We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in market place in Lonavala”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chandralok Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chandralok Hotel
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in market place in Lonavala”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a great hotel just outside the ST station and very close to Railway Station. The hotel is in main market area.

The rooms are clean and neatly decorated. The rooms are specious. The service is prompt and staff is very courteous. This hotel is strictly vegetarian. Gujarathi food is pretty good. We found breakfast is also good.

There is plenty of parking available.

The only downside is that the rooms do not have any view.

Overall if you are looking for a convenient and decent hotel in Lonavala, then Hotel Chandralok is an option.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saps_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    175
    50
    13
    9
See reviews for
146
137
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We had a wonderful monsoon vacation at Chandralok. The hotel was a stone throw away from the railway station and is quite close to the main market place - Prime location. So we could go out on walks even late in the night. The room was clean and breakfast spread(strictly veg) was good. Downside - The rooms were quite small. There is a nice sitout space provided near the reception where you can just relax in the evenings. They also have a swing where you can sit and relax. Reception staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HepsRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
140 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Although there are a lot of hotels in Lonavala, most of them are overpriced as compared to the facilities they offer. However, this place is one of the few VFM (Value for Money) hotels available. The hotel is located close to bus stand and hence easily accessible. Rooms are basic but clean and provide all amenities. Being a pure veg hotel, for lunch there is thali which is really good and the service is prompt. Overall, a good place to stay for a day or two without pinching your pocket!!!

Room Tip: The premium rooms are better as compared to the executive or deluxe rooms; so if you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mesh_2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Location : Located right opposite to the Lonavala ST stand, in heart of city. Good parking facility as well.
Rooms : The standard room we booked met all our expectations in terms of amenities and cleanliness. The TV and the bathroom fittings were excellent. Another positive factor was the round the clock availability of hot water. Only shortcoming was the fact that the room was quiet small in size.
Food : Excellent in every way. We had their Gujarathi thali which was top notch ( Rs 280 on weekend). Also had their breakfast ( included in the tariff) which was quite satisfactory in terms of taste and variety.
Service : Another area where Chandralok excels itself ! The service was exemplary and the staff /management were courteous in every way.
Tariff : At Rs 2500 per night ( breakfast included) one of the reasonable hotels in Lonavala /Khandala

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeenuTej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my family in 2nd week of nov, Hotel rooms are very clean, but bit small. Its in center of city next to bus stand so you don't need to worry about transport. Hotel staff is very nice. Only thing you will miss is good views from hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NitinGPune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Hotel is ideally located and very close to the market area. If you are looking to stay away from the hustle bustle then this might not be the location for you.
Rooms are well furnished and well equipped with the amenities. Staff is very prompt and eager to serve you all the time. The breakfast served was very good. Even the lunch/dinner we had was decent with wide range of options.
One thing we found weird about the rooms were the bathroom is entirely made of glass. :)
Would definitely recommend this place and good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hamsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasai, Maharashtra, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Chandralok Hotel is located near the Lonavala market (yet away from crowdy areas) enabling easy access to tourists to shop n site seeing. It seems just another hotel when you look at it but it turned out to be a pleasant n better than expected experience for us.

Rooms are good and neat especially premium rooms n suites are very vibrant; even the executive rooms are well furnished. Although there seems some pests issue (ants) that needs attention.

The hotel offers good variety of veg food over n above it's typical yet mouth watering Gujarathi Thali. Breakfast included multiple snacks as well.

The service is quite prompt for a budget hotel like this. The staff (both managerial n room service) are always there to serve you.

But you will be disappointed if you are looking for some fun at the hotel as it does not have swimming pool or outdoor games or lawn, etc. They have a passage where you can play some carom n tt.


Overall, we enjoyed our 2 days stay at the hotel and will surely consider this one during our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose from Premium rooms or Premium Suits. Ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ratnesh_Jain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lonavala hotels
0.1 mi away
Picaddle - The Luxury Boutique Resort by Meritas
0.4 mi away
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
Citrus Hotel Lonavala
#5 of 67 in Lonavala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
1.2 mi away
Valvan Village Resort
Valvan Village Resort
#18 of 67 in Lonavala
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Dukes Retreat
The Dukes Retreat
#1 of 6 in Khandala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
2.5 mi away
Zara's Resort
Zara's Resort
#2 of 6 in Khandala
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lonavala - Under the Over, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chandralok Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chandralok Hotel

Property: Chandralok Hotel
Address: Near Lonavala Bustand, Lonavala 410401, India
Location: India > Maharashtra > Lonavala
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Lonavala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chandralok Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chandralok Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing