We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but expensive”
Review of Lake Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Palace Resort
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Bucuresti
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good but expensive”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed a night at Lake Palace Resort in Alleppey because the houseboats were on strike. So we had no prior booking on this resort.
This is a nice property and you have everything you want, inclunding a free one hour boat ride on the lake. The pool is very nice and clean, the rooms are spacious, the entire experience was good. The only unpleasant thing is that they like to negociate, as all indians do. First time they asked for a specific price then, after negociating we settled at about a half. This episode was not so pleasent so I cannot give the maximum quoatation here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pintea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest .

Greetings from Lake Palace Resort !!

On the onset would like to Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent visit at lake palace resort.

Its good to hear that you enjoyed and appreciated the services the resort has to offer to the guest , would also recommend to try our traditionally designed houseboats to get the feel of backwaters.

I do regret your experience regarding the price offered to you at front office, as initially offered price was the printed rack rate for the hotel which is presented to the guest if there is an inquiry and the later one was the off season waver which was offered to you as we give it to our clients .
Please be assured that the prices offered to the guest are standardized and are followed evenly with all our customers..

I believe you will give us another chance by visiting again and recommending the same to your friends and acquaintances .

Thanking you

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    119
    52
    15
    15
See reviews for
169
95
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolhapur, India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Location of this resort is outstanding with backwater background.Swimming pool within backwater body is amazing. Villas are also conveniently located with beautiful landscaping around.Enjoyed
spa and massage.Restaurant served authentic dishes. Thoroughly enjoyed 4 nights stay at this
resort with boat rides in the evening and also complimentary shuttle boat service from resort and back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shribaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Lake Palace Resort !!

Thank you for taking time to write this review following your recent stay with us.

From your review, we understand that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is heartening to hear that you had a good stay with us and that you enjoyed the beautiful architecture and activities which resort has to offer and the hospitality of the staff.

Guest appreciation is what motivates me and my team to perform our best.

Also recommend you to try our Houseboats which are traditionally designed to give you a feel of Kerala's architecture and high level of hospitality .

Thank you again for choosing to stay with Lake Palace
Look forward to see you on your next visit to Alleppey with your family & friends and delight you as always.

Warm Regards

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at Lake Palace Resort at Alleppey in Feb'13 as part of a large get-together with family. We stayed at the swanky lake-view villas which faced the lagoon. The rooms were huge, with a private sit-out, and a view of the Vembanad lagoon. The facilities were state-of-the-art and swanky. Service was good (as expected), while we were mostly participating in our group activities. The food was good but not great ! The best approach is by ferry from the boat jetty. the resort offers scheduled periodic pick-up and drops to & from the jetty (or on request).

The architecture and design of the resort was spell-binding. The cottages built on stilts on the water (3-sides surrounding), the swimming pool, the quality of wood used, the standard of services offered- all were great ! Several of our friends were NRIs / PIOs and they were well-taken care of by the international standard services of the resort.

The price of the resort was steep but in line with market norms for the time & place.

All-in-all, a great experience of top-class amenities amidst the beauty of nature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harirajagopal86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking time to share this review with us and other travelers. I am sure your feedback will go a long way in helping those planning their trips to Alleppey in the near future.

Its really motivating to hear that you enjoyed the beauty and services at Lake Palace.

Would also recommend to use Our House boats on your next visit to Alleppey, being among the best in the market are Traditionally designed to give you a Traditional feel of Kerala Architecture and beauty.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

Look forward to see you again on your next visit to Alleppey!!

Warm Regards,

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have visited Lake Palace Resort Alleppey in the month of September, stayed one night in House boat & One night in Premium lake view deluxe cottage..
Honestly speaking, caretakers @ house boat’s are really helpful & good kind humans who take care of their guest like god. ie: Hospitality industry says ‘GUEST IS OUR GOD’ food served @ HB was very good/fresh & hygiene.
Coming back to Land I stayed @ higher category room with all basic amenities & really outstanding lake view & room service & housekeeping staff’s are really thankful.
They have evening cruise called (Sunset cruise) which can make guest very relaxed & show sunset if weather permits.

Room Tip: Premium lake view deluxe cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anand0988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for writing back and sharing your experience during your stay at Lake Palace. I am sure your feedback will go a long way in helping those planning their trips to Alleppey in the near future.

Its good to hear that you enjoyed our Services and took back the memories of Backwaters .

On your next Visit to the Backwaters would also recommend you to try our In house Ayurveda Center where we offer the blend of Medicinal and leisure therapies which are the Best in the League and is appreciated by most of our customers.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

Would Look forward to see you on your next visit to Kerala with your family & friends and delight you as always.

Regards

Arjun Kohli
General Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Property is located at a very beautiful spot the architecture is very nice built very well on the back water is very colorful and can get fresh Air from the lake. The staff are very polite and helpful. Please refrain from the Road side approach as the roads are under developed will be very tiring and frustrating more over the approach to the resort has one private road if unfortunately any VIP is visiting then the road comes under repair and the Property security not very literate will make you sit for lot of time will tell you walk into the resort I had this experience on my visit. There are lot of room for improvement in the resort as I was given a very old villa which needed lot of refurbishment as the room was I believe very very old type with electric wires hanging around from the ceiling and had only one plug point in a very odd spot so make sure you get the right rooms to stay this just an tip to the people planning to stay. Please don't visit the resort during the Nehru Cup that is 2nd Saturday in the month August as you might come across some humiliation by the Owner of the resort as I was the witness of this incident, I have seen literally the owner getting angry on a old lady guest and he almost went to physically assault. the resort were VIP like Governor visits so they are given preference and good treatment than the normal guest staying in the resort - SO AVOID VISITING DURING THE BOAT RACE EVENT. If you go you might be treated as if you are doing an obligation by staying in the resort by the resort owners.
Over all a place to visit but hope you get good treatment and you get a good room to stay all the best for this

Room Tip: Over all a place to visit but hope you get good treatment and you get a good room to stay all the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krishnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed there with my family and a freind's family. We had a great time there. The Swimming pool in the middle of water pond is simply great. The restaurant is overlooking the lake and has an open balcony facing the lake. The view of lake from this place is awesome. Though you have to be prepared to stay cutoff from the normal hustle and ustle of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoki_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest.

Greetings from Lake Palace Team !!

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write about us.
I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay at the resort. It is our constant endeavor to exceed your expectations and your feedback is therefore much appreciated.

My team and I assure you the best of our services at all times.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thanking You

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

this was my last day an a 7 day trip.arrived by boat at 9.30 am,the reception staff did not attend to for 10 minutes to start with.he was more interested in answering all the calls and attending to wedding party that was there.we finally got seen to.we were advised that the room is not ready will be about half hour wait as this has just been cleaned after previous guest.
i had to ask again if the room was before i was taken to by a lady who did say anything about the hotel services.
Reached the room. 1. first thing was the air condition not working -the lady tried and did not say say anything.2. my luggage was not brought to the room. and had ring reception.3 porter bought the bags and asked to see if the air condition can be sorted,he said he will ask get that sorted.3.no hot water!!! Rang the reception said will send somebody waited 30 minuted no show.4.rang housekeeping - the engineer came ..asked if he was advised by recption,he replied no.5.rang the reception asked to speak to manager-nikhil advised him of situation no apology so far from any staff including manager all i was advised give me 2 minutes and i will find out.
the engineer fixed the water call from reception we will transfer you to another room-but no contact from manager.......a hotel so many good reviews i chose this hotel --most diappointed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arvinds1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
22.1 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
704 reviews
7.5 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
678 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
2.6 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Resort

Property: Lake Palace Resort
Address: Thirumala Ward,Alleppey | Chungam, Alappuzha 688011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Palace is a Five star luxury backwater resort located in Alleppey at the banks of Vembanadu Lake, adjacent to the venue of the legendary Nehru Trophy boat race. Lake Palace Resort represents a quaint tradition, blended with modernity. Its architecture is delightfully Keralite yet comfortably modern and rich in contemporary ethos. Each of its rooms is individually decorated with a dramatic blend of old-world charm and modern accessories. While the Lake View Cottages feature a cozy lounge with mini bar, refrigerator, television, king size bedroom, en-suite bathroom with hot & cold running water and 24 hours room service, the Water Villas offer the rare feeling of being afloat. Its facilities include king size bedrooms that are beautifully appointed rooms with wooden furniture, en-suite bathrooms and 24 hours room service. Every balcony at Lake View Cottage offers a unassailable view of the unruffled Vembanadu Lake where the traditional country boats & canoes cruise gently along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Alappuzha
Lake Palace Alappuzha
Lake Palace Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing