We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I found about this property from Tripadvisor. I had initially booked a houseboat, as many do for Alleppy, but then decided against it after I read many reviews which basically meant you cannot be certain about the quality of the boat by looking at the pics, and also that these can’t go through small canals, and had to stop moving after 5.30 pm. Hence, we decided to stay in a resort, and this was the best decision. The property is located right on the backwaters, and the shikara (small boat) for our trip stopped next to our room! It has about 5-6 rooms, which are pretty big, and surprisingly not expensive (INR 3k for an AC room, with rooms comparable to a 4 star property). The food served was amazing. Ask for chili gobi and dal. The property is managed by only one man – he is the receptionist, bell boy, waiter, repairs and maintenance, etc. one more guest, so this wasn’t a problem for us, but could be at full occupancy. However, want to mention that the guy is very polite and courteous.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shikha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Palmgrove Lake Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 199 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Like they say, sometimes ignorance is bliss. In this case, it was indeed. I dint know what to expect on my way to Palm grove but the person in me expected a hotel building full of rooms on a scenic lake front. What i got as a surprise was this beautiful cluster of cottages bang next to the lake. Good rooms at decent prices. The ambiance was beautifully done up with wooden finishing and a semi-open bath. A must visit when you visit alleppey! :D

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apoorva p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had an Lake-Facing-AC-Suite. The room was really spacious with a little living room with TV and an outside/inside bath. There was always hot water with good pressure. We enjoeyd the sit on the terrace and watch the scenery on the channel.
Breakfast was included in our room rate and consisted of eggs of your choice, coffee/tea, juice, toast, butter jam.
In the eveing the restaurant was nicely illuminated. We had the kerala vegetarian dinner for two nights and liked it. We think the price was ok.
The staff was a little bit reserved but always helpful. We stayed for two nights. After the first night there was now room service but we didnt mind. We just asked for new towels which were brought immediately.
There are some small shops in the area and all people were very friendly.
The only little downside is the neighbouring shipyard, which is sometimes a little bit noisy.
But, however, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tobias K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Set at the bank of the Punnamada lake, Palm Grove Lake Resort is a clean, simple and value for money place to stay in Alleppey. The cottages are clean and the location is beautiful. Almost a decade ago I had visited another resort, not too far from Palm Grove, for which we paid 3 times more (then) for most of the same basic features. Its located beautifully, has good service and a nice feel overall.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apekshav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Situated away from the city center, this resort has the backwater as its... backyard. And you can see houseboats floating by in numbers. It looks beautiful. The room we stayed in was the Non-AC cottage.. which was great. The room was clean and tidy, though I think they only clean the room once the guests have left, so make sure you keep it clean if you're going to stay there for many days.
The food is good too, though you may fall in love with certain restaurants on Beach Road.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siddhant_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in this resort on october 25th 2012.Location is perfect with limited cottages and stayed in the lake side cottage.Very good property right next to punnamada lake.
Staff is limited but very cooperative and efficient.Cottages are good and overall the stay was very good

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavan2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Visited Palmgrove lake resort in Sept 2012. Its a pleasant resort set among trees along the main backwater canal with very spacious rooms & offering good value for money.

Pros:
Location: It is located on the main canal offering a ringside view of life on the canal making it a good base to watch the hundreds of houseboats go by, especially in the morning and the evening.
Gardens: The area is landscaped nicely with trees. The property has its own jetty where houseboats can pick you up.
Rooms: The rooms are spacious & tastefully done in traditional Kerala decor with hardwood furniture. Each room has a spacious balcony with cane chairs & a small table.
Openair Bathrooms: This was the best part of the room. Its very pleasant to have a shower under the sky.
Friendly staff and nice owners: The staff Suresh & Emmanuel were very friendly without being familiar - just the right touch. They were quite helpful with small requests. The owners are also a very nice couple making us feel very welcome.


Neutral
Service: The inhouse restaurant takes a while to get your order ready. You could get around this by ordering food before you come in. The staff did approach us to get our order & got it ready by the time we came in to eat.
TVs: The pictures in the TV was very grainy in both the rooms that we had hired. Most people dont come here to watch TV - but try telling that to a 6 year old.
Proximity to boat yard: Its right next door to a houseboat building yard which has its positives and negatives. Its quite interesting to see them being built. However, a very occasional noise does creep in. I suppose the tree cover suppresses the noise quite a bit. It wasnt really a bother.

Cons:
The only negative that I found was that the plates in the restarant need to be washed better. I could clearly get the smell of the previous meal from the plate.

Overall:
An excellent, calm place with large well appointed rooms & well located offering good value for money

Cheers
Krishna

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank krishnamurthy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
7.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
361 reviews
5.1 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.5 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
818 reviews
6.9 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmgrove Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmgrove Lake Resort

Address: Nehru Trophy Ward | Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $49 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palmgrove resort is an elegant holiday resort situated in acres of natural greeneries and is on the banks of the beautiful Punnamada lake. The resort offer complete privacy and peaceful atmosphere and is free from air and sound pollution. The resort is really a wonderful paradise and an home far away from your home, of course with homely and tasty food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Palmgrove Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Grove Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Palmgrove Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing