We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just relax”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

In the middle of palm trees with a nice view on the backwaters. Delicious keralan food and the possibilities for boat trips and Aryuvedamassage. Good english skills and nice, helpfull service. We felt welcomed since the arrivingmoment.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gizbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    83
    27
    8
    7
See reviews for
63
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

*** TIP: Ask Joseph (manager) to book an overnight houseboat tour for you - he has some seriously good value connections! ***

Palm Grove is so perfectly located in the most beautiful setting right on the water front, with palm trees everywhere, extremely comfy beds, lovely outdoor bathrooms and fantastic food.

We arrived in Alleppey in the blistering heat of summer, having had to change our plans, stressed and unsure where to stay or how to organise a houseboat tour. We had booked to stay at Palm Grove but had arrived in Alleppey 2 days early. After checking into a dingy hotel in the town, we decided to leave there and head to Palm Grove to see if they could accommodate us and help with a houseboat tour.

The manager Joseph was so extremely helpful, put us in the best room in the hotel, arranged a houseboat to collect us from the jetty of the resort the following day to take us on a 22hour tour, and looked after our every need for our entire 4 day stay.

The houseboat we stayed on was so fabulous, perfectly sized for a couple (double bedroom, lounge, balcony area and ensuite bathroom) and such great value. The food was authentic Keralan thali for lunch and fish for dinner.

Absolutely AMAZING place. We recommended it to many other travellers and they were not disappointed!

Room Tip: Room 1 is the best, with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Main thing about the resort is peaceful ambience with lake view.u can enjoy d nature from this resort. I personally spoke to the owner Mr.Abraham for some time. By that I understood he s not money motive and he s very keen about customer satisfaction and he wants to give his customer a peaceful ambience and memorable stay. Manager and other staffs r also good. They have only limited menu.they ll also arrange for decent massages, good house boats & auto for pick up drop. Totally very good experience v had. Memorable. Worth for money. V felt its somewhat cheap.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsuresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location and good cottage. Food was good and great hospitality. Great view from the cottage. Surely recommended for people who would like to relax and enjoy nature. Transport arranged on request, no hassles - with the arrangements or with the drivers. No issues with the cleanliness.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debjani_M2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am sure, based on the reviews, that the place must be a decent place to stay based but they need to fix their booking process. Here is how it went for me:

I called up the resort and since the lady who picked up the phone couldn't speak English (no cribs here, as it shows my inability to converse in Malayalam), I called up the mobile no. given. A lady picked up the home - could be owner/manager who was very courteous and offer to call back within 5 mins to confirm availability and tariff. Here is where I erred. I asked her not to bother and that she can send an email. I sent her an email immediately after the call, referring to the call and checking availability and tariff. I got a response a day later from Mr. Abraham Philips. Based on suggestion I logged in my booking request immediately on the website and also confirmed the booking for a Lakeview AC Suite on the email asking for method for advance payment. To my surprise I get a response a day later that few rooms are available and I will have to book for a minimum of two days. Now I had waited for two days, lost out on my alternative options due to busy Nehru Boat Race event, to be given this shock! I called up the lady again and she chatted with Mr. Abraham in background and informed that she will send an email. Finally, not getting any response, I went ahead booked elsewhere. Felt really taken for a ride though it may have been less intentional more amateurish

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Vansid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great location good cottage (delux) , property manager manoj was polite and nice.cook was helpful and did his best from limited menu .OK restaurant . but they can keep some cycles (kayaks were unavailable during our stay) for residents to roam around ,as resort location is great to peddle around....
but we felt not value for money,limited menu ,access to town and limited activities in "resort"

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Good location. Takes a bit of searching at first, but well worth it if you're looking for a secluded spot. Friendly and helpful staff. Taxis and transport arranged on request, no hassles - with the arrangements or with the drivers.
Good food. No issues with the cleanliness.
Family run. Well managed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abheesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.1 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
664 reviews
7.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.6 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
2.1 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Lake Resort

Property: Palmgrove Lake Resort
Address: N T Ward | Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmgrove resort is an elegant holiday resort situated in acres of natural greeneries and is on the banks of the beautiful Punnamada lake. The resort offer complete privacy and peaceful atmosphere and is free from air and sound pollution. The resort is really a wonderful paradise and an home far away from your home, of course with homely and tasty food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palmgrove Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Palmgrove Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing