We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Machan
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Zara's Resort(Khandala)
$53
$43
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fariyas Resort Lonavala(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Krushnai Resort(Lonavala)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Citrus Hotel Lonavala(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
$70
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$187
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Dukes Retreat(Khandala)(Great Value!)
$147
$128
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$78
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
$107
$104
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Orchard Resort(Lonavala)(Great Value!)
$449
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (952)
Filter reviews
952 results
Traveler rating
593
237
70
31
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
593
237
70
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree housenature trailwind millsoff gridsolar panelswind powerclose to natureflora and faunasunset pointnature loverscomplete privacybirds chirpingsurrounded by treescity liferoom servicewestern ghatsloved ones
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
659 - 664 of 952 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2014

must visited place for couples .... if u want quality time best service then u should go to this place , they have best service with awesome food .all staff is polite and ready to serve u . whatever food they serve is all time fresh , when we enter in room the first word i say "AWESOME " , and really its worth to pay them for there room , food , service all r best in class . thank you very much entire The Machan team

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandeep s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Every mumbaikar knows how big a task it is to survive the Mumbai heat. And everyone deserves a holiday to beat the heat! So my family and I decided to take a day off from Mumbai and head to the city's all time favorite hill station, Lonavala. This time around we decided to stay at The Machan. It was the best decision we had taken in the longest time. How often does one get a chance to fulfill the dream of living in a tree house! We stayed at the Heritage Machan, a tree house that accommodated 6people. Our experience was simply perfect thanks to each and every member of the Machan team!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Cynara28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

The Machan turned out to be all that was promised...and then some. The thrill of living in a forested area was rightly kicked off by the hunt for the place - since there are no signs, arrows or landmarks. Carry a printout of the directions and the map. Appropriately enough, two white stones marked the entrance.

We were ushered into the Heritage Machan and there were smiles all around. Glass walls show off the stunning view. But the star of the show is the Machan itself - built with a lot of love and even more thought. The layout and furniture is tasteful, distinct and perfectly positioned so as not to mess with the openness. Throughout our stay, we stumbled upon little treasures - a seat that could be used facing in or out, an antique compass with a sundial, bugs and flowers of colors never seen before, a lotus pond,....

The service is efficient and warm. Food is good with limited choice. A few minuses - there was constant construcion noise when we were there (not acceptable), the baths are all on the main level so there is much up and down to be done from the hanging room and the loft, the nature walk could have been more informative and exciting. Barring this, it was a memorable experience at a hard to forget place. Hopefully, it remains exclusive, remote and uncluttered as it is. Must visit.

Room Tip: Opt for the Heritage Machan for a tree-house experience and the Forest/Cabin Machan for a cabin-in-the-woods feel.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rakhee25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Well this is not for the "comfortable" traveler who wants an orderly on the ping of a bell. First things first, fabulous setting; great views, good spacious accommodation, adequate amenities. Food - good decent food, you will walk enough in the day to whet up an appetite. Yes spread is restricted and it is pricey - but then if you have gone to obscure places, you would be used to it (check rates of bottled water in game reserves). Service is slow but honest - I would congratulate the owner since the model that is being followed is sustainable - local people are doing housekeeping, even attending tables in the dining hall. If he got hotel mgt grads, they would be cribbing and would not pay due attention. Diogo the guy on the reception is very good - so is the manager of the property. Go for 2 nights, preferably in a SUV since some stretch of the road is not good (though it is ~2 km only). Go in a group or as couple - as there is precious little to do except in winter when you can do a morning trek as well. Some let downs were lack of activity, the evening trail was very average - Bhima the local teacher who doubles up as guide is good - the issue is very little to see. You can go to Aamby valley adventure zone (~8 km) though monsoons are dicey. The other let down is the current landscaping - it does cost much to have some fruit trees - city junkies would be delighted to pick fruits and eat. A few swings, a sand pit, some bicycles are also easy wins. The third issue, the rates (stay and food) though are not high but they are not commensurate with the facilities. To charge 700 bucks for a buffet dinner (non veg) and have one chicken dish is kind of high even with the price standards of mumbai. I have travelled to forests and they tend to be expensive but the variety is far better. However I should say that the taste is pretty good and it is non-oily. Overall in Lonavala, you need to choose between Upper Deck & Machan. The Hilton resort and Aamby valley are perhaps a little too impersonal - at least to my taste.

Room Tip: Large group - go for heritage machan, small group go for Forest machan - try No.2 it has a duplex as well as two sided views
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoumenRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful stay at the Machan. Probably the best weekend getaway from Mumbai. Kudos to the management - the rooms, service, and food were great. With brilliant views all around this is the perfect balance of luxury and nature.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews