We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend Getaway”
Review of The Machan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Machan
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2011

Our family of four had a wonderful stay in a tented camp. The owners and the staff were extremely obliging and friendly. The weather was fairly hot, but the kids had fun in the day climbing trees and lounging around on the hammocks. We went on short treks within the property every evening. At night, the night sky was a joy to behold. Great food. Exceptional service. We have left with very pleasant memories.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wheels0nheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

867 - 873 of 928 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2011

Sometimes when you re-visit a place you loved the first time, you're afriad that it won't live up to your memories. Well, we needn't have feared that.. We came back with more awesome memories this time. It was the second visit for us in less than a year; and the experience only got better. Brilliant set up; warm & friendly staff; great weather; amazing hosts.

I won't repeat how fantastic this place is, how wonderful the tents and the food are and how perfect the setting and ambience are. What I personally loved the most was the fact that the hosts and the staff is so wonderful.. They set up the most romantic candle-lit dinner, under the stars, for my husband and I to celebrate my birthday

We LOVE this place and will be back many many many many times!!

I just want to thank the whole Machan team for the most memorable birthday ever!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelgirl2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

the place more than lived up to the expectations that were set up by the pictures that we saw on the site. the room was splendid - done up beautifully and the deck was something to die for. have not had this kind of absolute unwinding in a long long time.

thank you to the entire family for taking care of us so well. the service was brilliant.

would definitely be back for more!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sujanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at Camp Canopy for only one night and how I wish we had stayed for more time! Right from the service to the home cooked food, to the decor of the room, to the sparkling white bedsheets, every part of our one night getaway was amazing. The staff, each and every one, were so kind and friendly and did all they could to make us comfortable, and the food was "ghar ka khaana" and absolutely delicious. I am very particular about bed linens and bathrooms and was pleasantly surprised to see the attention to details in both. We had a 7 month old baby and a 4 year old with us but never did we miss the tv or other conventional forms of entertainment.
the jungle hike was also very exciting and we managed to glimpse a barking deer crashing through the foliage. we are def planning another trip, this time to stay at the Macchaan.
only 2 suggestions: please add a more effective table fan as afternoons get warm, and add fresh fruits to the menu.
All in all, a wonderful place. Hope it never changes.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

“The Machan” is true to its name in letter & spirit.
A perfect nearest getaway for all Mumbaikers who are starved of greenery, peace & tranquility.
A soothing balm for the mind and body to unwind, relax and get closer to nature.
The eco-friendly theme and natural environs concept adds ups to the delight of all nature lovers.
The facilities & the staff at this place are excellent, world class & service extremely cordial & friendly.
I and my family had the most memorable and enjoyable experience of this place and look forward to visiting the same time and again.
Prashant Korukonda

Room Tip: Keep map directions handy, no signboards on route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrashantKorukonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The Machan Resort : Lonavla
Date: April 2011

Right from the time of booking (at such short notice) till the departure, i was floored by the communication with the "Machan Team" so prompt and professionalism personified. Price doesnt matter when you see the service and the lovely ambience. I was amazed that there were no sign boards.... indeed the two white washed stones are the hallmark of a holidaying experience!

I had the most amazing, serene, satisfying holiday at The Machan Resort - Camp Canopy... The two nights three day trip was out of the world ... far surpassing the website and reviews.

The welcome itself was a preview of the things to come.
The Camp Canopy was "PERFECT" simple, tasteful and aesthetically done up. A treetop tent! The tent was so spacious, with a private sit in area with the amazing view and the daily sunrise. The brass antiques and the selection of the furniture, the oh so well done up bath area and the thoughtful guide on birds truly reflects the eye for detail. For the privacy of guests i would rate this place 10 on 10. (Credit goes to the well trained staff - they were so organised, so polite and caring, and not overbearing just the way i wanted.) The view is simply awesome.


The amyrallis landscaping (under progress) and the natural terrain was so soothing, the guided nature trail and the sightings of the deers and birds, the amazing indigenous medicinal plants in all its natural glory and the care taken to maintain them in their natural habitat by the owner truly touched my heart. Detailed care is taken to maintain the natural terrain, the power is self generated with solar cooking and the wind mills..

The lunch served in a clearance among the trees and the candle light dinners with a variety of vegetarian and non-vegetarian dishes cooked to perfection with the staff in the shadows is something to be experienced.

The maintenance of the rooms twice daily says a lot... the small surprise arranged on the day of departure simply made me emotional !

i wont deny i have holidayed at 7 star hotels abroad and experienced the best of what the west has to offer, but despite this The Machan Resort far surpassed the expectations thanks to its love and concern to conserve nature. A visit especially in the monsoons is recommended for sure.

Once again i thank the Machan Team... Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare0210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

The Machan is just like heaven on earth, fantastic location the entry to the place is different and nice. The stay at Tree house with such a great interiors is totally refershing, Just being surrounded by trees and nature everywhere, Listening to the chirping of birds is great.

They also provide a small walk through which is really nice,they have a man made fall within, which is nice place to spend time. The food at The Machan is really nice and the eating place which is with bonfire. Its a must to stay place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MasterBlasterMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
8.1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
0.7 mi away
Cloud 9 Hills Resort
Cloud 9 Hills Resort
#8 of 70 in Lonavala
274 reviews
5.9 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 7 in Khandala
852 reviews
6.1 mi away
Rhythm Lonavala
Rhythm Lonavala
#4 of 70 in Lonavala
624 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#5 of 7 in Khandala
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Machan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Machan

Address: 8 km Short of Aamby Valley, Lonavala, India (Formerly The Machan & Camp Canopy)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range: $158 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Machan 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An award-winning eco-resort in Lonavala. The Machan is a story of dwellings that rise above the forest floor and form a symbiotic relationship with their natural surroundings. All of its individual accommodations are floating in the air, with enchanting views and elegant rustic interiors. Its carbon footprint is minimal - with its energy generated solely through solar and wind. Located in Jambulne, one of 25 biological hotspots of the world and a mere 2.5 Drive from Mumbai (1.5 Hours from Pune), the Machan makes for an accessible weekend getaway. We invite you to take some time away from work and immerse yourself in this one of a kind experience. Reconnect with family, friends and loved ones in the comfort and privacy of this truly exclusive retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Machan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing