We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent getaway”
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This place is NOT for people looking for a resort and to do 'activities', this is a place for nature lovers who want to get away for a few days and want to experience the peace and serenity of the place. Excellent rooms, view, and lovely trails to trek around the estate.

Room Tip: * Use lots of Odomos! * Ask for the Trail Map
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bangalorean30247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (900)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 900 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

We had a great time here in this unique and beautiful place.

Staff was helpful and obliging throughout.

The peace and quiet and the breathtaking views soothed us, and the rain cooperated and made our stay complete and unforgettable!

Room Tip: If you're taking kids under 5 with you, just watch out for the balconies and the winding stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Nice place, hospitality at it's best. Canopies are good for couples. Very private and exclusive. Meals are simple yet tasty. If u r looking for a quiet vacation, just chilling out, reading a book, sipping tea while soaking in nature....this place is the best. Worth every penny.... :)

Room Tip: All rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nehamanohar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMachan, Owner at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Neha,

Thank you very much for the succinct and kind thoughts about The Machan.

We are truly glad you enjoyed the peace and serenity of the green surroundings at The Machan. And we do hope to have you come relax with a good book in a hammock this winter.

Kind regards,
The Machan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The experience was absolutely awesome.
Amazing reception, warm people, delicious food, breathtaking views, clean accommodations.
So we are left with nothing to suggest. Just keep the same quality of service & food at all times.
Can’t wait to come back. Fantastic!

Room Tip: This place is for the one that love nature and appreciate the simplicity. Not recomeded for the one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NavedShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMachan, Owner at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Naved,

Greatly appreciate you kind words about The Machan. It was our pleasure to have you with us. Rest assured we shall continuously strive to better ourselves so that guests such as yourselves have a truly special time at The Machan.

A big thank you to you as well for sharing your wonderful photographs with everyone on TA. Do hope you can post some of those on our Facebook page as well for others to enjoy.

We hope we won't have to wait too long before we have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Best,
The Machan Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were really thrilled to have discovered this place. As close to nature as one can get. But the USPS is that it,s absolutely natural and not at all commercial. Two words that come to mind are Awesome & Amazing. One couldn't ask for more.
Though we wanted to book the Heritage Machan, it wasn't available for the days we wanted. So we settled for two Canopies. Though not in the same league as the Heritage, the Canopies are also very well appointed and tastefully done up. The staff is extremely courteous and alive to our needs. Very responsive and friendly.
As luck would have it the weather also contributed in making our stay memorable. The beautiful rain, the overcast sky and the dense forests all around for as far as the eye could see.
Well, what more could hard core mumbaiites ask for in terms of the perfect midweek getaway.
We plan to go back in winter for star gazing, but won't settle for anything but the Heritage.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeevu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I am sad that I cant give more than 5 stars to this place. I wish I could. A perfect place in just about every way.

* Loved the canopies and more importantly the aesthetic sense with which it was made
* Amazing view of the valley. It was a delight to be amdist the chirping birds, lush greenery and misty clouds
* It was nice of Varun, the owner of the place to take time out to hang out with us. Hearing his story and passion for Machan moved us immensely
* We thoroughly enjoyed the nature trail with naturalists, Trey and Mandhar
* The icing on the cake was the dinner by the fire place where we had a blast singing songs as Trey was strumming the guitar
* The food is home made and delicious
* Kudos to Oscar and his team for their non relenting ever available service.

Oh Btw, what I loved the most was the masala chai with onion bajia (in the monsoons) overlooking the valley along with my favorite music!

I can keep writing on many more positives about this place. I will be going there again on summers!

I have already recommended couple of my friends and its a must visit for any couple.

Room Tip: Ask for Canopy 1! its the tallest canopy out there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank viveckpkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had an amazing stay at the Machan, although initially I was skeptical about the place and decided to visit it just to check if it was worth the price. The first look at the 'whitewashed stones' gave me the feeling that this would indeed be an experience worth cherishing.
The Machans are tastefully done and the service standards can beat some of the best five star properties in and around Mumbai. Moreover this property is truly and eco friendly hotel as they generate their own electricity and recycle water too. Food is amazingly closest to a north indian home cooked meal, we were fortunate enough to have a lunch served to us on a properly laid table in the forest!!!
It was quite an experience meeting the owners in the evening and understand their amazing journey in building this property. Keep up the great work Oscar and team!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AvijitSen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMachan, Owner at The Machan, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Avijit,

We here at The Machan are glad you left satisfied and truly cherished your visit. It was a pleasure meeting you in person and its nice to know that the efforts we have been making to preserve the environment around us for the last two decades are being appreciated.

We're glad you enjoyed the home cooked meals at The Machan. We tend to keep it simple and wholesome.

Thank you once again for your kind words we really do hope to have you with us this Winter.

Regards,
The Machan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
575 reviews
5.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
674 reviews
8.1 mi away
Della Adventure Resorts
Della Adventure Resorts
#2 of 67 in Lonavala
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range: $168 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing