We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent our first wedding anniversary and it was a wonderful experience at The Machan. Esp. on our first anniversary it is hard to believe that such a pristine location is just a couple of hours drive from Mumbai. We enjoyed this ecological setup among the dense foliage and tree-tops with an uninhabited view of the valleys. Being with nature in solitude is just so refreshing.

Kudos to the owners for putting this together painstakingly over the years. The management & staff were extremely courteous and made sure our stay was comfortable.

The Canopy Machan with its furnishings, ambiance & setup is a luxurious tent in the sky! Sitting on the Machan deck overlooking the vast expanse of valley ahead, it has been a truly a unique experience words alone cannot describe it just!

Special mention of the ‘wish lantern’ last night. To sum it up, we will be back.... with friends & family.

Simply 10/10

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raviraj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    205
    57
    25
    11
See reviews for
254
406
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

What an experience it was to be perched on top of the trees and feel like a gliding bird while you slept in your cozy bed . The food is exceptional , service outstanding and the ambience as close to nature as you can get with all the luxuries thrown in.
We stayed at the tent but the next time we go we will stay in the heritage machan .
The trek is greatas well
Kudos to the family and specially the matriarch to have bought this land bare and create a forests out of it , hats of to the man .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanjaynature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Incredible! A perfect getaway for people like us who like to be with nature in its raw form.

View from the Machan is amazing and you can easily spend hours just sitting in the chair and watching beauty of the nature.

Quality of the food was unexpectedly good, I wasn't really expecting such a tasty food. Staff was very helpful and courteous.

The entire team of Machan really made us v comfortable during our stay and we were lucky to have company of the owners around who made us feel like their personal guests.

This place is definitely a worth visiting which is just an hours drive from Navi Mumbai. We hope to be here again sometime in future once the forest machan's are up and also when they start the camping activity on the adjacent hill.

All in all a very good, memorable, rejuvenating experience.

Room Tip: Heritage Machan is awesome but for that you need to be with family. Canopy Machan 1 has a better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adibe79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I had planned this visit as a surprise gift to my beautiful wife on our first wedding anniversary. Nobody from my friends had been to this place. I had only read the reviews from people who had been here; hence before booking I was a bit worried. But something told me, my wife would love it here.



The online booking was a breeze. I got a call from The Machan & an e-mail confirming my booking. The directions to this place are perfect on their website. My wife was awed looking at this place hospitality, staff, weather, and food – everything just perfect as this place.



We stayed at T1 canopy Machan a breath taking view from the deck & sunset & sunrise & windy weather. Bathrooms & the rooms are clean. Had my doubts about the insects around us, but they did not bother us.



One true amazing thing about this place is the way it blends around Nature. The birds chirping away, the sound of leaves fettering, the walk itself to our room in the Canopy from the reception. The self-sufficiency in its energy needs through their own solar panels & windmills.



Wonder what the weather would be in rainy season.



Already planning my next trip here, and also thinking of giving a surprise gift to my parents on their anniversary.



One suggestion:-

Do not make this place crowded by adding more Machan.

More crowds will make this place lose its charm.



LOVE MACHAN FOR MAKING MY FIRST WEDDING ANNIVERSARY A MEMORABLE ONE.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank amitpgala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

he Machan. The most beautiful and serene getaway amidst forest, that too just 2 hours away from the hustle bustle of Mumbai. Searching for a good destination, to surprise my wife on our first wedding anniversary, I came across this unique getaway in Lonavala. Curious by the name 'The Machan' I called their office and I was given a telephonic tour of the place and its offerings. Listening to them I was convinced that this would make the perfect & unique anniversary destination. I would also like to specifically mention about the staff Ms. Cressida and Mr. Oscar who just made my surprise plan more attractive and romantic. With the full moon overlooking at us, me and my wife had the best candle light dinner (would prefer to call it as moonlight dinner) on our own private deck of our tallest tree top Machan with Champagne and delicious spread of food.

The Machan, will always have the unparalleled place in our memory as the beautiful & serene destination of our first anniversary!!! 3 cheers to The Machan and its team.

The Machan gets a high recommendation from me and my wife for everyone who are looking for a quick weekend getaway with serenity and nature all around.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shyam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Celebrated my birthday with my husband at The Machan, and it was an incredible experience. It is the perfect place to get away from the madness of the city.. peaceful and serene... no better place if you want to get back to nature. The unavailability of TV/Internet is a unique feature by itself :).. also, placing yoga mats in the room is a thoughful gesture by the team... staff was very helpful and accomodating... would definitely suggest this place to all looking forward to spending some quality time with their loved ones

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritturijhwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

It’s a perfect getaway closest to Mumbai city; it’s beautiful, pristine, calm and unruffled property. I loved every bit of stay in The Machan. I stayed in the Heritage Machan which has an amazing view .The rooms are nice and clean; staff is very good and warm. Food is excellent. I had a wonderful time with my friends and I would love to come again. Its on my fixed holiday destination list .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pruthvirajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
5.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
#2 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Property: The Machan
Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing