We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Cancellation - Great Support & Cooperation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
Ranked #15 of 199 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangalore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Last Minute Cancellation - Great Support & Cooperation”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms.We had to cancel our trip one day in advance and as per cleartrip cancellation policy you will not get any refund unless cancelled 5 days in advance but Rema Mohan the manager came forward to help us and told we can come and stay anytime with this booking and won't be charged extra if available.
I am really not sure if i can really go and stay but this gesture goes to show the hospitality which we missed by not making it to maria
WE Thank Ms Rema Mohan for her wonderful and support

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Sushil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The Maria Heritage Homes and Spa made us feel instantly welcome and at home. We had a harrowing experience on a night bus, and I was recovering from being sick and 48 hr. fast. I honestly think the fresh cold mango juice (from their property) upon arrival was one of the most satisfying things I have ever tasted! Rema and Jimmy were excellent, showing us the stunning property, arranging internet access, tailoring meals to our pescatarian needs and taking us for a memorable early morning walk around town. Our driver Abi was reliable, knowledgeable and friendly. Just be aware that there is no hot water (in the summer at least) and that a home-stay is not a hotel, so you are taken better care of, but there is less privacy.

Room Tip: THe top floor "honeymoon" suite is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabethorej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at Maria this past May with some friends. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful! The food was unbelievable. It is sandwiched between a water-way and a rice patty. The gardens are beautiful. Maria set up our entire 13 day trip to India as well from Cohin to Bangalore. The drivers were extremely reliable and did a great job suggesting sites to see. It was one of the most memorable trips of our lives!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at Maria and enjoyed the company of Rema and the peacefulness of this place in February. It is true it is costly, but we never regretted staying there one bit. The paddy fields on one side of the grand patio, the peaceful backwaters on the other, the laid back atmosphere in the place, the chirping of birds all day, the hammocks, the pampering with some Ayurvedic massages and the delicacies Jimmy prepared every night was definitely worth it and way more than I was expecting.

Rema is unbelievably warm, friendly and so interesting to talk to. She was really helpful to us in every way --she even arranged a car service for us to go all the way to Thekkady almost overnight and made a discount!!

The house itself is a true Keralan piece of work.

Totally recommendable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We went there with my family- parents, sister, wife and our 2 small boys. What we all distinctly remember is the lip smacking homely food and the warm service of Rama, the manager there. We went there during the monsoon just after some heavy downpour the previous day. The roads to Maria were flooded but we had the experience of our lifetimes cos instead of being driven to the resort, we were transferred from the car to a boat which took us all the way to the resort on the River Pamba. Maria is not a luxury resort -it does not have a swimming pool, a bar or a kids play area. But the amazing thing is that all of us from my 70 year old father to my 3 year old son found enough avenues to enjoy ourselves . The Ayurvedic spa is very basic and there is scope for improvement here. Rama also managed to organise a house boat for the day at a very good rate. The highlight of my holiday was going to the market with the chef on a country boat to buy fish and vegetables for the day.
Though most people stay away during the Monsoon, I think it's the best time go there - we almost got the resort to ourselves and experiencing the south west monsoon at Maria is almost surreal.
Go there if you are bored of going to the usual 5 star hotels and chain resorts and want to experience the real backwaters of Kerala.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BinuJacobGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Me and my wife are the senior citizens were on a move to explore God's Own Country as they say it. We were in Allepy on 26th October 2012 and we selected this place to have a Traditional Kerala Home Stay.
1. This is an excellent property on the back waters having huge campus and cottages of different category; 2. All the cottages have excellent facilities with AC and rooms are self content; 3. We were given warm welcom with cofee; 4. Food was served as per our request-non-veg homely made food;5. Beautiful view of back waters and a Church on the other side;

Room Tip: Traveller can have a wonderful stay if they have the vehicle for their use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kochitty A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

In maria heritage v had a great time there with superb service and quality of room n food. It was like a heaven for us to live there. I would like to visit it again. With affordable price it gives service of 5 star

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Pranavkumar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
26.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.3 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
678 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
341 reviews
7.2 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
373 reviews
8.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Heritage Homes and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Heritage Homes and Spa

Property: Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
Address: Pulinkunnu | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 199 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly, backwater boutique homestay property by the river bank in Pulincunoo, Alleppey, Kerala, India, furnished with Antique art furniture and art from South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maria Heritage Homes and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Heritage Homes And Spa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing