We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay...with one hiccup”
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had booked a canopy machan for our second anniversary in the first week of May. Let me cover the awesome things first. The concept, the rooms are outstanding. You wake up in the lap of nature. Luckily since we went in the first week of June, the monsoons had started so the mornings were even more beautiful. The food was excellent and the people around very polite and helpful. Although we couldn't make use of it, they had a small library from where you could borrow books. The best part is that the rooms are made without disturbing the nature. It's like they are built around the nature and not vice versa. You will find every modern facility available for you in the room.
Now the disappointing part:
As I mentioned above we had booked our room in the first week of may and had booked a canopy machan. We asked about forest machan and were told that its not ready. We reached there at 1:00 pm and were told that our room is not yet ready. We were ok with that since we reached an hour before the check-in time. So we went and sat on a spot they asked us to , enjoying the nature around. We waited not till 2 but till 3.15 pm before we went back and asked what was going on. At that time we were informed that we have been given a forest machan and not a canopy machan and there is some work going on at the forest machan. We found that a bit odd, and we asked the manager why weren't we informed in advance of this change. He didn't have an answer and just mumbled something incoherent. We had even called the office a day before our arrival to check if everything is in place and we were not told even then. After a lot of asking we found that the canopy machans are being rebuilt and the work that was going on in our room was that they were re-laying the flooring of the deck! No ways we could go there! We waited till 4 as they kept saying that it will just take another 10 mins! At 4 we lost it and again spoke to the manager then he spoke to his supervisor and told us that we could stay in the heritage machan for that night. We absolutely loved it!! It was luxury on trees! Soon we forgot all about it. Then later that night, when we went for dinner, as we were sitting, an older gentleman came in and started complaining loudly to the waiters about not having any rum in the stock. He came and sat in front of us and called the manager and started yelling at him for poor service. Then he looked at us and asked us if we had also faced any inconvenience here and we dismissed it as we didn't want the yelling match just before our dinner. He still went on asking us about our check in experience telling us that he arrived here last night and that he had booked a forest machan but they put him in simple tents where he came across a snake in the room. He asked us how our room was. Of course it was excellent but we didn't want to say so thinking he might insist that since he came first he should be given that room. Then he asked us directly " I hear that they have put you in the heritage machan. And that is the best here." We wondered how would a guest have that information. Then he suddenly changed his tracks and started asking us if we had seen any other property better than this one. My husband figured out that something was up so he named a few jungle resorts he had been to. After that he revealed that he was not a guest but the architect of the place and he seemed to have taken offence that we couldn't even wait for "mere 2 hours" to get our awesome rooms and that we were not gushing over the fact that we were bumped up to the heritage machan for that night. He pulled us in a long argument till his son came and took him away. This part of the whole experience was really uncalled for and disturbing. It ruined our evening. We had almost made up our minds to ask for the refund for the second night.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Shuchita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 912 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Date of Stay: 24th – 25th May, 2013

My husband and I visited Machan on the occasion of our 2nd wedding anniversary. Right from the time we entered the property we were not only accompanied by well trained and friendly staff but also with complete serenity amongst nature. We were served lunch 'in the woods' amongst trees and birds and the home-style cooked food deserves a special mention here... it is delicious and will leave you licking your fingers. We were assigned the Forest Machan, the newly made one. The machan was spacious and overlooked the forest of Lonavla. The view was breath taking. Machan is truly unique in its feel, keeping in mind to give the guests a different experience. Machan is an eco-friendly resort which uses windmill and solar energy to generate electricity which is commendable. Me and my husband are glad that we discovered this awesome resort which is just 2 hours away from Mumbai.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Richa_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Date of Stay: 5th – 6th May, 2013
This is heaven on earth. The conceptualizer’s persona prevails in every brick & timber of Machan. The awesome ambience, and the unique amalgamation of structure with Nature sets the mind free; and fills the heart with limitless joy. The architecture blends so well with surroundings at heritage that, where the hermitage ends and where the nature begins is difficult to decipher. All glass walls around let celestial lights penetrate, and soak us in their charms; without the piercing glances and cacophony of human beings. Openings on three sides let the bird songs riding on breeze sip in our being, and sunset brings the climax. You can embrace the sky and the earth sitting right here in any corner of the room.
This enclave is an epitome of serenity. Their humility and hospitality calm all your tattered nerves, to leave you relaxed and sublime. Provision of exclusive music system in house is just another feather in its cap. Carry your music that compliments nature, and live life king size.
Food is sumptuous, delicious and served in style in natures lap. Amidst the floral exuberance, mind grows over its vanities and vagaries. In a nutshell, Mr.Pavan Hooja teaches us the art of Calm-shastra [the art of relaxation and that of calming down].
As a doctor, I would prescribe it to all. If you wish to fall in love once again, [of course with your wife only] stay here as we did, and get enriched …. This is a work of holisticity, and someone who has it within, only can offer it. ..
One does not thank sun for shining but may I sir?
Dr. Pinakin Shah [orthopaedic Surgeon Dr. Rekha Shah [Breast Onco surgeon]

Room Tip: heritage is out of this world, select the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spinakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Marvellos experince of a lifetym as we visited this place immideatly after our wedding. The food provided was mothwatering and warm hospitality.The staff was well-trained and attended us each tym we asked for the services.The most romantic moments of the lifetime was provided to us by arranging special 4 course menu on the deck area of our machan along with private buttler service for dinner tym.we are looking forward for the stay once again for sure in the paradis

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dagproperties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Off the road but available on google map, the machan lies in the scenic surrounding of lonavals. We booked the heritage machan, thrust between the canopy of lusicious greenery, We were welcomed by the bay windows overlooking the jungles of lonavals. Set in rustic interiors, the three sleeping areas are comfortable and luxurious in an inimitable way. Our lunch was served outside surrounded by the subtle sounds of the forest. Once inside our machan we did not feel the need to step out as we watched setting suns enveloped by the cool evening breeze. As we tussled with a lizard who had crawled in, dinner was served. Hospitable service, cleanliness and a chocolate on the pillow makes it nothing less than a star experience on the woods. Pack your bags to a 2 hour drive where the sounds of silence make for a perfect retreat . Wake up to greenery sounds of the animal kingdom and coffee at it door step, 

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zakia8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Warm hospitality, excellent view, great concept of tree houses and solitude that is hard to find on most vacations. While the machan is a bit pricy, it is a wonderfully quiet and peaceful destination to unwind over a weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rajesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I visited the Machan as the beginning of a 10-day trip to India from the United States. It was a great place to relax and enjoy the landscape while adjusting to the time zone ane climate. The service was fantastic, the food amazing, and the views from the canopy Machan were breathtaking. Even in the dry season (we visited in early March), much of the landscape was green and the wildlife was active. The stars are amazing without the influence of the city lights. The staff was kind and attentive and accomodating. I look forward to our return to the Machan.

Room Tip: The Canopy Machan is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SvenWingerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lonavala
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 7 in Khandala
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 70 in Lonavala
593 reviews
19.3 mi away
The Waterfront Shaw, Lavasa
6.5 mi away
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
#3 of 70 in Lonavala
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range: $169 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing