We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick Getaway!”
Review of Captan's Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lonavala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Captan's Resort
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We had spotted this place last year while going for a trek to Rajmachi. It looked pretty interesting and we were hoping it was within our budget... and it was!! It may sound a tad expensive at 3800/- a night including all meals and teas/coffees but believe me its worth every penny.

The place is located off the Mumbai Pune expressway and is a bit difficult to reach though at least now they have an unpaved pebble road whereas last year there was nothing. The approach is unconventional but by no means inaccessible. The keeper Mr. Roy was waiting for us on the road itself to ensure we reach without trouble. The place inside is one big farmhouse surrounded by many cottages/rowhouses. The main building is very tastefully done exuding lot of rustic charm. The ground boasts of a swimming pool, rocky trails, nice big yard with sheds, wooden and stone benches. All in all a complete nature lover's paradise. You can spot many songbirds flying all over the place.

We had a deluxe cottage which was separate from the main building and had wooden bed, chairs and a closet. Room also mimics the natural theme seen in the main building. Nice clean bathroom. Towels and soap was provided. Bedsheets were clean and freshly laundered. Room had a porch which was decent. They did seem to have electricity issues with it being cut off at any time during the day or night. There is generator backup but its not very powerful. Rooms do not have TV or telephone which is probably in keeping with their back to nature USP but it can be cumbersome if you are not really looking to get away completely. The main building has a sitting room with TV but its so high that its barely visible. They were very strict about meal timings and switching off the TV at night at 1030 max which I did not appreciate.

The real sweetner was of course the meals which included non-veg and sweet for lunch and dinner. It was nice homely food with lots of choices. Breakfast was aloo parantha and bread omelette which was delicious.

The best part is that they let us checkin early at 9 AM (official time is 10) and check out time is 12 noon which was really convenient if you are travelling from Pune or Mumbai.

My only grouse is (and cant really blame the property for that) the loud music that starts off from the resort right opposite (Upper Deck). They start blaring at 8PM sharp and do not stop till 10PM. And its really loud. Rudely shatters the back to nature myth created around you.

On the whole it was a lovely experience and I would recommend!

Room Tip: Go for Bali cottage if you can afford it. The rooms at the very back should be more quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gl0balDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Captan's Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 22 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited Captan's resort for an evening out, with a wonderful experience of secluded residence with wonderful time. Food was good with lovely dinner and breakfast! The place is very far away from city hussel bussel and a perfect get away.
I will want to go back there again!

Room Tip: #Suit is the best out of all.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neha6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had gone to Captans in September 2012 coz some of our friends had gone earlier and had recommended it. Food was okay and the rooms could do with better maintainence. I am not the picky 5 star type but I yet felt that they should tackle the fungus and mildew better. Approach road is bad but atleast bcoz of that it keeps of the people who just want to party in Lonavala and make a lot of noise. The location is excellent and the bit of how they have built the cottages around the natural vegetation is something really nice. Come to this place with no great expectations and you will really have a nice quiet stay in Lonavala.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noelzach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

Good parts: Nothing

Bad; It is located in the middle of a hill and the approach road is so poor and steep that the resort sends its private vehicle to ferry people from lonavala. The food is ok. The rooms are filled with ants and were a major problem for our baby.

The swimming pool was not operational and we were told that it was under maintenance (seemed like it was under maintenance for months!).

The charges are so high that like other reviewers we too felt cheated. And don't be fooled by the old photos of the resort. There was no water in the lake in the middle of monsoon there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NNJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

hi, this hotel is just a okkish type to hotel and nothing great to stay in, you can have better place to live in.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArpitU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2010

well the place is not easily accesible n ve to take a bumpy ride in private vehicle. the staff is local and hence not very efficient. tho its a good location for outdoor enthusiasts its nt a good place to while away ur time. the pool is badly maintained and ac was nt working. and the worst part is you feel fleeced by d exhorbitant rates de charge.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melaniem59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

Captans resort, khandala is positioned as a family resort, but it is not infrastructurally geared for it. the swimming pool has a blanket of insects and the water stinks. The rooms - especially the much touted - '1st floor captans luxury suite' is a complete disaster. the lights dont function, the jacuzzi cannot take in more than 3 buckets of water due to water shortage and the heater / AC do not function regularly as they do not have any power generation unit. to top it all, they expect to be paid 120USD for a one night stay!!! please avoid staying at this rip-off at any costs.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Prashant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Neel Resort
#6 of 6 in Khandala
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Upper Deck Resort Pvt. Ltd.
0.0 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mystica Resort
Mystica Resort
#3 of 6 in Khandala
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Machan
The Machan
#4 of 67 in Lonavala
879 reviews
0.0 mi away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#18 of 67 in Lonavala
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captan's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captan's Resort

Address: Beyond Thakurwadi Tungarli Dam, Lonavala, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Pune District > Lonavala
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range: $28 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing