We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Location!!”
Review of Tungi Lake Pavna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lonavala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tungi Lake Pavna
Ranked #1 of 68 Lonavala B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a Location!!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Could not believe that this is a property which is a part of a "Time Share".
This is nothing short of an Luxury 5 Star Resort.
The staff is extremely courteous here and go an extra miles to service the guests. Be it at the SPA, Restaurant, Activity Hall .
We had taken a trek down to Pawna lake, is short and not so tiring too, recommended.
The Guide was co operative, and they also give you Water / Juice for the trek.
The cottages have view of the lake.

Room Tip: Cottages overlooking the lake give a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCKVCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    195
    49
    5
    5
See reviews for
313
65
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lake Pavna is located at one of the most picturesque locations around Lonavala, built by the foothills of Tungi Fort- overlooking lake Pavna.

The drive from lonavala to the resort is super rough with uneven, gravel laden - potholed road but once you enter the gates like any other Club Mahindra resort, Lake Pavna is aesthetically landscaped with over 150 suites and apartments spread across the hill with some of the rooms overlooking the lake.

The ecosystem is well preserved by restricting the use of personal vehicles in the resort. The resort have their own fleet of golf carts to ferry you around the 40 odd acres. A mini tractor led train chucks every hour around the resort for those who do not prefer walking it out to the activity centre/ restaurant.

The rooms are well maintained with a dry kitchen in every suite albeit the kitchen is not well stocked and I recommend carrying your own stuff including alcohol, soft-drinks,chips etc.(Pick up all the stuff that you need at lonavala as there are no stores once you leave lonavala).

Although the room service is good the restaurant service lacks in the service department. The buffet is lavish but the a-la-carte service and menu is limited. No alcohol is served at the restaurant as I believe the resort has not yet received a permit to serve it yet.

The infinity pool is one of the most appealing of all the pools in the resort. The resort has all sorts of fun activities/ games every few hours at the in-house activity centre. For the energetic ones the activity centre has well maintained TT, pool and Ice hockey tables. They even rent bicycles at a nominal rate. A well equipped gym and spa are open for you to work and relax those tired muscles.

All in all there is plenty to do in and around Lake Pavna! Apart from the restaurant service our stay at the resort was awesome.

PS:In all fairness to the criticism in my review the resort has not yet officially been opened to the public.

Room Tip: Ask for the lake facing rooms when you make a reservation. If you don't like waiting for the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FeelYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location though scenic and drool worthy, the resort has to improve on road quality going to the resort. The lobby has an amazing view and the rooms are stilt based. The restrooms have a glass wall for natural sunlight with the required blinds for privacy. The food was nice and service very hospitible. All in all, a relaxing experience!!

Room Tip: The hotel units are walkable and not dependent on the buggy transport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vineetacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Some major issues - the sofa-bed was broken - our room being at the very end - did not have a view nor was the service great (we even had to wait for half hour before the buggy came and picked us up)...

the property had great views from the reception as well as the restuarant (for some reason they dont serve food outside) - but that the best place to sit considering the view...

during breakfast - get used to the crowd - this is a place near Mumbai :)

Oh yea - Please get a SUV to the property - as the drive isnt the greatest

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaimumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

For Mumbai/ Pune members, Goa was the closest resort till now. However, there was no resort where one could drive to. Finally, CM has added Tungi and Mahabaleshwar resorts to its bouquet. The feedback about CM Mahabaleshwar resort has been poor so far. But, I am hoping that resort will have CM standards once the refurbishment is completed.

We visited CM Tungi resort in Jan 2013 with our 3 months daughter. It was our first trip with our daughter and hence we did not want to travel very far or by air. So, this was a perfect location.

Positives
1. Booking process was very smooth and I was happy with the courteous and efficient service by the customer care executive.
2. I received an email from the resort manager couple of days before the travel date with the details and directions to resort. It was very helpful.
3. I wrote to the resort manager requesting for giving us 1BR with good view since we were planning to spend lot of time in the room. I did not receive any reply from the resort manager. However, on reaching the resort, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that our request was already noted and we were allotted a good room. These are the things that add immensely to customer satisfaction.
4. Very courteous and friendly staff. We slept around 1.30am and realised then that we needed more blankets. We called up the housekeeping at 1.30am and the blankets were promptly delivered. I was very sleepy and forgot to tip the housekeeping staff and I regret it.
5. Resort is great if you want to have a lazy and relaxed holiday. We enjoyed sitting in the balcony overlooking scenic views for hours breathing fresh air and listening to chirping of birds.
6. Views are lovely and once can see pavna dam and 4 forts viz. Lohgad, Visapur, Tung and Tikona from the resort. A trek to tung fort is highly recommended.
7. Swimming pool overlooking the lake is nice.

Scope for improvement
1. Buffet spread was good. But, we found the food very spicy.
2. The sofa bed in the living room of 1BR apartment was very inconvenient as it had hard wooden surface. My brother in law who slept on that bed woke up with a stiff back.
3. I understand the fact that it is difficult to maintain such big resorts. Housekeeping had done a good job of cleaning except for the sofa bed in the living room. The bedsheet was not clean.
4. I got a feeling that CM Lake Pavna is inadequately staffed. For eg: There were only 2/3 staff members in the restaurant to clear plates, serve water etc. And lot of their time was taken by patrons who had opted for ala carte orders. May be CM can have extra staff at least on weekends.
5. There is no tree cover in the resort unlike other CM resorts. So, one cannot roam in the resort on a sunny day. I am hoping CM will be planting trees so that we can have some good tree cover in few years.

I will like to visit again and hopefully road would be better then.

Room Tip: Hotel units are more conveniently located. However, these units do not have a kitchenette. So, stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Casio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I titled this review due to the poor road leading to the property, anyone who stays in Mumbai will be able to relate when I say that the roads are exactly like Mumbai (bumpy and lots of pot holes). Having said that the property is amazing, it is very well maintained and is neat and clean. The food is average and the staff is very courteous and polite (something you will find at all Club Mahindra properties). The room where we stayed was overlooking the Lake and was BIG. We were in a one bed property and I was amazed at how huge the room was. I would have given this place a 5 star had it not been for the poor roads.

Room Tip: Choose the 1 bedroom overlooking lake pavna...I believe these rooms have the best view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dhaval D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The positives:
The rooms are really nice and spacious (we are in a 1bedroom unit)
The staff is polite and helpful as is the case with Club Mahindra Resorts
The location is peaceful and ideal for a quiet getaway
The food is quite nice

The negatives:
For the last 10km, the road is terrible, rather it is non-existent (so pls avoid travelling at night)
There is not much to do in the resort, we were there for 2 days and got really bored. The resort does organise some treks to the lake Pavna, etc but that didn't interest us too much
The food is really expensive as mentioned by other travellers

Suggestion to management:
We went in Jan, and even in the sunny afternoon the water in the swimming pool was freezing cold, perhaps installing some heating for the water will be great

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank apriyanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
4.4 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
867 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
811 reviews
7.7 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
503 reviews
9.6 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
7.3 mi away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#18 of 67 in Lonavala
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tungi Lake Pavna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tungi Lake Pavna

Property: Tungi Lake Pavna
Address: Tungi Lake, Pavna, Lonavala 410406, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Tungi Lake Pavna)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Lonavala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing