We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean and accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
Ranked #14 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Basic but clean and accomodating”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Collection from Airport was great, even though it was the onam festival period (something not mentioned when booking trip). Rooms were spacious, beds very hard, thin mattresses, local church with very loud speakers was blasting tunes due to festival from 5:30am. Took the inclusive boat trip, 2 hours, around the local village, it was a rowing boat with a chap at back with oars, he would cough up and spit in river every 5 mins which i know is accepted in some cultures, just hard to listen to for 2 hours. The whole boat journey we were (as 2 white western ladies and the only non indians we encountered the whole trip) stared at like a pair of circus freaks, kids running to the next houses to tell them we were coming, this made us feel very uncomfortable about stepping foot outside the resort for rest of trip, during this boat trip we encountered people washing themselves/their clothes and their kitchen pots in the green river. The manager was accomodating, she offered to fill the kids pool for us, sadly wasnt quite expecting it to be filled with water from the river! It seemed to be a mission to buy any diet drinks in Kerela, and no alcohol was available at the resort, when there was so little else to do, it would have been nice to have known that alcohol was so hard to come by, or perhaps the manager was not that keen on having it, for religious reason? I am not sure, either way if you run a holiday guest house i dont think its unreasonable to offer or at least advertise its NOT available. The rooms should have been cleaned each day, however we didnt get this service during our stay at all. The chef was accomodating as other reviews have mentioned, obviously mostly local cuisine, which was tasty but not varying much unless we specifically requested. We found it rather odd that the manager would hovver over us while eating asking if the food was OK, but i cant fault her willingness to please. The TV had as one would expect a host of local channels, but only 3 in english, BBC News, Discovery (which was a very poor signal) and HBO. Normally in a review things like TV channels wouldnt be mentioned but after how we felt when we ventured out, we didnt have much else to do. The Spa ! well i can only say a hut in the grounds containing a wooden bench and plastic sheet over (2 rooms) with a wash down area containing a bucket and water, doesnt really count as a spa. The massage given was inclusive also. we were stripped naked, and massaged front and back by oil that smelt like curry infused cooking oil, then we were soaped down by hand by the masseuse in the wash area, the whole experience - for me was quite disturbing, apologies to anyone who is used to this kind of massage, but i am certainly not. The manager herself got up at 5:30am to say goodbye, a nice touch, but i am just somewhat surprised on trip advisor that every other review of this place is so positive, their reviews are the only reason we came. I have travelled on a truck through rwanda/uganda among other places so im not unfamiliar with other ways of life, but ive never been anywhere where i felt like an alien, not the fault of the resort, but Im afraid i wont be coming back and i will do a lot more research in future

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
timmyjt, Owner at Maria Heritage Homes and Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear HS,
Thank you for your review of my homestay property, and heres my reply to your comments...although late, but I felt it needs to be addressed appropriately.
I am glad that you do a lot of research as you stated before you go on a visit..but if you did, you would also know that it was the Onam festival at the time of your travelling? and what was the main purpose of visiting Kerala and staying in a homestay, if not to experience the culture within the comforts of a home away from home? So I hope you did take the pains to understand what the Onam festival was about, since you were in the middle of it, and the whole of Kerala celebrating, regardless of religion or caste....The noise,the people are all part of the culture and the way people live there....which if you were not interested in experiencing, a homestay in a village should not have been your choice of stay...perhaps a hotel in the city would have been ideal...?
Was it the first time you were looked at by locals in all your travels elsewhere? its very natural for locals to do that almost anywhere for anyone frankly...staying in a hotel away from villages, maybe a better option to avoid such situations ;-)
Very unfortunate for the local boat driver chap....perhaps he had a sore throat..we will check such things more stringently...
Again people washing themselves, their pots are all part of the culture of the village...which you may choose to avoid by staying a city hotel..;-)
We are not allowed to serve alcohol under strict instructions from authorities and this is the case with any homestay, however guests may buy it themselves and consume it, which was an option offered to you as well.
As for the Manager hovering..it was just a sign of wanting to be available at all times...which i understand maybe overwhelming for guests and she will be advised accordingly.
You are staying at a homestay, by the back waters and most people come here to relax, read, dream, rejuvinate..lie in a hammock perhaps...and not really to watch TV, and for those who really must, just enjoy what channels are available....
As part of your research..did you check into Ayurveda, a 3000 year old practice of healing? The massage you took was an Ayurvedic herbal type, whereby the oils used are all derived from purely organic herbs and its unfortunate that you cant accept the natural effervescence of such medicinal herbs ;-)
Once again..its unfortunate that, what should have been a homely experience of people, culture, traditions turn out be be alien & unaccommodating, while 100s have had a ethereal time here and continue to do so...
Wish you all the best..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    21
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
38
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here fro juts 1 night as i was there fro a weekend break.

The location of teh hotel is lsightly far from the main allepy town but once you arrive there , youw ill feel like being at home. The home was surrounded by paddy fields and river pampa.

The heritage house is 300 years old, kerelean style home with slight refurbishmentd one to build teh cottages, we stayed in deluxe cottages . The room decor is kerelean in style . The entrace and reception area is filled with antiques from mattencherry and pondicherry . Some furnitures are very old and teh paints are from fruit extracts .

The staff was very pleasant and hospitable. Food was delicious. We tasted traditional kerelean food appam . They arranged a boat ride for us at the backwaters at a very reasonable rate . the heritage home has a library with games to play and kids pool. Its a good place to go and spend days with family. Very good place if one wants to go and relax . the manager ms rema mohan is very amiable .

Room Tip: stay ibnd eluxe rooms or the granery room ( heriatge block)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuhinaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

This hidden gem is situated in one of India's most beautiful cities. Spacious, tastefully decorated rooms give us a chance to relax while the polite and friendly staff assisted us with our every request. Their chef can cook up just about anything you desire but I highly recommend he surprise you with a variety of traditionally Keralite dishes. You must take a day to experience one of their signature houseboats that will take you on a journey through the backwaters of this gorgeous location. While we got a chance to take in the culture we were treated to a fresh and scrumptous meal on board.

There aren't enough good things to say about this place. We've been twice in 2010 and will be heading back at least once every couple of months.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gcolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Maria Heritage Homestay is a wonderful place to stay. The facilities are excellent and the house itself is a haven for weary travellers. The staff are excellent and so welcoming.
Truly recommend this homestay to everyone!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnapandCrackle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary Islands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Stayed here with my husband during our 7 week self-arranged trip in India. This place is truly for relaxation. The decor is luxurious - especially the huge four poster bed. Our spacious room had french windows leading to our private porch from where you can look out onto the picturesque Kerala backwaters. The food served here was delicious, good quality and plenty of variety. Friendly professional staff made our stay unforgettable. Everything is done here to make your visit memorable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lyndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2011

If you visit Kerala, you must stay for at least a couple of days at Maria Heritage Homes. Situated in the beautiful back waters of Kerala and surrounded by rice paddies and lush gardens, this is the place where you will feel at home.

I had visited Kerala with my family and stayed here for two days. The staff was hospitable and welcoming. Mrs Rema organized great boat rides and Abhilash was a wonderful tour guide.

Rooms, interiors, gardens, food .. everything was so wonderful that we didn’t want to come back.

I would recommend this place to everyone whether you go with friends or family.. Perfect place to enjoy Nature.. 

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sezashima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2010

On arrival at Maria Heritage resort. I felt like what a maharaja at his country palace must have felt like. Rama and the staff made us feel as if the place was our own. They were attentive, welcoming, frendly and hospitable, needless to say with four teenagers in our company !!!! but the staff always had a smile for everyone.
My wife and I plan on making Maria a regular retreat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locations005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
5.3 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
664 reviews
26.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
7.2 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
796 reviews
5.0 mi away
Our Land Island Backwater Resort
4.2 mi away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#28 of 195 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Heritage Homes and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Heritage Homes and Spa

Property: Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
Address: Pulinkunnu | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An eco-friendly, backwater boutique homestay property by the river bank in Pulincunoo, Alleppey, Kerala, India, furnished with Antique art furniture and art from South India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Maria Heritage Homes and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Heritage Homes And Spa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing