We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on Earth - one of the most beautiful places ever seen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2009

Kondai Lip was definitely the most wonderful experience we had on our Kerala trip, and honestly one of the best I ever had on my trips through Asia!
In few words: The service that was even better than in some 5*-hotels I stayed in the past, and the location was of an undescribable beauty.

Just don’t know to begin: The location on a backwater island was far from any other resort and only surrounded by prawn farms and coconut grooves, very beautiful, relaxing and peaceful. The wooden bungalows were very comfortable and clean, with cosy rooms and perfect mattresses, from the terrace you had a beautiful view on the backwaters. The backwater villages around where still untouched by tourism (not comparable to Alleppey!), no children begging for pens, extremely nice people, some of them seemed to not having seen any Western people before in their live.

We had many different experiences with food in Kerala - very good and bad, but this was definitely the best: Very fresh and full of local specialities we did not find in other places (we even returned to Kondai Lip on our way to the airport just to enjoy the yummy Prawn Curry another time!) We had an Ayurvedic rejuvenation package for nearly one week: extremely plesasant in very relaxing surrounding - we couldn’t wait for the next massage (Ayurvedic nurse Mini’s hands even spirit off my mum’s migraine, she made a really good job - we still miss your massages and heart-rending smile, Mini!)

But that what remained most in our mind was the staff. From the first day we felt like adopted to a Keralan family, the service was very intimate and Manager Renji Paul anticipated every wish, organized any tour, took care of us all the time as if we where the only guests :). But at the same time the service was discreet and you had your privacy whenever you wanted. There where many honeymooners from Northern India coming to the resort as it was perfectly made for couples, but I would even go there as a single traveller it was so beautiful! And the price was really low compared to the very high standard.

I do not agree with the reference of “SMGLondon“ that there is not a lot to do. There was much to visit nearby: The beautiful old church (seemed from the Portuguese era) and village of Ezhupunna, the backwater villages around, the people fishing nearby, the beach just a short boat ride away, toddy tappers, and Cochin is only, I think, 18 kilometers (45 minutes) away, perfect for a day trip. We stayed six days in the Kondai Lip Resort and would have wished to stay more time as we could not see all. But we are sure that we will return soon!

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kitti1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 455 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2009

Our stay was very nice. the service was great. The food was excellant. This is a small, only 9 room resort. very quiet place. we went on a free sunset motor boat ride to the beach was memorable. you will get to see the small villeges and homes along the canal. Room was comfortable and the manager was able to give extra attention. The Internet service was availble upon request but was slow.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2009

We booked a 3 day get away trip for my folks, my sister, my husband and myself during our visit to Kerala in Dec 08. We spent the first night on a house boat and the seond at Kondai Lip.

I must say that it took aages to find this resort as it is so badly sign posted and even the locals were confused. The short boat ride to the actual resort from the road adds a little charm to the place but in the noon sun was a bit unbearable. The place is made up for 4 or 5 cabins with one main open eating area. It is pretty bare and there is not much to do other than relax. The rooms are big and comfy, there are wooden sun beds on the veranda and hammocks in the yard. It is really quiet and serene.

The food was rather expensive and nothing wonderful. We had a bone to pick with them when we ordered a fish molee to share and it arrived with ONE small piece of fish. The portions are small but tasty.

The staff are extremely helpful giving us toothpaste since we all forgot to bring any and helping us with other random room queries.

We were lucky that we only got to go on the second boat ride which was exactly timed with the sunset and was very picturesque. The boat is so noisy though which takes away some of the ambience and if you were unlucky as I was to pick the seat at the back, the smell of diesel is quite overpowering.

My husband tried the ayurvedic massage and felt it was pretty overpriced for the massage he got.

I would recommend this to anyone who wants to relax, catch up on sleep and arb around. There is really not much to do.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SMGLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaisakh, Manager at Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback on tripadvisor following your stay on 2009.

From your review it is clear that Kondai lip is a perfect place to relax from the hectic daily work schedule for one who mends for relaxing. The unique tranquility of our resort and our sublime surroundings brings our esteemed guests an exceptional memorable experience.

When I am responding to this review after 5 years with almost happiness we had made the following changes:-

1. Sign boards in almost all the confusing junctions.

2. We had bought a big new boat with roof cowered and have a capacity upto 30 pax.it has an inboard diesel engine so no smoke inside the cabin & less pollution.

3.Currently we haven’t increased the price more than 15% from the last 5 years ie, full body massage with steam bath Rs.990.including all the taxes (Duration 1 Hrs)

4. We had added few packages highlighting activities .Guests can choose whatever as per the interest.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your future visit.
Thank you once again for your constructive comments and please feel free to contact me personally so that I can assist you with the booking.

Warm regards,

VAISHAKH GEORGE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

This is a heritage resort with all wooden decor. The cottages were amazing and absolutely clean. The staff was very friendly as well. The karimeen pollichathu was absolutely amazing.

DO NOT try any chapatis or rotis they are more like papad. The veg food and chicken dish was a big letdown. The massage (male) was a big letdown as well. They have a sunset boat ride. But the boat ride starts at 4pm itself when it is still hot. The sunset boat rides should be timed with sunset and not just become boat rides.

The ambience of the hotel is nice. The location and area is nice. There can be more activities that can be added. But from relaxation perspective it is a very good place. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jshardul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2007

I have just returned from a two week trip to Kerala. It was a truly amazing experience. We stayed in the Kondai Lip for three nights before moving around the country. The kondai lip is made up of individual wooden cottages. The hotel is set on a small island in the middle of the backwaters.

The staff are wonderful: Stanlin, Soja, Christian and Martin and the food is really good. Such good value for money. the scenery is truly out of this world. I recommend this hotel as you will really enjoy your stay here.

From Alappuzha, we drove across country to Thekkady in the Western Ghats. Another lovely place. We sailed on Lake Periyar, scouting for wildlife; we rode on an elephant, and met a wonderful local man who invited us to his house to dine with his wife and three children.

From Thekkady, we drove across country to Fort Cochin, yes it was in the city but worth taking the local bus (Rupees5) to MG Road to shop. I bought some amazing things for a couple of pounds. Fantastic. Make sure you move off the beaten track to dine in the Family Restaurants. this is where the Indians eat: good food at cheap prices. Three of us would dine for approximately £2.

We then drove up to Alleppey and spent 24 hours on a house boat. Another fantastic time; tranquil with brilliant food cooked in the tiny kitchen area. Make sure you swim in the back waters, fantastic!

Finally, we drove to Kovalam and spent the last week down at the beach. I loved India and everything about it. We made some great friends, with one couple inviting us to stay with them next year.

We also sponsored two girls from a back water village to continue their education. We have also adopted a school where we have agreed to send £100 per month to help the children.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank Amorkor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clubrolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Celles avec vue sur la rivière
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lmvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
686 reviews
14.9 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
611 reviews
13.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
711 reviews
21.0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
183 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort

Address: Karumanchery Holiday Resorts Pvt Ltd | Ezhupunna South PO, Alappuzha 688537, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $61 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn off the highway to Alleppey, onto a narrower road that winds its way through sleepy hamlets, going past prawn and shrimp farms and submerged fields of paddy. You gradually begin to feel the overwhelming presence of water. At times in the course of the journey it seems that for an instant one has dropped below the waterline. "Kondai Lip" Set amidst palms and lush tropical vegetation, traditional air conditioned cottages with canal facing sit outs, built with laterite and wood, elegantly furnished and equipped with all modern amenities. Just 55 km from Cochin International Airport and 18 kms towards Fort Cochin.Having its own Ayur health care Centre with Green Leaf accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing