
#55 of 67 in Lonavala
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel The Metropole
Hotel The Metropole
#59 of 67 in Lonavala
41 reviews
0.6 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
0.9 mi away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#17 of 67 in Lonavala
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sahil Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahil Sarovar Portico

Property: Sahil Sarovar Portico
Address: Near L&T Management Development Centre | Anandgiri Soc, Tungarli, Lonavala 410401, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sahil Sarovar Portico 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sahil Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahil Sarovar Portico Hotel Lonavala
Sahil Sarovar Portico Lonavla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing