We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place & A Memorable Family Vacation!”
Review of Tungi Lake Pavna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lonavala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tungi Lake Pavna
Ranked #1 of 65 Lonavala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Place & A Memorable Family Vacation!”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Calling this resort "Awesome" would be an understatement. It's a complete experience of perfect harmony of nature and luxury.

Getting there is a task of sorts, because as all have mentioned -- the last 10 KM stretch is bumpy. In my opinion, it's definitely a motorable road and if you drive at around 15-20 KMPH, its something you'll get over with. It all certainly becomes a faded memory once you've reached your destination! The reception is warm (I guess they've been at the receiving end of poor road's wrath so much that they know by now what it takes to delight a visitor!) and they take good care of you.

The resort is beautifully done with stone-laid pathways, incredible amount of natural flora kept intact and pools. It's a perfect medley of nature and what can become of it. You wake up with birds chirping and a freeze in air. The nights are chilly and sublime. There's no noise, no pollution and nothing else but a gentle caress of mother nature. It's a place where you can rejuvenate your mind, body and soul. 10/10 for this.

I was traveling with a 6 month baby (1st Vacation - totally worth it, btw!) and had pre-booked a Crib / Cradle for my son. I had also requested for a Pram but they didn't have one so I carried mine (highly recommended) -- and it was great because the whole resort has long, beautiful footpaths where one can stroll with a baby smoothly on a pram (my son was happy amidst nature all the time!). Its a good idea to go for a ground floor room if you're with a baby or a senior citizen who can't climb steps comfortably.

The rooms are very well done (could be better in terms of finishing / somewhat broken shutters of cabinets etc). The beds are comfortable, the sofa-cum-beds are so-so (my tip is to order 2-3 quilts from Room Service to make the cushioning right) and the bathroom was nice. Basic toiletries were provided. The room also had a kettle which we used 6 times a day to make FRESH Lemongrass Tea from the Lemongrass plant right outside our room!! The microwave was working fine and basic kitchen tools are provided (good when you're making baby food or a light snack like Bhel). Tap water is filtered and good for drinking. A mini-fridge is provided, too. All in all - complete and comprehensive.

Rooms were cleaned and kept tidy Daily. Nice job there. The room service is little slow (but forgiven considering the distance and breadth of resort). They did a SPECTACULAR job in delivering Baby Food (Baby Khichdi and Baby Soup) for my son, twice, daily. I recommend you to instruct them to deliver salt-less food for babies because once I didn't mention that the food was really salty (but promptly replaced). I didn't order food for adults in the room.

Coming to the food, the resort has a nice restaurant called "Ripples" which dishes out 3 unlimited buffet meals daily (breakfast, lunch & dinner). Food is awesome - good variety and mostly Indian and Indo-chinese types. Opt for meal packages to save some money and believe me you will want to have more meals than you think - maybe the weather is right for it!

The 3 pools are top-notch, activity center has enough to keep everyone occupied (I hear a lot more is coming) and over-all you will enjoy for 3-4 days with ease (provided you love nature and have company of people you love!).

All in all, we have a winner!

Room Tip: Go for the 1BR Rooms with additional bed and big living room. It's also advisable to go for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    193
    49
    5
    5
See reviews for
309
65
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bombay
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Good Rooms. Good Food. Great Atmosphere. Wonderful staff.

1) The last 10 kms are bad and will remain that way for sometime as the Government and the villagers have some issues which Mahindra, the Hilton closeby and the Essar Group have been trying to resolve without success. So do not try to reach this place post sunset.

2) The resort organises a few treks. The Trek to Pavna Lake is a MUST DO. Takes you right till the dam where you can touch the pristine water and soak in the calmness. Few villagers live down there so carry some stuff for the village kids if you can. Trek leaves at 4 pm, takes between 1.30 to 2 hours in total.

3) Saturday night has a good fun fair style atmosphere. Stay on Saturday night.

4) Food is expensive. Carry munchies atleast for the mid meal snack. Breakfast spread is decent so you can consider skipping lunch.

5) Sharad, the manager incharge is a wonderul host and can resolve almost any issue that you may have at the resort. So ask for him if you have any issues (He is a busy man, so elevating trivial matters to him may not be reasonable).

6) Swimming Pool is actually a plunge pool. So not a great swimming experience.

7) Location is awesome. Just soak in the view.

8) Ask for lake view rooms.

9) All parts of the resort are not landscaped. So you may see unkept over grown grass at a few places. Some forest department issues. But frankly that did not bother us at all.

10) Good kids activity room. Resort is very child friendly.

11) Spa is good but very expensive. Bargaining here is possible.

12) Weather is beautiful here. Good fresh breeze blows in from the dam waters. Resort is located at a height which means better weather than that in Lonavala.

Go for it. Very few good resorts near Mumbai.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a better view. Room No 1206 has a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDiscoverer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

The last 10 kms to this resort are absolutely bumpy and rough so it adds a good 45 minutes after you have spent 3 hours from Mumbai. I drove my own car and I was almost sure I will need a spare tyre. Make sure you fuel up before this journey. The hotel is kind enough to tell you there is no bar or shop so its best to carry your mixers. They don't have soda or diet coke. The trek to the lake is very nice especially near dusk. The more challenging trek is the Pavna Fort. Make sure you carry a good pair of shoes for this one. The pool is nice and clean. Rooms are also really spacious and the bathrooms are very clean and well designed. Keep yourself well stocked with ciggies and booze. Carry peanuts and other own stuff to munch on.

Room Tip: Go for hotel unit and not 1 bhk if you want a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiragbhatia87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Most hyped Club Mahindra resort. I do not know why!

Its beautiful, great location, peaceful. Rooms are good. Food was good as it always is. The swimming pool is yet to get fully operational. The attraction was the Jiyo Life Express, mini train which carries you around the Resort. Good greenery! Was very curious to see this much talked about property. undoubtedly a huge property, but still not fully developed, work still going on. The last 10 kms to reach to the resort is a horrible drive, it takes a good 50 mins.

The electric socket in the rooms are irritating. You need a push a pencil in the earth hole to plus the mobile charger. I noticed it in some other Club Mahindra resort as well.

Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VinodVyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Came to Pavna for goal setting meeting for the coming year. It is situated in the a remote place and the roads to get here are very bad. Takes a minimum of 2.5 hours from Mumbai.

The property is huge and in the midst of mountains and lakes. A sense of calm takes over and this place is perfect even for a family getaway.

The rooms are well maintained and the service is speedy. Buggies are used to transport visitors from the reception to the rooms, the frequency and availability of that should be increased as we had to wait for a lot of time to get from one place to the other within the resort.

Apart from that there is a play area with a TT table and cycles are also available in case anyone wants to explore the place on two wheels.

The breakfast could have included more non vegetarian items on the menu.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamtu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

the new resort at pavna lake is a decent offering from Club Mahindra. But other than the dam/lake there is not really much to do unless you go to see the sights of lonavla.. but the approach road being quite pathetic the drive up and down from lonavla will not be something you will look forward to. The resort is sprawling- but does not seem spanking new somehow! the distances between amenities are a long walk , so the shuttle is recommended. Not one of their best resorts but will always be full I guess due to its proximity to mumbai!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbaimagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
333 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at this resort recently.

It is the newest resort in the Club Mahindra family.

In fact, they have done a soft launch of the property.

The resort is located 15 km from Lonavala on the way to Amby Valley.

After Lion point one has to take a left turn from Cloud 9 Resort & then drive for abt. 10 kms. The road for the last 10 Kms is pretty bad & it will take around half an hour to cover this distance of 10kms.

The resort is spread over a huge area. It has several swimming pools, game area, activity area, restaurant and even a spa.

The resort has pool table, TT table, badminton court, basketball court, indoor games room and lots of open space for playing any other game.

They also conduct treks to Pavna lake & to the nearby mountain, plus a village visit can also be organised on request & there are charges for the same.

They have a good multicuisine restaurant where buffet & a-la-carte is served.

The buffet has a very large spread & overall the food is good.

Breakfast is also very sumptuous.

The cost per person for lunch , dinner & breakfast is Rs.1450 which is quite reasonable.

The only negative is that the resort does not serve alcohol.

The location is a boon as well as a bane. Once you reach the resort it is very difficult to venture
out because of the distance as well as the poor road condition. So you are confined in the resort only.

Overall a good place to unwind with friends & family.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaishavv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lonavala
4.4 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
845 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
779 reviews
7.7 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
7.6 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
441 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hilton Shillim Estate Retreat & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tungi Lake Pavna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tungi Lake Pavna

Property: Tungi Lake Pavna
Address: Tungi Lake, Pavna, Lonavala 410406, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Tungi Lake Pavna)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Lonavala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing