We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God's Own Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“God's Own Resort”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Kondai Lip was the second resort my wife and I stayed in on our trip to Kerala. The first was near Munnar. Had gone there after going through the reviews on this website. It is as serene as you see it online or probably even better. It is cut off from the mainland by a few meters and you be ferried to the resort on a wooden boat.

We were warmly welcomed with a refreshing pomegranate drink. Then we were showed our room, which was an absolute delight. Everything was mint fresh and impeccably clean. The room was sufficiently big, too. The most amazing thing is it looks like a typical Kerala home of the olden times. I being a Keralite myself, brought up in Delhi, was transported back to the period when I used to visit my ancestral home during my annual school vacations.

The green area around the resort is strikingly beautiful, with coconut trees and various plants, and with the view of a water pool straight in front of us.

The staff is courteous and service, faultless. We also enjoyed the tasty buffet breakfast that had plenty to offer.

Superb stay overall.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibus316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    119
    37
    4
    5
See reviews for
166
193
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went in Monsoon July 2013, so it was off season. The resort was not fully functional as maintenance and other off season work was going on. Inspite of this, we had a wonderful stay of 2 days. the resort is untouched by civilization as is evident as soon as you see that there is no way to enter except by a canoe. the staff is very courteous and helpful. we had to place our orders before 4 in the evening as all the produce had to be acquired fresh fom the village. the food was excellent. we did use the fishing rods and paddle boats provided by the hotel in their own lagoons. the husband caught 4 fish, and grinned like a cheshire cat for the next 4 days, i did not catch anything. but we had a great and very memorable stay.the rooms were designed to mimic an old fashioned cottage and did a very good job.
Do be ready for mosquitoes.

Room Tip: All rooms are great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshimaChakrabarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night, 3 day stay at Kondai Lip. The Indian food, prepared after our menu selection, was excellent. The area is beautiful - great for birding, relaxation on the beautiful grounds, hiking along the fish ponds of the area, traveling in boats along the Backwaters. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. A great destination to relax away from the crowds and noise of large Indian cities. This is a three star destination; there is occasional loss of power - generator kicks in until grid power returns. Cottages may have 2-3 adjoining rooms; with en suite baths and nice front porch to sit out and enjoy the scenery and solitude.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Resort is great with vast open spaces, a real peaceful stay.
But the BOAT RIDE ( SO CALLED BOAT CRUISE) is a real dampener. There is One Fast motor boat is parked at the Entry gate, and it Looks or implied that the Boat cruise will be a private one on that motor boat for a single family. But we got a REAL SLOW OLD BOAT.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAJNEESH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed here for 1D/1N. The place was good with beautiful backwater.
In the room we can find some lizards as its wooden cottage but had nice experience with the greenery and backwaters all around.
The food was mind blowing and the service here is outstanding with smile by all the crew.
It would be better if we have some more options in the breakfast menu. As it was with kerala menu but it would be good if some other menu was also there.
We've been given pedal boat and fishing sticks for fishing for free which many resorts don't have this facility which they charge for these small things too. Service was good with All Smiles
Overall Felt happy and was good experience staying here in Kondai Lip.
Last but not least excellent Service by the people in Kondai Lip.

Room Tip: Can opt for the rooms nearby the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil_Ragi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a beautiful resort surrounded by backwaters and has some 10-12 individual wooden cottages spread over greenery and backwaters. The last 100 metres access to the resort is by a small boat which picks you up and drops you in the resort.

I booked this as part of the tour package and so do not know the money spent on the stay, but I felt that it was worth......Breakfast was included in the stay and was decent. We had lunch and dinner at the hotel and it was good value for money.

In the evening, there was a sightseeing trip organized to the beach (as part of the package) and this was also very nice. For people who want Kerala massage, there are options available (need to book in advance - at least 6-8 hrs).

I would recommend a stay for a day for all who are travelling to God's Own Country - Kerala...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEVURA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We traveled 150 kms and reached Kondai Lip. Could not get lunch when we reached around 3 or 3.30 pm. Only got some snacks to eat. Plus in night there were lots of mosquitoes in restaurant as this is open. Got scared due to Lizards in the bathroom. Breakfast was not having choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnilChaplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaisakh, Manager at Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is with sincere apology that I am writing to you today as I am saddened to read your posting and the fact that we have failed to meet your expectations during your last holidays with us.

I have noted your points of concern and wanted to thank you for sharing them with us.

Undeniably, it is our greatest desire to keep Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort as one of the best resort in Alappuzha , hence the feedback and suggestions which you have provided, brought attention to some areas which we may have overlooked. I will be reviewing them with my team on how we could improve.

Kindly accept one more time my deepest apology for what have brought you to give us this rating and truly hope this will have not mar too much your impression at kondai Lip .

I look forward to the pleasure to welcoming you again and to serve you better.

Best regards,

VAISHAKH GEORGE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
663 reviews
14.9 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
587 reviews
21.4 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#17 of 68 in Alappuzha
319 reviews
13.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
332 reviews
19.9 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort

Property: Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Address: Karumanchery Holiday Resorts Pvt Ltd | Ezhupunna South PO, Alappuzha 688537, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn off the highway to Alleppey, onto a narrower road that winds its way through sleepy hamlets, going past prawn and shrimp farms and submerged fields of paddy. You gradually begin to feel the overwhelming presence of water. At times in the course of the journey it seems that for an instant one has dropped below the waterline. "Kondai Lip" Set amidst palms and lush tropical vegetation, traditional air conditioned cottages with canal facing sit outs, built with laterite and wood, elegantly furnished and equipped with all modern amenities. Just 55 km from Cochin International Airport and 18 kms towards Fort Cochin.Having its own Ayur health care Centre with Green Leaf accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing