We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and beautiful - and great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
Ranked #20 of 210 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed at Maria for a couple of nights recently as part of a tour of Kerala. The welcome from Rema and the other staff was very warm, the house - in a lovely and peaceful setting - is beautiful and the other rooms fine, and the meals were extremely good. A great spot to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westminster2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 122 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2008

Myself and Bhuvana were badly in need of a break from our routine. I was looking for some escape!. Dr.Ajit of DDMRC of Trivandrum introduced me to this resort. In fact at the biggining my wife was saying that we a taking a risk of loosing the holiday. Only after coming here that we realised that Ajit has recommended the right choice for us.
The hospitality, the tranquility, the scenary, the environment,the personnel, the landscaping and the rooms are just excellent.
I will definitely reccoment this resort to any one who wants a break from their routine.

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fantasyganavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

I can say that our stay of 6 days (5 nights) at the Maria Heritage Homes was by far the best amongst all our previous holidaying. We were 2 families (4 adults and 4 kids). Me and my family reached there from Abu Dhabi while my friend and his family joined us from Bangalore.

The architecture of the property is imperial with wooden ceilings and fine carvings. The furniture is majestic, made of heavy teak wood and walnut colour. The resort is on the bank of the famous backwaters of Kerala. The front side of the resort faces the backwaters and lush green paddy fields sprawl on the back side. The paddy fields are spread over a huge area and give a feeling of the green fields touching the blue horizon.

We enjoyed swing on the hammocks tied to the trees in the garden. Kids enjoyed the tree house and playing in the gardens. We requested for a bon-fire dinner the first day. The staff was so very co-operative that they made excellent arrangement. We danced and sang around the fire. The food was typical Kerala delicacies. Since we are vegetarian, we did not have many options, though the cook tried his best to keep us happy.

We had a Kerala massage session the next day. The massage was not so impressive. After massage in the morning, we requested for few water pipes at our disposal in the gardens. We had a fun filled water-fight with those water pipes in the garden. Kids enjoyed so much so that they wanted to play this water-fight daily. It was like playing holi (Indian festival of colours). The next day was Christmas eve. We went to a market across the back waters and bought lot of fire crackers from a shop near the church. That night it felt like we celebrated Diwali (another Indian festival where we fire crackers). Next day we were taken for a trip in a house boat from the backwaters in front of the resort. The full day trip introduced us to the scenic beauty of Kerala and the experience of the "Venice of the east". We had lunch on the boat. The day after, we were again taken in a small boat in the backwaters. The boat was rowed by a boatman. We had lots of fresh coconut water on the boat and these coconuts were plucked freshly from the coconut trees in the Maria resort.

We were also taken for a drive to a Church (oldest church in the region), a small market near the church and a beautiful beach which was few kms. from the Maria resort. They have their own Inova SUVs which made our journey very comfortable.

The staff was excellent and always ready to pamper you. The kids had a real fun time with no restrictions on them going around the resort as it is very safe and secure. Last but not the least, the package we were offered was very economical.

We look forward to going there again, probably this time during rainy season.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jkumbhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

We came to Kerala with the intention of finding some relaxation and Maria Heritage certainly helped us to achieve this. If you come here, Rema and her team will make sure that your every need is catered for. The food is absolutely fabulous and if you have a special dietary requirement they will bend over backwards to cater for that too.
The property is full of Indian antiques and it is immaculately kept - the gardens are beautiful and with a couple of hammocks it is easy to while away whole afternoons.
The property itself is nestled between a paddy field, flanked by bamboo and palm trees and a large river bustling with life from a large local community.
Maria Heritage will arrange various boat trips and we can also recommend an afternoon on a house boat from Aleppey.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank withybed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2008

i could'nt have asked for more!!!! situated in midst of beautiful paddy fields and the backwaters..the maria heritage is an extremely peaceful place.......an ideal getaway from the hotch-potch of city life.the ambience out there is quite homely and the staff is extremely helpful and kind.
i visited the place along with my family last year and we didnt even realise how our time passed............

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Viky14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Wow !!!
Those were our first words when we saw the location and view of Maria resort. I stayed with my family there for a week . It was a great life time experience to have a stay at Maria it ws like a home for us in beautiful Kerala called GOD's own country. At Maria we really enjoyed the ambiance as well as delicious home made food. It was really very well maintained resort. It has very beautiful architecture and interior design. The tour was planned nicely considering visitor's interest. Staff at Maria was very helpful and energetic. My son really enjoyed the the stay at Maria and we will never forget those sweet memories. Beautiful scenic view from Maria and paddy fields were awesome. We will definately going to plan one more visit with all my family members......VRMore

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Baiju08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

The most exotic resort destination in Kerala where we can enjoy the natural beauty. The most attracting factor is the architectural beauty, the handiques gallery and especially the resorts location. Its on the bank of Pampa River. The exact place where we can relax and enjoy the luxury of homely stay. Yes, We really enjoyed our days that spend overthere......
SJ, Abudhabi

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sajiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
The Royale Gardens Hotel & Resorts
26.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
7.6 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#19 of 70 in Alappuzha
165 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverine Resort
Riverine Resort
#9 of 177 in Alappuzha
106 reviews
9.3 mi away
Palm Beach Resort
Palm Beach Resort
#29 of 70 in Alappuzha
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Heritage Homes and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Heritage Homes and Spa

Address: Pulinkunnu | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 210 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $46 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly, backwater boutique homestay property by the river bank in Pulincunoo, Alleppey, Kerala, India, furnished with Antique art furniture and art from South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maria Heritage Homes and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Heritage Homes And Spa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing