We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Self Contained Place”
Review of The Orchard Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Orchard Resort
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice & Self Contained Place”
Reviewed November 21, 2010

My and my friends family (totally 6) drove down to this resort. This is my second time in this resort.
The rooms are pretty good with nice balcony and the mountain view.
This resort is away from the busy and exploited Lonavala centre.
This is the place to be if one expects peace, calm and relaxation.
During monsoons, the entire mountain becomes green and it is a nice and a soothing view (if you have got the mountain view rooms).

The food is very good. The package includes, Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner...The spread of dishes are also commendable. Kids and Adults can have a giid time playing Snooker, Table Tennis, Swimming etc..

Now for some negatives:-

The mattress needs improvement as the bed joints are uncomfortable and the mattress is too spongy..

The approach road to this resort is VERY BAD i mean the final strech of 200 meters drive is very bumpy. Dont understand as to why this resort is not making any attempt to have the roads repaired by getting in touch with the right municipal department.

In all , the resort is a nice place to stay...

Cheers

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leomah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    108
    57
    11
    10
See reviews for
117
50
Solo
0
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi (Delhi), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The hotel is newly built and modern. However, the approach road is very poor. IT has its own swimming pool which is great. We had organized a business conference for almost 7 days.

The conference facilities themselves are really good including the board room. However, the cleanliness was a question mark. The common washrooms were invariably unclean and was a bothersome point as we had to often use it during the day.

The rooms though are very comfortable - however the service was really poor. We had taken a junior suite for smaller meetings and had given clear instructions for serving tea at 11:00 am but it used to take 2-3 reminders for the tea to be serviced and it often came well past 12:00 pm.

I would like to exceptionally praise the quality of the food. Even though a buffet was laid out everyday, hardly any dishes were repeated during our 7 day stay and that speaks a lot. The quality of the food was top notch.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harsh_Dhanuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai Indian
Level Contributor
785 reviews
298 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The resort is located in a beautiful locale. Especially during monsoon with so much greenery around, the view is fabulous. The back drop of the small mountain is adding to the beautiful view.
The interior of the hotel is good. rooms are decent. But the dining halls could have been better. the hygeie level is not good in these dining halls.
But the food is reasonably good. The staff should be more trained.
The rates are very attractive.
The most bad part of the resort is the terrible approach road. Some thing has to be done urgently in this connection

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plpalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Overall... It was very Good experience!!
Food was good.. Room Cleanliness- though small nos. of staff, but maintained good cleanliness.. Location was tooooo good. we got mountains facing room.. so we enjoyed rains and cloudy atmosphere. best period to visit is July August, as its away from city life and you can enjoy nature's beauty!!!
Suggestion: since Hotel arranges Corporate picnics, they shud take care that other people are not disturbed by their late night parties and hungamas... Rooms shud have been little sound proof.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller3172010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune india
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2010

great food very cordial staff value for money conference halls well equiped

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shishirbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Good Amenities, Pool and Jacuzzi available. The Orchard Suite is good and comfortable for a small family. Price includes AP and all meals are buffet style. Quiet and Serene location about 2 kms away from main market in Lonavla.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bombay
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Orchard Resort is one of those places you go to, when you plan last min, you look for a close-to-bombay option, you dont want to think too much but want the stuff you need to relax!

In other words, you can trust Orchard to deliver on what it promises- comfort and relaxation.

Sure, the rooms could be a bit better, sure the pool could have a few deck chairs, but what it lacks, it more than makes up in the food, (they laid out the spread one night next to the pool), the indoor spa and games, and a modest property to walk around in.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aparnabhawal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
1.5 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
1.9 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
778 reviews
1.8 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 67 in Lonavala
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#18 of 67 in Lonavala
90 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crystal County Resort
Crystal County Resort
#13 of 67 in Lonavala
68 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Resort

Property: The Orchard Resort
Address: Sr No 30, Sector e , Gold Valley | New Tungarli, Lonavala 410403, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Orchard Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing