We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style,luxury,charm and peace in one of it's kind Tree House Hotel with God's creations surrounding it.”
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Style,luxury,charm and peace in one of it's kind Tree House Hotel with God's creations surrounding it.”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

What attracted me to The Machan was its name and the beautifully done interiors so well captured for the web-site.
Its not actually a Tree House Hotel but has the Tree literally living and growing through one corner of the house and has one level of the house suspended and supported by beams.

The Machan is an indulgent, passionate, beautifully decorated holiday home of the owners who have graciously given it up for people like us to come and be part of the experience and appreciate Nature and God once more considering our real lives where Greenery, chirping of the Birds and Music of the Wind is a privilege of a few.

The Machan and the Camp Canopies welcome visitors for a couple of days, get charged and back to the regular life without travelling very far away and seeing half of the world in one place !

The Machan is definitely not cheap but the service, staff, details to comfort and experience definitely make it an Once to visit places.

Its not the Taj or the Oberoi or 5 Star property but what makes it special and unique is that it is a Home and invites you to come and experience her charm and magic and warmth.

The location is not very offbeat although finding it the first time maybe daunting if one is not payong attention and the entrance road is a little rough but once inside the view from The Machan is simply fantastic!!
The Camp Canopies have their own private terraces and are stand alone and at distance form each other thereby giving the required privacy .

Its one of the few places where the website does full justice.

thank you to the Team at Machan to make my mini holidays fabulous.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    225
    62
    26
    12
See reviews for
270
427
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My wife Vani and I had set out for Colaba from our Bandra flat yesterday morning with the intention of spending a lazy Sunday in South Mumbai. Just before we got onto the Sea-Link we decided to drive to Lonavala on a whim.

We never realized what a good idea that was until we got to The Machan and decided to stay the night.

We came with no change of clothes, no toothbrush and NO LUGGAGE, but that didn’t prevent us from having absolute peace of mind, sound sleep, fresh air and a stimulating walk around the property.

A big thank you to the whole staff and especially the Naturalist for telling us so much about the plants & stars.

It is very accessible from Mumbai - a 2 hour drive and the instructions are very easy to follow. The amenities are simple yet the planning and execution of this unique resort very high standard with a great commitment to the Environment. Kids and Adults can learn a lot from even one day's stay at The Machan along with getting all the relaxation and rejuvenation they bargained for.

Room Tip: The Machaan multiple accommodation if you're a party of 6, otherwise the smaller tree houses are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vasantnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Stayed in camp canopy at the Machan for 3 nights recently. The place is a slice of bliss waiting to envelope you as soon as you get here. Whilst its only two and a half hours from Mumbai (Bandra), it could have been on a different planet, for we forgot all our worries, TVs and cares within minutes of being there. The location is completely off the grid and is self sustaining. Every effort has been made to keep it as close to nature as possible whilst providing the basic luxuries.

This is not your average holiday resort, in-fact its not your average holiday. Come here for unadulterated alone time. Your company will be the sounds of the forest and life that inhabits it. And if you live in a big city like Mumbai, heaven knows you need it.

Our gracious hosts, Mr. Hoja and Varun played the part very well and even though we met them briefly, felt like have known them a long time. Their plans for the future are exciting and I cant wait to see how the property develops over time.

Whilst I dare not say anything against the place (we loved it so much), if I was pressed for 'suggestions' I would recommend a slightly more expansive menu. Whilst the home cooked Indian food is great, eating the same meals 3 days in a row was tiresome. Would love to have some fresh fruit and salad.

We truly wish Machan the best and look forward to many breaks here to come.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaranBehal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We are in awe of this place. We felt part of nature and at peace with the beauty of our surroundings. Thank you for making this unique experience available to everyone. This was a once in a lifetime experience, which we and our children will remember forever.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiprach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

When you first walk into the Machan, the view on the opposite wall leaves one stunned. For us our trip was already made. We were 6 adults (all family) and a 5 year old and the Machan was just the place for a get-together.
The Machan gives a feeing of openness with the use of glass instead of opaque walls. (note: the machan is not for honeymooners, unless you take the whole place - maybe the tent canopies are a better option)
The staff are all very friendly.
Sophie took us on an interesting nature trail - we realised how little we knew about the environment in general and the need for increased awareness on our part. The sunset viewing at the end of the trail was a calming one. Our education continued with a short stargazing session. Sophie was very interactive throughout and getting someone with her environmental background for the place is thoughtful.
The food was very nice throughout. On our request, the cook prepared some nice simple chicken for our son with basic seasoning only which was really tasty. We had the day meals at the Machan while we had the dinner at the common area in front of a fireplace.
Room service is slow - we were however warned by Sophie in advance - and with planning went off well. Hot tea and Onion Bhajjis in the evening with a beautiful view of the greenery and good conversation - superb.
Beds are comfortable and we all slept well.
The most memmorable part of the trip for us was some time spent late at night at the crows nest on top of the machan gazing at the forests and sky bathed with moonlight - unforgetable.

Couple of areas for improvement: 1) the structure leading to the top of the machan was rusted in a couple of places and could do with a coat of paint. 2) The hot water in both bathrooms did not work properly.

We plan to be back during monsoons.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venkatesht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyd
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Picked up this place based on TripAdvisor ratings/reviews. The ratings are bang on as Machan provides a very refreshing experience. I booked this for my wife's birthday and the place along with the very helpful staff made our stay really good. Special kudos to Waseem and Niraj for taking care of our special needs as we were with kids.

The views of the valley/hills from the canopy are spectacular and breathtaking! The Sahyadri hills in the backdrop remind me of the "half dome" (though this is a single hard rock) at the Yosemite Valley.

The food is very homely and the kids too loved it.

Room Tip: We stayed at Canopy 3. We felt Canopy 1 might have a better view. Also, if you're in a larger gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

It was a wonderful experience to stay at The Machan.
Lovely place, lovely people, great food … What more can one ask for?
Special thanks to the Naturalist (Sophie) and the service team for making this holiday so special!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya_Raji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
810 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
5.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
657 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#3 of 6 in Khandala
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Property: The Machan
Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing