We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old worn out Hotel need to be renovated urgently!”
Review of The Lagoona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lagoona Resort
Ranked #37 of 70 Hotels in Lonavala
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here in 2 rooms for 2 nights 20Apr~02May, expected it to be a 4-star property. The lobby was huge, but furniture looked dated, the lifts were not in good shape and could not take more than 3 pax, with one of them out of order. The main Restaurant "Patio" had dirty table linen, and overall the whole Hotel seemed to require painting and repairs.

The Rooms were again with old broken furniture, the TV was CRT, not LCD. The bathroom was ok, the curtains were with mould. The linen was strictly ok and we had to change some towels and sheets which were stained. The Room AC was ok and luckily cooling since the outside temp was very hot.

The games area was dark, dull, dim and musty with old equipment. There was a pool. But no Spa and not Gym, overall not much for children to do.

There were loads of mosquitos biting us after sun down all over the property.

They need to renovate and upgrade all the facilities on an urgent basis since the charges are quite high and compared to other other properties does not offer value for money.

The food was ok, the dinner and breakfast we had was adequate but not spectacular or anything to remind us of good memories of this property.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place until is taken over or renovated properly by a professional Hotel chain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLagoonaResort, Assistant Vice President at The Lagoona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Lagoona Resort and for sharing your experience. We regret that your stay at our resort was less than perfect. We were appreciated by most of our guests for the service and food during the same period when you stayed us; however we apologize that we couldn’t meet your expectations.

We are glad to note that you liked the overall ambience of the Resort.

We will take this opportunity to improve ourselves as per your feedback .Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our amended services.

Warm Regards,
Carmo Barretto
Assistant Vice President
The Lagoona Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 458 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

The resort location is good. The rooms are also clean and pleasent. But the service provided by the staff as well as food is very poor. we stayed for 2 days and we were provided same mashed potatoes with different names on both mornings(it was a buffet). the juice names were always wrong. the juice actually in the container and the name written in front of it never matched for both the days. The taste of food was veryyyyyy average.
But the low point of the trip was when one afternoon we discovered that our bike was knocked over or somebody sat on it and fell in Lagoona parking lot. The handle was broken and there was visible damage to the bike. We reported this to reception and a guy came who just looked at the bike ,chatted with the security ,looked here and there,acted as if concerned and then left. NOTHING WAS DONE ABOUT IT,no one even bothered to ask us about it or didnt even offer us to fix it.
So please dun be fasinated by the grand staircase in the double heighted entrance lobby cause the beauty of the resort ends there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASK1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLagoonaResort, Assistant Vice President at The Lagoona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Lagoona Resort for and sharing your experience. We regret that your stay at our resort was less than perfect. Whilst most of our guests have appreciated the variety in our spread of food during the same period as your stay, we apologize for not being able to meet your expectations.

Thank you for appreciating our rooms and ambience. We do have one of the largest rooms when compared with other similar hotels in Lonavala which provides for stunning views of the surroundings.

We are sorry to hear about the damage to your personal property but as informed by our security staff, the bike toppled because of natural reasons and not because of someone knocking it over. We however regret the incident and will definitely make changes to our parking lot for easy access and parking so that any future incident can be avoided.


Warm Regards,
Carmo Barretto
Assistant Vice President
The Lagoona Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed there in sept 2012. The property is good...the location is not.... It is away from the market and the surroundings are not very nice....The food is OK but the service is not........The staff is not warm and the reception staff is not at all welcoming.....overall not a bad place but no value for money....

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarika N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLagoonaResort, Assistant Vice President at The Lagoona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Sarika,

Thank you for staying at The Lagoona Resort and sharing your experience. We are glad that your stay at our resort was good however we have also made a note regarding the service quality.

While we agree that The Lagoona Resort is 15 mins away from the Lonavala Market, the fact that it is away from the hustle bustle of the market and nested below a beautiful backdrop of the Tungarli Dam is the reason most of our patrons choose to stay with us.

We are glad to note that you liked the overall ambience of the Resort.

Once again, we thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you with better.


Warm Regards,
Carmo Barretto
Assistant Vice President
The Lagoona Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We went for a team outing (half day event) and the arrangement was excellent. The food was excellent, hotel staffs were very cooperative and they always tried their best to make sure that the team enjoyed this event. The POC from Lagoona was Mr Sudhir Panda and he is one of the most courteous and helpful person I have met. Along with Sudhir, Mr Carmo Barreto (AVP) was also very cooperative and he interacted with the team to make sure they get the things they want.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Subhankar_mitra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLagoonaResort, Assistant Vice President at The Lagoona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Subhankar,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Lagoona Resort for your recent business trip and for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you had a memorable stay with us and that our services and amenities were at par with your expectations.

We are delighted to know that you found the arrangement for the team outing to your satisfaction and that the food was as per your taste. We take pride in our efficient and courteous staff and your acknowledgment of the hotel staff as friendly and co-operative is a testimony to our impeccable service.

Thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us. Look forward to serving you again on your next trip.

Warm Regards,
Carmo Barretto
Assistant Vice President
The Lagoona Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

had stayed for 1 day at this hotel, d hotel is made well but the overall staff is ok.... specially the people at the restaurant as when u order for food after 50 minutes waiting n calling dem again to ask how long the food will take i get an answer dat 1 or two things dat ive ordered is not possible for dem to serve.... the room service is horrible, the rooms are nice but not worth the amount they charge.......the bathrooms are ok ... n yeah it takes atleast 2 hrs for d room to get cold as d ac is horrible.........overall terrible hotel n wud not suggest ny1 to stay there

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mihirbmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLagoonaResort, Assistant Vice President at The Lagoona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at The Lagoona Resort and sharing your experience. We regret that your stay at our resort was less than perfect. We were appreciated by most of our guests for the service and food during the same period when you stayed us; however we apologize that we couldn’t meet your expectations.

We are glad to note that you liked the overall ambience, our room and bathroom.

We take this opportunity to express our gratitude for bringing the shortcomings of your stay to our attention and assure you prompt action by setting up the required protocols for food delivery and room service.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you with our amended services.

Warm Regards,
Carmo Barretto
Assistant Vice President
The Lagoona Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Checked in on 30th March 2013, checkin delayed by 40 mins.
decent room but nothing fancy to mention, infact the bathroom door handle was faulty.
entrance door lock was jerky and the door itself seemed in need of repairs(room no.224 btw)

Tall claims stay only claims at lagoona resorts, lonavla. Our 1 night stay there proved to be a complete waste of money. The most important and basic necessity "food" was disastrous. The buffet was pre-dominant with non vegetarian and when we opted to order through a la carte, we were told that it would be served only at the room because it can cause operational issues when a buffet is in progress(never heard this before btw and i have travelled a bit) and we were denied a table at the restaurant. Anyways i took this under my wing and decided to order from the room, however the food woes didn't end here.

We ordered 2 white sauce pastas, paneer hariyali, tomato soup and garlic bread.i was asked if i want it veg and i said yes.
i was told it would take 30 mins for delivery and i agreed to the wait and reminded them that food served must be hot.
After a long long wait of 50 minutes, I received my food.
The white sauce pasta was plain white, no veggies,no pepper, it was cold and pasta was stuck/welded from the long journey it ensued to reach my room.
The soup was salty to the core, no croutons served along with it though the menu mentions it.
Paneer tikka was warm and palatable frankly under the circumstances it tasted like a master chef winner dish.

Net net the lunch served at the room was cold, tasteless and highly disappointing, my question here is if you force the guest to order in their room because you can't manage buffet and ala-carte then at least ensure that food served at the room is not screwed up.

By the way we paid 898 bucks for this unpalatable food.

Part deluxe of my stay is as follows, we were out thru the afternoon and returned late at night ensuring we have dinner outside(courtesy the entire afternoon episode), around 10:40 pm I called the room service and asked them to get me a pot of coffee in my room, after waiting for an hour we figured the coffee ain't coming and retired to bed, and believe it or not the coffee actually never came..this was truly unbelievable.

Breakfast buffet the following morning was actually decent and palatable. We checked out on 31st morning post breakfast. The above feedback was shared with a gentleman named Som who prepared my bill he nodded and apologised but that was about it I doubt there will be any changes at this lagoon.

As a frequent traveller I expect good service when I am paying good money and 6k per night in lonavla is definitely not cheap, pull up your socks team lagoona.

P.S. for people who are looking beyond food. Shower curtains were dirty(black n grimy), floor carpet was clearly not vacuumed in months, extremely limited lighting and it was very inconvenient if you are a person who doesn't like dimly lit rooms. On the upside the balcony offers a great view of the sky and is a relaxing place to be at night.

Best Regards
Ashutosh Raval

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet overall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashutosh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLagoonaResort, Assistant Vice President at The Lagoona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for staying at The Lagoona Resort on your recent trip.

We appreciate the detailed feedback that you have provided of your experience and will assure you of serious steps which will be implemented to arrest a similar occurrence in the future.

Most of our guests, who stayed during the same period as you, were happy with the services provided, but we regret that you had such a negative experience.

Necessary protocols will be put in place for improving the efficiency of our room service and food quality.

Thank you again for your review as it is only through guest feedback that we can raise the bar of our service and hospitality. We hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you a perfect guest experience on your next trip.

Warm Regards,
Carmo Barretto
Assistant Vice President
The Lagoona Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Like one of the reviewers below, we had reserved a room with a 12 noon check-in. We called ahead and confirmed our reservation at 11:30 am. At 3 pm, they still needed 20 minutes to have our room "cleaned". Once we moved into the room, staff kept calling and asking if the cleaning staff were still there - very unprofessional.

The reception desk refused to give us two key-cards for a double occupancy room because they had run short of key-cards. They claim to offer valet parking but the valet was missing during our entire stay. The constantly repeated excuse, for all problems, was that they were full because of a huge crowd from an ongoing meeting but I expect a place that charges so handsomely to be able to deal with a crowd (otherwise they should not offer rooms beyond their service-capacity).

The food was average, with many breakfast items (like scrambled eggs) being plain cold. We asked for a salt shaker and were given one with a broken base so salt kept leaking out. The staff are fairly friendly and the rooms are quite clean and spacious but I simply cannot recommend the Lagoona resort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdrshn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLagoonaResort, Assistant Vice President at The Lagoona Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you for sharing your experience at The Lagoona Resort. We are disappointed to learn about the inconvenience faced by you during the stay. However, it is nice to hear that you liked the rooms, clean and spacious.

Your feedback is important to us that enable us to work towards the shortcomings. We assure that the concerns highlighted by you about the quality of services will be appropriately addressed and such incidents do not occur in the future.

We hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again to experience the best of hospitality with us.

Warm Regards,
Carmo Barretto
Assistant Vice President
The Lagoona Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
1 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
2.4 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 7 in Khandala
852 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Orchard Resort
The Orchard Resort
#11 of 70 in Lonavala
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
1.7 mi away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#5 of 7 in Khandala
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#6 of 70 in Lonavala
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lagoona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lagoona Resort

Address: S No. 55, Tungarli | Tungarli, Lonavala 410403, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lonavala
Price Range: $80 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lagoona Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lagoona Resort, Lonavala-India’s first eco-friendly resort in Maharashtra. Our resort is located in Lonavala near Khandala, on the Pune and Mumbai Express Highway, providing a leisurely escape from the city life. In spite of being on the outskirts, we are well connected with the city and beyond. Each of our 68 well- appointed guest rooms are fully equipped with TV, direct dial telephone, internet connectivity, channel music, mini bar, tea/coffee maker, electronic safe and individual temperature controls, to ensure that you are comfortable. Our all-day dining restaurant, The Patio features mouth-watering dishes from Indian, Asian and Continental cuisines. Our elaborate buffet spreads for breakfast, lunch and dinner. You can indulge in a number of recreational activities such as the indoor ones like the pool, carom, and table-tennis or relax by the outdoor pool-side which comes with an attached baby pool as well.The Lagoona Resort offers the prefect hideaway for a luxurious holiday away from the hustle-bustle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your The Lagoona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lagoona Hotel Lonavala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing