We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunny's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunny's Retreat
Ranked #2 of 61 Lonavala B&B and Inns
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Good comfortable stay. Value for money hotel. great relaxation opportunities at the swimming pool, TT table, Pool table. we did not eat at the hotel and hence would not be able to comment on food. nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amrita2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    78
    13
    7
    2
See reviews for
54
60
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aldona, India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at Sunny's Retreat for 4 nights in their Deluxe Room. The official price for the room is Rs.4999/- . When we called them up, we were offered a discount, and for 4 nights they were offering us Rs. 3200/- per night. We managed to book the rooms, from 'Make My Trip', which worked out at Rs. 2750 /- per night, including all taxes and fees. When we asked about the price discrepancy, we were told that, it is a special price for 'Make My Trip'!
For Rs.4999 /-, the rooms are overly priced. There is no pantry set, no toiletry kit, no mini fridge, not even a bottle of water for at least quenching your thirst when you arrive. These are standard offerings at most hotels that cost Rs. 4999/- !
The hotel is located at a convenient location, just about 3 minutes drive from center of Lonavala. Despite the location, the place is pretty quiet, with very little traffic noise.
The spacious room and the clean washroom are fitted with good quality fixtures and has a lovely large window. It was heartening to see a/c's with 5 star power rating being fitted in the rooms!
The food was very oily and spicy. For french fries, chaat masala was mixed into it!! Atleast, when doing something unusual, I feel, they should ask the guest if they would like to try out something different.
The fan too was dusty and the day we arrived garbage could be seen from our window, though they cleaned it up the next day.
So, if like us, you are going just for the comfort of the room in terms of cleanliness, relaxation and quality of sleep, it's good to go for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Sunny's Retreat is located just 5 mins walk from the main Lonavala market. As we visited the place on the weekday for 2 nights, it wasn't crowded and we had the best time. We booked the Super Deluxe Rooms for very good discounted rate and found it to be a total value for money. The rooms are clean and spacious, the bathrooms clean and tidy and the staff very courteous who serve you with smile on their faces.

The hotel provides free indoor games like Foosball Table, Table Tennis and Carrom board. The Pool table is also available for a nominal charge. The swimming pool is quite small but kept clean. The hotel also provides car service for Lonavala sightseeing.

Overall its a good peaceful place to stay. There is little to complain about.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denzdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Sunny's Retreat at Tungarli, Lonavala is a quaint little place. A rather new location, this place gave a fabulous experience to my family and me when we visited the same in July 2013. Be it the clean rooms, the service provided by the staff, the quality of food served or the general ambiance, there is little to complain about. We enjoyed a fantastic service provided by Sunny and his team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikkhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Hotel is nice and comfortable - room (linens, blankets) are well maintained, bathrooms are very clean, staff is very co-operative, food is good but limited options available, no bar but staff can provide drinks in room, swimming pool is extremely small, table tennis board present. Overall its value for money if you plan to explore Lonavala and do not want to stay in the hotel. Also, car rentals provided by the hotel are expensive but premium in service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrahladAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Good value for money, located near the heart of the city. The rooms are sparse though, not much decor, basic bedding, and a small TV. But its fine as you should ideally be traveling and coming back to the room just to hit the bed. No free breakfast though.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raghusiddarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I went to sunny's retreat recently and this is d best place you can stay at in lonavala, excellent rooms - value for money, best service from the staff, their proactiveness is what makes me say this. You would have answers to your questions before you ask them...if you are in lonavala this is the place you ought to be

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i1lobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
0.5 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
0.6 mi away
Chandralok Hotel
Chandralok Hotel
#8 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Retreat Heritage Lonavala
Retreat Heritage Lonavala
#52 of 67 in Lonavala
3.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny's Retreat

Property: Sunny's Retreat
Address: Plot No 7 | Near HDFC Bank, Lonavala 410401, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny's Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sunny's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing