We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The idea behind the resort and probably its USP is the novelty of its location. The resort is situated amidst fish ponds , the traditional square ones that are very typical of the region. In fact, to get to the main gate of the resort you need to actually board a cute (but trifle unsteady) canoe that ferries you across to the main gate.The experience is novel and pleasant though I felt a little uneasy at first seeing that once both ourselves and our luggage were placed onto the canoe, it appeared overloaded.But of course we reached the hotel safely (and dry).
The rooms are really nice and different with a stone foundation and probably stone walls and floor too. The decor is good too.Very clean and comfortable, though slightly gloomy.The AC is very effective. The bathroom though very clean is slightly awkward as it is sunk in.Should have been on the same level as the room beyond.
The food needs improvement. The basic problem we faced was that even the north Indian dishes smelt strongly of coconut oil. Also the breakfast could have been better with a greater variety.
The staff is very friendly and very willing to help and chat.
The activities such as the pedal boating is very enjoyable, though one felt that more number of boats should be made available to preempt guests squabbling with each other over them. Boating through the interconnected fish ponds early in the morning was a lovely experience.
The fishing was just for namesake, a very primitive arrangement with cane rods , nylons threads and a surgical suture holding the bait.
But overall, a really relaxing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docpubhlth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

422 - 428 of 487 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were 3 family's ,stayed in the resort for one night.we had the very good experience from the resort, very nice rooms,location,delicious food,It's a real backwater resort,very co-op staff.....
We had booked this resort by Coolyatra Holidays,Mumbai - 09702184343/09702064343

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mahavirjain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Me and My wife had been here as a part of our Honeymoon package. The entrance to this place itself gives an overview of what is in store inside. There is a boatman at the place where you get off your vehicle to ferry you to the inside of the resort. The aroma of fresh herbs within the rooms really gave our senses a jumpstart. Plus you have paddle boats to pass your time, fishing and sightseeing during evenings on the resort's boat. I would really recommend this place to the true lovers of nature....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johny1613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Me and my friends stayed here for one night and wished we could have stayed longer and enjoyed more of the place. We were all north indians and vegetarians, so initially we were a little worried about the food..but it was surprisingly very very good. The staff was extremely helpful and the rooms were very spacious and comfortable. We had a great time boating in the lake, chilling out with a cup of tea on the veranda outside the cottage. All in a all a great place to just relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garima2583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We wwre 3 couples and we stayed in the resort for one night on our way back to Cochin.. Its located in a village with a diversion from the main road to Cochin.. We were taken in a boat to the resort from the road, 2 minutes away.. Its sprawling property with heritage style architecture, Chola style with pillars and roof frames made out of wood.. It gives you a feeling of nostaligia as you are living in old ages.. The room was nice but small. AC was fine but not very cool, as it was hot in March.. The bathrooms need to be renovated as they are basic.. The only thing missing was the Swimming pool, which is needed at the property in hot waethers to enjoy swimming.. The food was good.. We were taken in a complimentary trip on the boat on the back waters.. Very calm and quiet place.. There are lot of Chinese fishing nets which obstruct the boat.. But the boatman was skilled and he could manage to take us for boat ride for approx. 2 hours.. We were also taken across the road to see the sea beach, which is awful.. Full of dead fish and dirty.. A different kind of a holiday, totally cut off from the world, in the lap of nature.. There are huge lakes in the resort and we enjoyed the prawns at dinner..

Room Tip: One Night stay is a must.. A different kind of a holiday.. Nature all around..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaneet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed here with my wife for 3 nights. The location is a nice 8 km drive from the main highway through fishing villages and shrimp farms. It is a small 10 room property, but the friendly staff will make your stay comfortable with their good service.

The rooms are spacious, with essentials and clean. But dont expect mini bar, fridge, tea coffee making, and internet. The hotel has its own cruise down the back waters and a peak to the beach, not to be missed. Apart from this there is a small area where you can go pedal boating and a couple of rope swings. Other than this there is not much activity.

The place can get hot and humid (typical of kerala) and you cant give the fan and airconditioner a miss. The restaurant serves only to order due to the size, but is not that bad. The variety is not many and typical kerala dishes are missing. But the quality of the food is nothing to complain of and the prices are not expensive.

Would recommend to anyone seeking a good service and relaxing place for a couple of days.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Hi,
I had gone to this resort for my honeymoon this Jan and is an absolute treat for nature lovers.
It has all the benefits of a house boat stay without its negatives. We had been there only for a day but at the end we wished only if we had stayed a couple of more days. The resort is very clean and the service is excellent, but the best part is the location, just at the doorstep of back waters is what makes it a nature's lover delight. The staff is in simple shirt and lungi, the traditional attire which will make you feel welcome and homely. Special mention of the owner (Vaisakh) who pays personal attention to the guest and in our case help us chalk out the rest of the itinerary for our tour.
I would recommend it to anyone going to Allepey/Alappuzha to go there if you are looking for unmatched experience in the arms of nature.
Regards,
Monish

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank global_trekkker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
18.4 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 71 in Alappuzha
137 reviews
13.8 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 71 in Alappuzha
384 reviews
14.9 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 71 in Alappuzha
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 71 in Alappuzha
789 reviews
21 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 71 in Alappuzha
194 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort

Address: Karumanchery Holiday Resorts Pvt Ltd | Ezhupunna South PO, Alappuzha 688537, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $86 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn off the highway to Alleppey, onto a narrower road that winds its way through sleepy hamlets, going past prawn and shrimp farms and submerged fields of paddy. You gradually begin to feel the overwhelming presence of water. At times in the course of the journey it seems that for an instant one has dropped below the waterline. "Kondai Lip" Set amidst palms and lush tropical vegetation, traditional air conditioned cottages with canal facing sit outs, built with laterite and wood, elegantly furnished and equipped with all modern amenities. Just 55 km from Cochin International Airport and 18 kms towards Fort Cochin.Having its own Ayur health care Centre with Green Leaf accreditation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing