We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful - inside and out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
Ranked #14 of 193 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful - inside and out”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Maria Heritage has everything you need to make a memorable trip. Understated and classy interiors, gorgeous surroundings and the caring, hospitable staff will make your stay all the more relaxing. I was blown away the first time I visited and was all the more pleased the second time around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It was an excellent stay at Maria Heritage. Very Good Ambience, well maintained and clean both inside and outside. I would recommend this as a place to stay and relax. The food was very good and was homely preparation. The services offered were exceeding expectations and my kudos especially to the Manager Rema Madam whom were very courteous and was catering to the needs of the inmates. Everything was organised. The ambience of Maria Heritage was really exotic and the canoe boat ride through the canals was really mind blowing. You will get many frames in an around Maria if you are interested in Photography. The staff at Maria was very friendly and we feel being not at a home stay or resort, but at home far away from home. Very Calm and Tranquile environment where you can relax and enjoy. The rooms were spacious and was equipped with all necessary things. I feel that its not a resort, but a Home Resort.
To be honest, I would certainly visit Maria again and would recommend to all my friends.
Good Luck to the Maria Team and well done.......!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Maria Heritage in April during a friends wedding that was held nearby. The resort on the whole is excellent and the feeling you get from the staff and team even if you're alone is makes you think you belong to a big happy family. Home cooked food, amazing greenery and lighting. The water and houseboats just a few feet away make for some impressive scenery.

I can't recommend this resort enough if you just need a quiet place to unwind and relax. I look forward to going there again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are obviously the best, beautifully furnished with antique furniture.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My husband and I were in Aleppey for 3 days and after a bug ridden house boat night, we were looking forward to some tranquility and a clean shower!

Maria offers beautifully decorated and spacious rooms with a charming balcony looking over the immaculate gardens. It is the perfect getaway to relax, read a book and admire the views.

We did feel it was a little pricey and from what I understand it is preferable to book online in advance rather than just showing up and paying the full price.

Also, ask to check out the massage rooms before hand as it is quite basic and far from the luxurious pictures given in the catalogue.

Room Tip: Book the accommodation online in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulzSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Pros
Very helpful manager and team
Set in a very peaceful location on the backwaters by a village 10km from Alleppey
Free upgrade from standard room to the main house - lovely ac room with patio
The decor in the main house is beautiful and the garden very tranquil
Boat ride through the backwaters organised and left from the front door
Buffet dinner with all the other guests made for a lovely evening
Choice of local Keralan or continental breakfast
Nice walk around the local village easy to do
Free wifi in the garden near the office
Taxi organised for our onward journey
Room cleaned daily

Cons
Massage and spa area below the exceptional quality of the rest of the house and gardens which was a little disappointing. Suggest ask to see beforehand if thinking of booking a massage and make your own decision as comment above simply our own personal view.

Overall an excellent place to stay and highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonners70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, CA USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This is the place to stay. Spacious rooms with pvt bath, AC, great food, gracious host, garden. Quiet and charming. I walked to a perfect church, down pathways to rice paddies and backwater neighborhoods.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katya10California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This was our last hotel in a 2 month trip to India - it was perfect. We had a lovely double room with AC and included meals - the food was delicious! Some of the best we had in India. The manager and chef were super and gave us all their recipes. The gardens are pretty and the house is between paddy fields and the river. Beautiful location. The main building is full of antiques, nicely decorated and completely serene. A really special place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
5.3 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
26.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
7.2 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 193 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
8.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kadavil Lakeshore Resort
Kadavil Lakeshore Resort
#24 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Heritage Homes and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Heritage Homes and Spa

Property: Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
Address: Pulinkunnu | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 193 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly, backwater boutique homestay property by the river bank in Pulincunoo, Alleppey, Kerala, India, furnished with Antique art furniture and art from South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Maria Heritage Homes and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Heritage Homes And Spa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing