We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Batata wadas to die for !!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of kamat's green house

Ranked #22 of 84 Restaurants in Lonavala
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: it's at khandala before lonavala
pune
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Batata wadas to die for !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My mouth is watering as I write this review. Let me get straight to the point. Their batata wada is out of this world. Actually its the combination of what they serve with the batata wadas that makes this dish unique. It is served with two small bowls , one with a sweet dahi concoction and another with some other liquid which is heavenly.. you pour both these over a piece of the batata wada and put it in your mouth and you reach heaven.. well at least I do. Its a must stop for me and my family on any bombay pune trip. I've been eating the batata wada at this place for the last 25 years and the taste is the same .. delicious as ever. The other things here are good as well but I keep going back there again and again for their batata wada's. All the people who I've introduced to this batata wada concoction becomes a fan for life. Its worth the detour off the expressway if you have the time to spare.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodie_traveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    38
    18
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“can do better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Food is ok but quantity and quality is just about ok... for a price paid kamat used to serve much better food. i was there for breakfast, we ordered dosa, idli-wada and coffee... filter coffee was very watery and bitter, dosa was too thin, you will need to eat four if you want to feel full.. idli and wada were good, so were sambar and chutney.. Disappointed by service and hygiene...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eslavath_BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A must visit while in Lonavala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

One of the oldest hotels in Lonavala. Before the expressway was built, this place used to be crowded with tourists. Now with the expressway this place has lost all its customers. But it still is a wonderful place to visit. Food is reasonably priced also tastes good. We had ordered for Roti and Naan along with Paneer Mutter. The Rotis and the Naan had becomea bit soft and cold by the time it reached our table but the sabzi was piping hot and hence it tasted well. All in all a very nice place if you ever visit to Lonavala it is a must try being one of the oldest hotels in Lonavala.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank surajnairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Sorry , but Kamat's hasnt managed to maintain its name at any of their Mumbai Outskirts Properties...Bad hygiene, Good sweet staff, average food, affordable yes...but nothing like the quality they used to serve earlier. With so many options in Lonavala, I would give this one a miss.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rvpmumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
“Where's the service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just me n my friend were hanging at Kahnadala. First of all there is nothing at Khandala to see or visit than Lovers garden. We were hungry. Khandala doesnt have Non veg hotel. There was only one hotel of Non-veg near to Pune-Bombay highway.
Kamat has 2 sides, Non-veg restorant & Veg Restaurant.
Non-veg restorant is named as El-taj.
Service was the worst... They dotn have manners of servicing the quality. Food quantity is very less & the price is too much.
We ordered "Chicken Masala, Tandoori Roti & Masala Padad", As usual you get a BIG size of masala padad, but this hotel offered us normal size papad with tomato & some masala on it. then Chicken masala quantity was so less & it cost almost 200 Rs. Funny thing about that Chicken masala was It had chicken tandoori pieces. Come on man.. We ordered Chicken Masala not Chicken Tandoori..
It was worst lunch ever with waste of money.
I wish Khandala could have nice restorants.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelNoReason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed kamat's green house also viewed

Lonavala, Maharashtra
Lonavala, Maharashtra
 

Been to kamat's green house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing