We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing few days after flight”
Review of Sterling Lonavala

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sterling Lonavala
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Enjoyable stay made all the better by friendly staff. Good swimming pool. Food was very good, with a choice of having a full meal or snacks. At the weekend traditional music in the restaurant. Room was comfortable, but not exceptional. Our lasting memory is of the helpful friendly staff, we hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aunderh247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 395 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

This hotel is cramped and the rooms are very small. The location does not give you any feeling of lonavala. The rooms have a bad smell specially the towels smell very bad. The food is highly over priced. Funny thing, they will charge service tax on the buffet menu also.
The rooms on first floor face a garage on the opposite side of the road.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abhinav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed at the Lonavala Under The Over between 10th to 11th Nov 2013, (Room no 109), it was a one day unplanned halt but i did it to check out the property since its has been acquired recently by Sterling Holidays. I am a member of Sterling Holidays

Have earlier visited & stayed at the Munnar, Thekkady & Ooty in recent past & these properties are really superb, but sorry to say the Lonavala property is nowhere close to them, be it in terms of facitlies, looks, decor etc.

The real concern is the quality of the property, though neat & clean, i would say in overall view it is far far lagging behing the industry standards, the rooms, lobby area, recreational facilities like swimming pool, play area are all there but you cant say they are awesome, they are all below par. You can benchmark them against a small time hotel or lodge and not part of a big resort group having properties across the nation.

The property, its small & nice but nothing more than that, the rooms are small, quality of bed & linen is ok not great, in name of cost cutting there are no soaps to even wash hands, was told to use the shower gel as hand wash, the bathroom was so so below par with broken fittings near the glass, the fitting & fixtures are complete downgrade, the housekeeping staff needs to be much better, their presentation has to be improved. There is nothing in the resort which you would say is superb, everything is strickly OK. There are no separate changing rooms for ladies & gents at the pool. There is just one single room, its not even a room its just a cabin.

I will give the credit where its due, the staff led by the manager Mr Gupta is excellent, polite and always trying their best to make your stay better, the food was really good, so there also the resort scores but apart from this there is just nothing. The day we stayed there was a gazal night, but the artist was not that good, even here the resort has to be better.

Room Tip: There is no view from any of the rooms, so all are equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pratiks14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Stayed there in July 2013. aproach road of the hotel is very poor, you could hardly locate this hotel from main road. however after entering the premise you will feel better.

Hotel is good on cleanliness and service. food is just average but their buffet breakfast is quite good.

Though seems to be a little overpriced now.

Room Tip: take a room on top floor, because rooms on first and second floor hardly have any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shailu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

we your expenses.nice place to need a comfortable pleasant stay during away from home. yes i recommend " Mayur" a place to enjoy your stay and be satisfied with your expenses. I enjoyed natural scenic look too

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colprabhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We visited in Nov-13 diwali vacations. Resort was full as expected due to diwali vacations. Their rooms & size of resort are pretty small compared to manali or kodai resorts may be its leased from some shringar resorts not their own. Location is good from logistical point of view since exit to highways are just next to them. Town is about 2-3 kms away so if you want to visit town/market it can be a bit travelling.Pool is small. All other evening activities like karaoke etc are standard as other sterling resort.Their staff are quite happy to help in most possible way Mr. Mukesh Gupta / Mr. Vaidya had helped us to make birthday of one of our friend very memorable going out of their way.Food was good nothing extraordinary but decent. So all and all go there to just unwind without any expectation.

Room Tip: All rooms are alike so it does not matter much which room you are getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiragm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

With the price point it was overall a satisfactory experience. Although in a place like lonavala where you do not have too many optionsto have dinner outside one expects your hotel to give you options. Lacked here, restaurant wasnt motivating enough to push us out of room for dinner. Although some dhaba was under construction. Rooms were big and comfortble but cleanliness could have been better. Room service goffed up once. Otherwise staff was helpfull.
Overall a decent stay for a night or two.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank rohpar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
1.7 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
2.6 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
2.5 mi away
The Orchard Resort
The Orchard Resort
#11 of 70 in Lonavala
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#21 of 70 in Lonavala
97 reviews
1.3 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 70 in Lonavala
681 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#3 of 7 in Khandala
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sterling Lonavala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sterling Lonavala

Address: 107 Khatri Park | Old Mumbai-Pune Road, Lonavala 410401, India (Formerly Lonavala - Under the Over, A Sterling Holidays Resort)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range: $56 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sterling Lonavala 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extending our commitment to hospitality is Sterling Lonavala, on a detour off the Mumbai - Pune expressway. Serene, modern and picturesque - the resort offers the perfect weekend escape from the humdrum and excruciatingly fast city life. Come taste the bliss of the Sahayadri ranges of Maharashtra at Sterling Lonavala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Sterling Lonavala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing