We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Delightful Surprise Get Away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Delightful Surprise Get Away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

When city life has almost driven you to near breakdown, do drive out from Mumbai, and reach The Machan in under 2 hours. Getting there is part of the fun - there are absolutely no signboards, directions, or hoardings to refer to. We had a general idea thanks to our GPS, but after the series of hair pin bends which seem to be leading nowhere, we did manage to locate what turned out to be our dream destination!( Ask the locals - they know best!)
Located in semi dense forest cover, away from prying eyes,and the din of urban life, lies The Machan Canopy, which actually are picturesquely set tree-top rooms tailor made for your family! The tents are actually luxurious versions of their real selves, and come complete with a large verandah or sit-out, a beautiful old world bedroom, and an up-to-date bathroom. Food arrives at your choice: room service or an outside set up, amidst nature. Rest assured, your entire stay is to do with connecting with nature. The only difference is that your each and every demand is almost fully catered to by the very hospitable and efficient staff.
This is one destination that any nature lover would love. Come as a couple, in a group ( there are the requisite facilities to cater upto 25 members in one group) or just as a family. Children will delight in the open and green spaces; a refreshing but also an educative trip.There is a nature trail with a well informed guide included in the package. For those craving electronic gadgets like TV, computer and loud music, please be informed that this destination does not approve anything which disturbs the tranquility of the area. The whole facility is environment friendly and has made maximum use of wind and solar energy. I would definitely rate The Machan a 10/10 in terms of overall experience.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally well placed and carefully positioned and maintained.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rumasen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMachan, Owner at The Machan, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Ruma,

It is truly lovely to see nature lovers such as yourselves enjoy our setup at The Machan. As I'm sure you already know, we never began this project with commercial intent 19 years ago and neither are we looking to truly "commercialize" in the future.

We hope to keep increasing our standards of service so that guests such as yourself are able to relax and unwind in the arms of nature.

Do hope we shall have the pleasure of hosting you again soon, perhaps this Monsoon as the clouds roll in and there is an absolute explosion of live. Come join us by a private waterfall if you will.

Best,
The Machan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    524
    205
    57
    25
    11
See reviews for
254
406
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

An excellent place to get away from it all.
Right from the booking to the final goodbye, the experience of “Machan” is a great one.
Well maintained/homely food and good service make it a complete package.
We enjoyed our Wedding Anniversary by gazing at the stars.
Keep it up and don’t over commercialize it.
Do add a few activities for kids to keep them busy.

Room Tip: Stay away on weekends, you just won't get the rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VJosyula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMachan, Owner at The Machan, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear V,

We are so glad that you had a pleasurable experience at The Canopy Machan during your Anniversary.

We really enjoyed hosting you and as discussed we're already working on nature centric ways to keep your young daughter occupied during your next visit, which we hope will be soon.

Best,
The Machan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Machan. I would rate it as the best in its class forest resort. Superb drive to Lonavala from Mumbai. Takes you 2hrs flat if the directions on the website are followed closely. Food 10/10.Santiary Facilities 10/10. Canopy Machan area 10/10. Outside wooden deck 10/10. Service 10/10. Adjoining area of The Machan is brought up just like a Jungle. The calm and serenity of The Machan was badly missed when we were leaving The Machan and left us with the idea to coming again during the rainy season or maybe winter season. I would advise each one reading this review to be there atleast once for 2 days. The only drawback according to me was that the dinner and evening snacks are chargeable. Thankfully there are no TV's but yes there is a radio with Ipod dock as well. Do take ur fav books so that you can read it on the wooden deck. Also for kids you can carry some board games with you. Would advise to take some snacks with you for consumption at The Machan but for godsake don't litter. Please.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satyajit Gawde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

The two days that we spent in “Machan” has been “worth the wait”.



Usually the website reviews & “info” about a resort builds up the expectations, while the “reality” would usually be just the opposite – it will be far below the “standards” mentioned in the review.



On the other hand “Machan”, has been a welcome change. It has much more to offer.



The attention to finer details, the warm welcome by Oscar & his team, the attentive, but unobtrusive staff, the helpful guide – Bhima – who took us for trekking!!



Keep going “Machan”. Preserve the Environment, just the way presently being done.

Room Tip: The two days that we spent in “Machan” has been “worth the wait”. Usually the website revie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RamananBV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMachan, Owner at The Machan, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Ramanan,

We're so glad that your family took the time out to visit us at The Machan. It was a pleasure hosting you and we thank you for the kind words.

Rest assured that we intend to stick to our guns on being green and always have the preservation of nature as our foremost concern.

Do hope to have you folks back with us soon.

Best,
The Machan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

It's difficult to believe that such an awesome place exists so close to Mumbai...so close to nature where you can actually hear birds chirp...where you can watch a peaceful sunset with no crowd...where you can see greens and hills from your own private deck...where you can dine under the stars...where you can have your breakfast lying in hammocks.

So far whenever I had travelled to Lonavla and Khandala had been to the likes of Fariyas and Dukes...but Machan is so much so different from the typical hotels...my husband had planned the trip for my birthday and it was a perfect one with the setting provided...we were also helped with a small trek around the property by a local villager who explained to us about the flora around the place...its a 25 acre property with natural vegetation and producing its own power...the machans are self sufficient with a fridge-like mini cooler which is good to keep your drinks cold...the rooms also have speakers that help you play songs from your ipod. In all its the perfect setting when you want to go away from the maddening crowd.

The only negative is that there is no mobile network available on this property except for Reliance. So you need to inform everyone that you will not be accessible while you are there.
Its not a bad thing actually, if you really want some private time to yourself.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank arundhoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMachan, Owner at The Machan, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Arundhoti,

We're so glad you had a wonderful Birthday at The Machan and we wish you many many more to come. It was lovely having folks as yourselves with us, those that truly appreciate a silent sunset or waking up to the chirping of birds.

We do hope that you will give us a chance to host you again before your next birthday. Do give the monsoons a try, it is a fantastic season to be up in the hills amongst the clouds and waterfalls.

Best,
The Machan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

The stay at The Machan has been for my wife and I an authentic and unique experience which we will never forget!
Living in India for couple of years, we were looking for a good rest place, far away for the usual noisy and dusty environment. A place where we could cut off with everything for one week-end. We chose The Machan (camp canopy) for its location and original concept, but we were honestly under estimating the experience this would be.
First the communication with The Machan team for the booking and to prepare the week-end has been very good, with good advice to optimize our stay and make sure it would be as comfortable as possible.

The camp canopy is a suspended wild and comfy space, decorated with taste with a selection of vintage style accessories, giving to the overall a somehow colonialist period aesthetic. The washroom was a great surprised: a very wild shower area, with an incredible sun roof, and also equipped with taste and attention.

We enjoyed the first diner at the fireplace, sharing travel experiences around a glass of wine with the owner and some other guests, also learning about the history of the place, and how they built the facilities in total respect with the nature.
For the second night, as we were celebrating a birthday, the diner has been served on our private terrace. And what a diner! The food and service were just perfect!

On the last day, the owner proposed a complete tour of The Machan house, a great piece of architecture in an unexpected spot!

We highly recommend the place if you look for a unique experience with nature, a complete cut off from the outside world. We believe The Machan found the perfect harmony between nature, comfort and simplicity, and we are very thankful to the owner and family to have shared it with us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Julien_Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMachan, Owner at The Machan, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Julien & Julie,

It was truly a pleasure to meet both you in person and spend the night chatting by the fireplace.

We greatly appreciate the kind and insightful thoughts that you have shared here. The fact that everything right from the architecture & aesthetics to the peace & tranquility all came together to shape your experience is something we're very proud of.

We're just 1.5 hours Pune and hope that you shall come seek another private getaway at The Machan soon. Look forward having the pleasure of meeting you again.

Best,
The Machan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

The Machan truly enabled me to become one with Nature. I stayed here last November, in one of the camp canopies, with a couple of friends (We couldn't get the main Machan since we were a bit late with our reservations). The service was warmly welcoming, and made us feel at home. What truly blew me away was the location; all I could think of was ,"How in the world did they find this bit of heaven?" (I've edited out a few colourful words from my actual thought, out of courtesy :)

I really appreciated the attention to the little detials; be it the vintage nautical artifacts blending seamlessly with the earthy, luxurious appointments in the canopy , the sun-roof in the shower area, or even the immaculate bathroom (it is probably the best bathroom I've seen in a nature resort in India - ever!). The best feature of the room was the balcony - it literally makes you feel ethereal; like you're walking on trees!

We were taken on a tour of this unique property by one of the owners - the gregarious Sanat Hooja. Dinner was a sumptuous, hearty meal (with a very "home-cooked" feel ) by the crackling bonfire. It was nice to mingle with the other guests on the property and the owners. They suggested that we take a morning trek to a nearby hill with the house naturalists - which was a fascinating experience.

It is very difficult to justly describe the experience that is the Machan - because it offers such a subtle, unique way to truly appreciate, or rather luxuriate in the process of understanding nature - highlighted and glorified in the way a magnificent crown brings out the beauty of its most stellar gems. The machan never tries to take away from, or overshadow its true star - the natural beauty of the western ghats. Do not expect tacky swimming pools filled with screaming kids, or any such shenanigans. There are no TV's or AC's in the rooms - because they are not needed.

What the machan does give you is the opportunity to escape a life, so "full of care" and allow you to experience a place, where you can "stand and stare" at the beauty all around you.

Room Tip: If you are in a party of 4 or more people, make sure u call in advance to reserve the main Machan
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saintlysav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
5.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
6.5 mi away
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
Fariyas Resort Lonavala
#2 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Property: The Machan
Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing