We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like a home stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palmgrove Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Ranked #16 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Junagadh, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More like a home stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here on 25 Dec 2013.It is more like home stay then hotel, very
friendly staff. Specially Uday cooked good veg items according to our test, special thanks to him.

Hotel is located on famous water way. You just seat outside your room or at restaurant and see house boats...its amazing experience.Great place if you

just want to relax for 2-3 days, don't need to go anywhere in city!! This hotel has much potential if developed.

Some negative side - not sufficient staff, difficult to locate.They should have provided at least water in rooms, we were needed to call staff and get it.

If you are planning to this place, take mosquito cream with you or use mosquito net provided by hotel.

Over all very homely environment and good place to relax.I wish to come here

again some time in future.

Room Tip: try to get cottage no 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHALAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    81
    26
    7
    7
See reviews for
60
82
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We booked in for one night as it was a bit above our budget, but then we liked the place so much we stayed 4 nights. The location is a little out of town but in a beautiful well kept site right by one of the famous canals. We had a lovely chalet with inside and outside shower, canal views and air con. There was hot water (not always available in other places we stayed), but no wifi....
We recommend the hotel's resident canoe trip as it gets you off the beaten track, where we saw Kingfishers and were not in a long traffic jam of motor powered spice boats. One highlight was the fireflies seen from the chalets verandah at night. A trip into town was cheap and a delight, the hotel has a favourite tuktuk (driven by TUKTUKMAN ) , recommended for an evening trip to see sunset on the beach with a beer or two after. Tuktukman will wait for you.....
Staff were great, breakfast pleasant in a semi outdoor location, coffee, omelette and watch the boats go by.....

Room Tip: As far as we could tell all rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

Have been to this resort earlier with family and it was a wonderful xperience so decided to njoy my honeymoon at this beautiful and peaceful resort. The staff is friendly, food is xotic and the owners Mr. Philip & Mrs. Maria are truly lovable friendly person... Have been in touch with them since last 6-7 years since my first visit.. Whenever I will plan for Allepey it will surely b palmgrove lake resort cos it has the most wonderful space on this earth..

Room Tip: I would always prefer A/c cottages lake facing cos the climate here is humid and hot even in winters
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We chose Palmgrove Lake Resort because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor. The place itself is really nicely located right by the water. On the first sight our bungalow looked nice, the idea of an (partly) openair bathroom is cool!

But!
- The floor was still full of hair and sand. We ended up cleaning it by ourselves...
- Later on we found the source of the bad smell in the room (first we thought it was just because of the closed windows): the mattress! The provided solution from the staff was a fresh air spray and an extra bed sheet. They also gave us the option to change to another bungalow which smelled even worse. During the night I couldn't sleep at all because of the smell!
Next morning, we talked to the owner who came to our bungalow for an inspection. His solution was not really helpful (to change the mattress with another old mattress). It didn't seem that he cared at all... we told him that he might need to buy new mattresses.

We planned to stay for 5 nights, but after the first night we decided to leave. We are low budget travellers and used to Indian standard. Normally we don't like to complain, but for that price this was not acceptable.

Room Tip: Smell the mattress before deciding to stay there. Rooms further away from the water are quieter beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We had promised ourselves, in January 2009, that we would return to Palmgrove whenever we wanted to get away from 'it all'. And so we did from 31 October to 4 November this year. Easy access to the town and its sequestered location drew us here again. And we were not disappointed, In fact, we had much more on offer.

We were overwhelmed by the warm reception waiting for us from the dignified Abraham and his pleasantly endearing wife, Maria who gave us excellent company over cups of coffee and dosas, most welcome after a long train journey. The staff including Ben, our old friend with his ever- present smile, their new-found excellent cook Udhay, Jocey, who was always willing to extend a hand and Prasannan, the friendly and sought- after boatman, were all there making us feel we were back with family, not at a resort.

S1 was our cottage: sitting on the patio with morning coffee, in the warm glow of the rising sun, gazing at the waters of the 'kayal', filled us with liquid peace which gently flowed through the day as the shimmering waters. Vying for our attention were the sudden flashes of blue from kingfishers, the cooing of wood-pigeons, the strutting of egrets and cranes...After breakfast, while one stretched out with a book in hand in the hammock, the other stood to stare at two pigeons earnestly building their little nest...

The service was excellent - Ben, like his namesake in London kept time very well as he regularly turned up to remind us of meals being ready, almost always ahead of when we had asked for them; he also complemented Udhay's cooking in such a way that each gave his best. As manager, his meticulousness was reflected in the manner in which he settled the bill at the time of our departure- accurately and speedily.On the rainy Saturday evening, we had just got off the boat, and were about to ask Udhay for tea when we realised he was already serving it out for he had spotted the boat approaching the jetty and knew our need - if this isn't thoughtful service, what is?!

The food was excellent. Udhay did a splendid job of cooking for us what we wanted (prawns curry 'meen' and more of them) and just the way we wanted (not too spicy, not too bland which for health-watchers like us was a boon!)

Rooms are attractively designed and comfortable; the bath and wash area are unique in that they are open to the sky. Enclosed space is also available, curtained off from the open area and yet naturally lit and fresh. However, more attention could be paid to little details: provision for clothes-hangers, working intercoms, improvement in lighting to make reading indoors less strenuous and cleaning of rooms to be part of the daily routine. That the security staff were alert to windows being closed after dusk was to be appreciated.

We strongly recommend the five-hour boat trip (either sunrise or sunset) offered by Prasannan: he takes us across the huge Vembanad lake, his oars cutting through quaint little villages - where we can see life as it is on the shores of the lake, wave in greeting to simple people and if, interested, get off to exchange a few words and have a cup of tea in a small shop - past green floating islands... even as we can see huge houseboats moored or gliding only on the main waterways. Even in the sudden burst of thunderstorm we relaxed and felt secure for he is extremely careful. His knowledge of the environment and everything relevant to Kerala is phenomenal.

These emotions of tranquillity would keep Palmgrove fresh in our minds until we can return to experience the stillness, even as we watch the world (sorry, houseboats) go by.

Shantha and Gabriel
Chennai

Room Tip: Choose lake facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPeace51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipabraham, Owner at Palmgrove Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Shantha and Gabriel,

Thank you for your comments. Really appreciate it.

We were really glad to see you back in Palmgrove and really looking forward to your next visit. We have passed your note of appreciation to Ben, Uday and Josy. They were really happy to hear your comments.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Abraham Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights and I think we were the only guests. The rooms are big and clean. Theres a terrace with 2 chairs where you can relax and read a book. Toilet is a bit weird because its open.
We booked the backwater trip and it was brilliant and good price!
Only con was the mosquito bites so bring plenty of spray!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BeCaSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipabraham, Owner at Palmgrove Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Palmgrove Lake Resort and enjoyed the backwater trip.

We spray natural herbs that repel mosquitoes in all the cottages and sorry to hear that mosquitoes still bothered you. We are still investigating different natural means to repel them.

Kind regards
Abraham Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visakhapatnam, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The resort is over a large area yet maintained very well....variety of flowers and vegetables planted all around.

USP is the location...bang on the backwaters, yet very close to the town. The rooms are very comfortable and balconies opening to the backwaters. Whole day you will find Houseboats and Shikaras traveling on the water, which is teh main route for the famous Nehru Boat Race.

The owners (Mr and Mrs Philip Baraham) are true gentlemen and taken personal note of all the visitors. The caretakes (Mr. Ben and Mr. Uday) are great guys, particularly Uday cooks fantastic Keralian food, especially non-veg. They also extend personal helps, beyond their regular services.

The resort also has a private jetty and we boarded our Houseboat from the same...very convenient.

Overall, it was a stay to remember

Room Tip: Take any room, all are facing backwaters. However, the suite rooms are bigger and closer to the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iman G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philipabraham, Owner at Palmgrove Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Iman,

Glad to hear that you had a good time at Palmgrove Lake resort. I will pass your note of appreciation to Ben and Uday.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Abraham Philip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
9.6 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#19 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
5.1 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.5 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Lake Resort

Property: Palmgrove Lake Resort
Address: N T Ward | Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmgrove resort is an elegant holiday resort situated in acres of natural greeneries and is on the banks of the beautiful Punnamada lake. The resort offer complete privacy and peaceful atmosphere and is free from air and sound pollution. The resort is really a wonderful paradise and an home far away from your home, of course with homely and tasty food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palmgrove Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Palmgrove Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing