We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge space- when corporate clients come- No one will come to even talk to you.”
Review of Lake Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Palace Resort
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

• When we were there one big set were checking out and another was checkin in. You will feel all alone and the staff very busy. Like "why did you come here - why not find someother hotel ?". We were only 3 rooms , and one of the staff told us that the other set was 77 rooms or people. We are not at all important.

• Weird policies like checkin @ 1:30 and if you go at 12:00 , they will ask you to wait till 1:30 even if the room is ready. The voucher which cleartrip send had clearly mentioned that it was 12:00. .
• Then they concluded that it is not their problem. It is cleartrip’s problem. No apologies whatsoever. They then told me they asked cleartrip to fix it. But how does that help my problem ?.
• The guy at the reception was using words like “please”, “sir” but his body language was VERY rude. Someone else then pitched in and took me out and then sorted it out. But the argument spoiled the whole experience.
• It is a huge place so if there are big corporate clients there will be none to attend you. We were a few unlucky ones. If there was no one else may the we would had a better experience. There was no one to even welcome us or take our luggage.
• Calling housekeeping /room service , you might have to try more than 2-3 times and if they come it will be after 20-30 mins.
• So there was no hot water problem we had to use cold water in the evening and next day wait until they came and fixed it. This was for all 3 rooms we booked. They did something outside the room to fix it.
• Interconnecting door is a joke. Once they open... to close it you will have to call them again.
• The road to the resort is very narrow. So they have some local dirty boats to ferry you to the place. I would suggest use the road.
• The waiting room in boat jetty was stinking. We waited there for more than 30 mins.
• Spend another 30 mins at checkout. There were lot of mistakes in the restaurant bills. The guy was totally confused. PLEASE CHECK YOUR BILLS.
• The lunch buffet for 850 was way too expensive. The deserts were all over by the time we went . Yeah its our fault  .First come service right.
• and trivial thing Location in Google maps was wrong.
• Food was also not as a good as mentioned in other reviews , may be we went in the wrong day .
• No room service in afternoon and you need to walk a lot to the restaurant. But some other staff bragged that we had 24hrs room service which was not true.
And now some good things : -
• The location is exotic
• The low level staff were very warm and good.

Room Tip: Its like a lottery - you might get a good a service or not. It all depends on the day.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ninoo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
There are newer reviews for Lake Palace Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 378 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed a night at Lake Palace Resort in Alleppey because the houseboats were on strike. So we had no prior booking on this resort.
This is a nice property and you have everything you want, inclunding a free one hour boat ride on the lake. The pool is very nice and clean, the rooms are spacious, the entire experience was good. The only unpleasant thing is that they like to negociate, as all indians do. First time they asked for a specific price then, after negociating we settled at about a half. This episode was not so pleasent so I cannot give the maximum quoatation here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pintea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2013

Dear Guest .

Greetings from Lake Palace Resort !!

On the onset would like to Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent visit at lake palace resort.

Its good to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated the services the resort has to offer to the guest , would also recommend to try our traditionally designed houseboats to get the feel of backwaters.

I do regret your experience regarding the price offered to you at front office, as initially offered price was the printed rack rate for the hotel which is presented to the guest if there is an inquiry and the later one was the off season waver which was offered to you as we give it to our clients .
Please be assured that the prices offered to the guest are standardized and are followed evenly with all our customers..

I believe you will give us another chance by visiting again and recommending the same to your friends and acquaintances .

Thanking you

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Location of this resort is outstanding with backwater background.Swimming pool within backwater body is amazing. Villas are also conveniently located with beautiful landscaping around.Enjoyed
spa and massage.Restaurant served authentic dishes. Thoroughly enjoyed 4 nights stay at this
resort with boat rides in the evening and also complimentary shuttle boat service from resort and back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shribaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Lake Palace Resort !!

Thank you for taking time to write this review following your recent stay with us.

From your review, we understand that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is heartening to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful architecture and activities which resort has to offer and the hospitality of the staff.

Guest appreciation is what motivates me and my team to perform our best.

Also recommend you to try our Houseboats which are traditionally designed to give you a feel of Kerala's architecture and high level of hospitality .

Thank you again for choosing to stay with Lake Palace
Look forward to see you on your next visit to Alleppey with your family & friends and delight you as always.

Warm Regards

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at Lake Palace Resort at Alleppey in Feb'13 as part of a large get-together with family. We stayed at the swanky lake-view villas which faced the lagoon. The rooms were huge, with a private sit-out, and a view of the Vembanad lagoon. The facilities were state-of-the-art and swanky. Service was good (as expected), while we were mostly participating in our group activities. The food was good but not great ! The best approach is by ferry from the boat jetty. the resort offers scheduled periodic pick-up and drops to & from the jetty (or on request).

The architecture and design of the resort was spell-binding. The cottages built on stilts on the water (3-sides surrounding), the swimming pool, the quality of wood used, the standard of services offered- all were great ! Several of our friends were NRIs / PIOs and they were well-taken care of by the international standard services of the resort.

The price of the resort was steep but in line with market norms for the time & place.

All-in-all, a great experience of top-class amenities amidst the beauty of nature.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harirajagopal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking time to share this review with us and other travelers. I am sure your feedback will go a long way in helping those planning their trips to Alleppey in the near future.

Its really motivating to hear that you enjoyed the beauty and services at Lake Palace.

Would also recommend to use Our House boats on your next visit to Alleppey, being among the best in the market are Traditionally designed to give you a Traditional feel of Kerala Architecture and beauty.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

Look forward to see you again on your next visit to Alleppey!!

Warm Regards,

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have visited Lake Palace Resort Alleppey in the month of September, stayed one night in House boat & One night in Premium lake view deluxe cottage..
Honestly speaking, caretakers @ house boat’s are really helpful & good kind humans who take care of their guest like god. ie: Hospitality industry says ‘GUEST IS OUR GOD’ food served @ HB was very good/fresh & hygiene.
Coming back to Land I stayed @ higher category room with all basic amenities & really outstanding lake view & room service & housekeeping staff’s are really thankful.
They have evening cruise called (Sunset cruise) which can make guest very relaxed & show sunset if weather permits.

Room Tip: Premium lake view deluxe cottage
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anand0988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest ,

Thank you for writing back and sharing your experience during your stay at Lake Palace. I am sure your feedback will go a long way in helping those planning their trips to Alleppey in the near future.

Its good to hear that you enjoyed our Services and took back the memories of Backwaters .

On your next Visit to the Backwaters would also recommend you to try our In house Ayurveda Center where we offer the blend of Medicinal and leisure therapies which are the Best in the League and is appreciated by most of our customers.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

Would Look forward to see you on your next visit to Kerala with your family & friends and delight you as always.

Regards

Arjun Kohli
General Manager Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Property is located at a very beautiful spot the architecture is very nice built very well on the back water is very colorful and can get fresh Air from the lake. The staff are very polite and helpful. Please refrain from the Road side approach as the roads are under developed will be very tiring and frustrating more over the approach to the resort has one private road if unfortunately any VIP is visiting then the road comes under repair and the Property security not very literate will make you sit for lot of time will tell you walk into the resort I had this experience on my visit. There are lot of room for improvement in the resort as I was given a very old villa which needed lot of refurbishment as the room was I believe very very old type with electric wires hanging around from the ceiling and had only one plug point in a very odd spot so make sure you get the right rooms to stay this just an tip to the people planning to stay. Please don't visit the resort during the Nehru Cup that is 2nd Saturday in the month August as you might come across some humiliation by the Owner of the resort as I was the witness of this incident, I have seen literally the owner getting angry on a old lady guest and he almost went to physically assault. the resort were VIP like Governor visits so they are given preference and good treatment than the normal guest staying in the resort - SO AVOID VISITING DURING THE BOAT RACE EVENT. If you go you might be treated as if you are doing an obligation by staying in the resort by the resort owners.
Over all a place to visit but hope you get good treatment and you get a good room to stay all the best for this

Room Tip: Over all a place to visit but hope you get good treatment and you get a good room to stay all the be...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krishnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed there with my family and a freind's family. We had a great time there. The Swimming pool in the middle of water pond is simply great. The restaurant is overlooking the lake and has an open balcony facing the lake. The view of lake from this place is awesome. Though you have to be prepared to stay cutoff from the normal hustle and ustle of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoki_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Guest.

Greetings from Lake Palace Team !!

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write about us.
I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay at the resort. It is our constant endeavor to exceed your expectations and your feedback is therefore much appreciated.

My team and I assure you the best of our services at all times.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thanking You

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
711 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.3 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
611 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
2.6 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Resort

Address: Thirumala Ward,Alleppey | Chungam, Alappuzha 688011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $127 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Palace is a Five star luxury backwater resort located in Alleppey at the banks of Vembanadu Lake, adjacent to the venue of the legendary Nehru Trophy boat race. Lake Palace Resort represents a quaint tradition, blended with modernity. Its architecture is delightfully Keralite yet comfortably modern and rich in contemporary ethos. Each of its rooms is individually decorated with a dramatic blend of old-world charm and modern accessories. While the Lake View Cottages feature a cozy lounge with mini bar, refrigerator, television, king size bedroom, en-suite bathroom with hot & cold running water and 24 hours room service, the Water Villas offer the rare feeling of being afloat. Its facilities include king size bedrooms that are beautifully appointed rooms with wooden furniture, en-suite bathrooms and 24 hours room service. Every balcony at Lake View Cottage offers a unassailable view of the unruffled Vembanadu Lake where the traditional country boats & canoes cruise gently along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Alappuzha
Lake Palace Alappuzha
Lake Palace Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing