We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene, away from hustle bustle of Lonavala”
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Serene, away from hustle bustle of Lonavala”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Fantastic stay overnight. Their machans are brilliant. People are great. Property is very well maintained. The only reason I did not give 5 star is because they are building a business conference center. Why??? This place should only allow families to stay to spend quality time, enjoy the nature and the peace.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hemalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    224
    61
    25
    11
See reviews for
267
421
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We visited the Machan for a weekend in the first week of Feb and were blown away by the place. It is a wonderful quiet place in the middle of the forest. We were staying in a canopy machan which is excellent and perfect for a couple or small family. The concept of the machan with the elevated rooms is beautiful. The view from your room is to die for. We had a great weekend.

They also have a nice nature walk, excellent food and some good books and board games available. So overall - is a must visit place close to Mumbai.

Some areas of improvement:
1. Should allow for 1 night stays on weekends
2. Do not charge so much for drinking water

But other than that - great place. Must visit

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank akshits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Beautiful Room, Great Views. Experiencing nature with the basic comforts in place.

The food was simple but delicious – an extension of the home kitchen making it tasty & nutritious.

The little lunch area in the middle of the forest was simply awesome – so was the lazing on the Machan.

But the one thing that made our stay truly special – “The STAFF” – very courteous & ever present.

An amazing experience……… a lifetime of memories………

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonaliawasthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I was just cant forget the place The Machan in my life ever, It was surprise gift from my husband to me on my birthday :) The place is just awesome, we were in canopy 1 and view from that canopy just awesome, It is best place to visit for couple, total privacy is provided by machan people, No TV in room and no noises are coming to disturb you.. total privacy in all way :) Service was excellent, food was excellent, Just have to add one suggestion to MACHAN team, they should include all food and water charges to time of booking only. Must visit place. 1 night also good experience if u stay near lonavla :)

Room Tip: choose canopy 1 if ur couple it is perfect :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sujata u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Quiet surroundings, warm and courteous hospitality make it an excellent getaway. The nature trek with the very friendly Mr Rajesh is a welcome treat for the young and the old. Management is hands on and make you very much at home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maheshpaliath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We were lucky to have the time and opportunity to visit Machan and must admit that it was a truly memorable experience.
A very serene and peaceful location with the tree house on top experience to go with truly friendly service and delightful food was joy to behold. The owners made our Diwali even more special by making us fly lamp air balloons and the sight on Diwali night was sensational. My word it was truly peaceful with tranquility and feeling of warmth all around as all co-guests were involved soaking the pleasing atmosphere.

Having gone on a one day stay, the walk around the greens , the light but very tasty lunch and the candle light dinner was most satisfying.

I humbly recommend all travelers to visit it at least once and you will feel the drained mental batteries are fully recharged and you can get back to the grind with renewed energy.

Room Tip: All rooms have good view and surrounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murli904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

if you cant find peace here you probably need to head for an Himalayan sojourn. Wake up to see the mountains looking at you. The birds have an enchanting alarm. The cuckoos and the warblers display their vocal & flight skills. The chef is out to add calories to your waist line. Avoid the first bite coz the last bite will never come, divinity comes in at breakfast , lunch and dinner. Each element in the canopy is so exquisitely crafted that it forces you to linger a few moments longer than needed. The nature trail surprises at every turn ,behind every tree , underneath every rock. The silence can be deafening or silence can be shattered by a distinct eagle call or the nearest village rooster is just being different inthe evening. Place , food , weather , silence , nature upto you where you want to find your peace.... I did find mine....

Room Tip: Canopy Machan Number 2 ,if you have kids, it has secret bedroom for them Forest machan if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shailesh2472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
798 reviews
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
472 reviews
5.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
654 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
#2 of 67 in Lonavala
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Property: The Machan
Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing