We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!! Can get better!”
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had a wonderful time here. Great location, great weather and great service from amazing people.
Loved the food too. If you are expecting a grand 5-star buffet , this is NOT. But, you get quality homely food.

Suggestion: Since you are building a conference room, you should also have an indoor area with games like TT etc. This is really valuable in monsoon as the rains would otherwise just confine you to the room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leisurenluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 901 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

i had chosen the place to give my wife a birthday surprise and i am really happy to have chosen this place. it is a true nature lovers paradise. prior to booking, sanat was really nice is explaining me the concept of the place. the place is heaven and difficult to describein words. teh stay starts with the unique & beautiful reception. the camp canopy is super comfy and spacious. they are furnished with vert tastefully selected antiques. every detail of the canopy has been selected with perfection, like the ethnic table and chair, the old gec table fan, the comfort chairs, decor and yet amonst these you find an i pod dock. the bath is fitted with modern amenities and very elegant. the best part is the deck which over looks the valley and clouds float just infront of you. a nature trail with guide bhema is highly recommended. the dinner was very good and served at small dining area which is also unique. the food tasted like home food and was a delight. infact we were blown with surpise of khichdi for our 14 month baby. we had our dinner next to fire place. i was bowled over with the flowers and cake which the resort provided. i highly recommend the place to nature lovers and if you are 3 coulpe or family a machan would be great. the macha accomodation offered here unbelievable with one of the rooms-called hanging room which is suspended in the valley. thanks to entire machan team and the person who thought of making such a place like heaven on earth.

Room Tip: Nature lovers paradise..comes with modern amenities!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank UD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

The place is awesome for anyone to unwind.

Kudos to the owner who has made it with so much love and passion for Nature.

Congratulate him on his vision and building such a wonderful team here.

People here are excellent. They make you feel at home and they are more than eager to help.

The food is really good!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanddy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Addressing to all the people who have made the existence of this place in the real world.



It was our 1st wedding anniversary celebration and I wanted everything to be placed well for a surprise for her.



And that was it, right from the word go, the rickshaw driver and his guidance about Lonavala, to a warm reception from the manager with a big wide smile, her accompanance to the Canopy.



The Canopy, wow wonderful, standing on only two support beams, with a huge deck & scenic view of the green land.



The interior studded with antiques (liked the 1940 Stanley binocular ... thought of stealing it ... lolz!).



The overwhelming hospitality of the support staff.



The special dinner at our deck was again a delightful treat by your men with an unforgettable food taste.



The plantation, visible serenity of the place, the calmness, the quiet atmosphere of the place all contributed to make our occasion memorable forever and ever.



The decor of the whole property is well-planned.



TRULY A MESMERIZING EXPERIENCE

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nayashah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Its a great place and the best part is that they use natural resources for electricity and stuff so you feel great about doing ur bit for the environment :)…….Its a beautiful and amazing for a holiday

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meeta77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

this breathtaking property will just open one mind at what nature can offer. This property is so well built within itself that you do not need any entertainment around to keep you busy. especially in the rainy season you can hear the birds in the morning, stream of water flowing, butterflies flying around just beautiful. They give you all the necessities one wants in the room like an ipod, clean bathroom where you can see the sky. an amazing deck area for romantic dinner and chilling. food needs to be tweaked a little bit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anupgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Thank you for giving us this awesome experience of being close to Nature.
The beautiful nature walk, the excellent sunrise, the comfort of a true 5 star Machan and the superb home cooked food.
5 * Says it all about the room and the hygiene.
Thank you to the whole team who took care of us from reservations to the stay.
Looking forward to coming back.
P.S. Thanks for making my husband’s birthday memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EaktaMenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
581 reviews
5.7 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
674 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#3 of 6 in Khandala
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range: $168 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing