We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor experience”
Review of Star Regency

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lonavala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Star Regency
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A poor experience”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 2 days last month and had an overall poor experience with the staff. We had booked the hotel online a month before the date of travel but when we reached the hotel, they said that the type of room we had booked in not available, hence they will provide us with an upgraded room.
We were led to the "upgraded room". The room had no AC, TV was not working, only one power point was in working condition. Flush was damaged in an overall very dirty bathroom. We complained to the reception asking to be given the exact "AC Executive" room we booked not the "upgraded room". After repeated requests they got us the room. We wondered how the room became available as they had said half an hour ago that they don't have vacant room.

The new room thy provided was just livable. Had a look ate menu and found every item exorbitantly priced. Still ordered some food but then the quality was pathetic. Finally we had to order pizza from Dominos for our dinner.

There's the pool which was the saving grace. It was nice timepass. But if you want to enjoy the pool you better take your own swimwear because the hotel don't sell any rather they provide swimming costume on rent - Rs 50 per piece which you wont rent at any cost as they are dirty and torn (yuck).

For other indoor games - The TT table is decayed by effect of rain and sun as they are kept in open. Same is the case with carrom board.

Overall I won't suggest this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivshekhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    14
    5
    10
See reviews for
13
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We had booked online for our 3d/2n stay. Finding it wasn't dificult, staying and utilising facilities weren't so dificult. But we being eggaterian, food options were less n we couldn't venture out for most of time becoz of rains n lazy feeling. But nevertheless good value for money n no complaints hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsb2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The hotel was really nice and cozy! It was my first trip to lonavala. and after talking to the owner of the hotel 'Mr. Sarab Bhatia' i was really assured of a satisfactory trip!!

Merits of the hotel!
- GOOD ROOM SERVICE
-FOOD WAS GOOD (Had only Breakfsat)
-NEAR TO RAILWAY STATION
-USER FREINDLY STAFFS
-NEAR TO CERTAIN SITES (Market, ryewood Garden, Tungarli Lake, etc.)
-NICE EQUIPPED PLAY AREA

I was on the 2D/1N trip to Lonavala. We hired a tour guide on first day and had a full day site seeing! We had a our dinner had till 3 A.M. were playing Darts-carrom-Table Tennis! There's no restriction of time by the hotel!

Rooms were good and also was the a.c. You could surely spend your time here if u have completed wandering lonavala. Overall hotel is good for stay compared to the charges!

U could see my photo album of lonavala following this link https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.417784844930481.87708.100000969078639&type=1
and you could freely contact me on facebook *(www.facebook.com/hartskaker) if u have any questions/doubts relating to your trip to Lonavala.

Room Tip: I stayed in the standard rooms with no. 103-104 and I really found them good .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarshVardhan_Arya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Average hotel, not worth as what they charge. Room service was nice; we didn't have food here but instead prefered having it outside in a Marwari restuarant 'Purohit' (Very good Veg Food). Quiet place. Walking distance from market place. Better options are available.

Room Tip: Pool facing may be one of the option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GujuMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

One of the Worst Hotels I stayed in my life time. Toilets are filthy , room AC is making horrendous noise with no cooling. Food is the worst part of this Hotel ,even the simple Dal tastes horrible forget about any other complicated food dish.There is no Room Service in their dictionary. Only stay there if you deliberately intend to spoil your Lonavala Holiday.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sridhar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lonavala hotels

mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I booked it through cleartrip and in photos it was looking quite attractive, but actually its not good.
cons:
- Old building
- less facilities
- poor room service, I had to remind them again and again for changing there filthy bedsheets
- dirty rooms.
- a weird smell was coming inside room
- not worth for such a high price

pros:
- close to station
- food is ok
- water pool is properly maintained.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank gravit984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I stayed for 2 days here 17 -19th December, I got a good deal from Cleartrip (standard room @ 1700 app). Though the room as decent (with balcony and view to the swimming pool) but there were two problems. The fan was making sound, wash basin was a not clearing water. Room Service could have been better as for the second day the room was not cleaned even on asking them in the morning, normally this should have been done automatically. The swimming pool is good but gets dirty by the evening because of leaves and mosquitoes. The table tennis was there but balls were almost useless, we asked them to get a new one but they did not, which was again an example of slack of service. We ate two dinners here, food was ok. Location is very good. Its quite and very near to the railway and bus station.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank delhikapoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
0.6 mi away
Lion's Den Hotel
Lion's Den Hotel
#52 of 67 in Lonavala
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Retreat Heritage Lonavala
Retreat Heritage Lonavala
#40 of 67 in Lonavala
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strand Resort (New)
Strand Resort (New)
#57 of 67 in Lonavala
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel The Metropole
Hotel The Metropole
#58 of 67 in Lonavala
40 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#18 of 67 in Lonavala
90 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highland Resort
Highland Resort
#34 of 67 in Lonavala
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Star Regency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Star Regency

Property: Star Regency
Address: Justice Telang Road, Lonavala 410401, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing