We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Tree-house Experience Ever!”
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best Tree-house Experience Ever!”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Machan just as the monsoon was ending. Although many had mentioned that we would not enjoy it as much were completely wrong.

Driving up to the place is a little difficult as we were literally in the clouds. The hotel sent out some help so we could follow their employee down the cloudy path!

The food at the Heritage room is served in the room. The food was excellent. They checked with you for what preparation you would like, including veg and non-veg options. The spread of food was huge!

Though some folks have complained about the dampness of the sheets - this is not really avoidable considering you are in the midst of clouds! It was really a spectacle to wake up and see a filtered stream of cloud above your head :)

We had excellent luck that the architect of the Heritage was visiting the premises on the same day and took as through the creation of the Heritage Machan.

Room Tip: Best experience in The Heritage Machan. This does sleep 6 and has a higher cost but it is totally wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stella312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    534
    224
    61
    25
    11
See reviews for
267
421
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

After a long internet search for nearby getaways between Mumbai and Pune, my search landed up on "The Machan".
This holiday being a surprise for my husband on his birthday, truly turned out to be an amazing pick, my husband simply loved it!
We both loved the treehouse ( machan) we were put up in, and the views were simply breathtaking!
If one is looking for a quite getaway to relax this is the place to go, Its worth every penny.
We are sure to visit again ... SOON!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supriyamohata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We spent a magical weekend at the Machan in October this year. We were staying in the "cabin in the woods" a glass panelled bungalow tucked away in a wooded spot. The bungalow consists of a massive bedroom cum seating area and an equally spacious bathroom. The living space is enclosed entirely by incredibly clear glass panes and wooden beams. The decor is tasteful with wooden furniture and period fixtures (care for a fieldglass anyone?). In front of the bungalow is a porch with a couple of chairs and a water feature. Everything is spotlessly clean and well maintained. Staying in the cabin really gives you a sense of being cocooned safely, yet immediately, in the woods - all you see around you are trees and all you hear is the chirping of crickets and birds.

The staff was unfailingly courteous and helpful and are able to strike the balance of giving you your space while always being a call away. A nature walk is organised by a very knowledgeable member of the staff, but you can always strike off on your own around the property, as we did (but be sure to carry mosquito repellent, sturdy walking shoes and a walking stick – any of the fallen branches serve as one). The forest has a little stream, great views of the valley below and plenty of winding tracks to get ‘lost’ in. We saw a huge snake and butterflies as large as a child’s face.

Must mention the food as well since it’s delicious and wholesome (and you can work up quite an appetite exploring the forest). Breakfast is included and you can order a la carte for the rest of the meals or go in for the lunch/dinner options. They have also have cool beers and Breezers on offer.

There is no mobile network at the Machan and you need to go towards Lonavla to get any – which only serves to increase the secluded feel of the place. Whilst the Machan is on the expensive side, I’d recommend it over a number of equally expensive but utterly characterless "five star" hotels all over the Ghats and especially in Lonavla. Highly recommended for a weekend getaway from Mumbai.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ira_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Machan during monsoon season.

The drive there made us already feel like we were entering a different world given.

Very charming stay, unique and unusual (tree houses!).

We felt as in contact with nature as it gets, no noise other than that of nature, simple but tasty meals, complete relax.

Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matteo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed in the Heritage Machan with my family and I must tell you this is a place to visit for sure, especially for Mumbaikars and Puneites for whom it's a great escape from city crowd,pollution and traffic. Its commendable how all the Machans are built and their architecture. the place is full of greenery and fresh air that we are usually deprievd of. Heritage Machan is very well built where 6 adults can stay confortably. This one also boasts of some of the antique collections of the owner that adds value to the property. Around 40 ft above this machan, there is a small deck that they call Crow's nest. View from their is absolutely breathtaking... What a great place!!! I havent seen other Machans although I bet Heritage Machan is the best of all...

As far as the service is concerned, it is a bit slow. Hotel staff is nice and courteous.

You dont get good quality drinking water there so you have to buy packaged drinking water which is extremely overcharged. At least they should have informed this at the time of booking because once you are in there, you really cant go out. I was not happy about that. In case you are planning to go there, better buy some water before you land here.

Having said that, this is a great place to unwind and definitely deserves 5 star..

Room Tip: Heritage Machan is probably the best. Buy water before you come here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameyagats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Starting from a welcome call itself, the warm and pleasant greeting introduced the place through the magic of words and built on the curiosity for this place. The simple and straight forward directions were apt to this.

“HIDDEN HEAVEN”

The whole experience helped us rekindle our 7yr old relation of being together and gave us numerous profound moments to be cherished lifelong.

The suspended glass box gave us the private yet and unobstructed and splendid views of the surroundings.

The moonlight showered evenings, dim-light pathways, warm fireplace, scrumptious and yet simple food, the warmth of the hospitality was overwhelming.

Actually falling short of words.

Definitely, revisit is a must. Hoping to see the nest soon.

P.S – The best birthday surprise ever till date. A big thank you to the owners for the ‘Rising Star’ J and also the yummy fudge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shwetambari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in the Forest-1 Machaan for three nights end-October, with our ten-year old. It's a "room with a view"- you feel like you are in the middle of the treetops to one side, and there is the vista of the forested valley to the other side. Birdsong to wake you up, and a large balcony to enjoy all this from - so you feel really close to nature. At the same time, you are quite comfortable as well. This machaan had two sleeping spaces and two well-appointed bath rooms, so even four people wouldn't feel cramped.
The sliding glass doors of the balcony and the joints around them have small gaps that let some flying insects in, but nothing too bad considering the location. We also found a couple of tiny frogs in the loos. If creepy crawlies are a total no-no, dont go, but if you need some peace and quiet, and dont mind co-exising with some other species while living in quite some comfort, definitely try it out! :-)
Almost forgot to mention it - the home-style food on offer is delicious, generous, varied. housekeeping was of a good standard as well.
There are board games available for kids/adults, a trampoline near the bonfire area, a nature walk every evening, and nature books in the library. Stars are visible on a clear night, but it is not remote or dark enough for proper star-gazing. You should carry closed shoes/extra torches as the paths are not all lit up at night like a regular resort.

Room Tip: Forest for small families, Canopy for couples, Heritage for large families/groups. Forest machaans a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShubhaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
800 reviews
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
472 reviews
5.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
654 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
#2 of 67 in Lonavala
1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Property: The Machan
Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing