We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and Superb Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Palace Resort
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Superb Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed there with my family and a freind's family. We had a great time there. The Swimming pool in the middle of water pond is simply great. The restaurant is overlooking the lake and has an open balcony facing the lake. The view of lake from this place is awesome. Though you have to be prepared to stay cutoff from the normal hustle and ustle of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yoki_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest.

Greetings from Lake Palace Team !!

Many thanks for taking your valuable time to write about us.
I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay at the resort. It is our constant endeavor to exceed your expectations and your feedback is therefore much appreciated.

My team and I assure you the best of our services at all times.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thanking You

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    106
    50
    13
    15
See reviews for
152
86
2
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

this was my last day an a 7 day trip.arrived by boat at 9.30 am,the reception staff did not attend to for 10 minutes to start with.he was more interested in answering all the calls and attending to wedding party that was there.we finally got seen to.we were advised that the room is not ready will be about half hour wait as this has just been cleaned after previous guest.
i had to ask again if the room was before i was taken to by a lady who did say anything about the hotel services.
Reached the room. 1. first thing was the air condition not working -the lady tried and did not say say anything.2. my luggage was not brought to the room. and had ring reception.3 porter bought the bags and asked to see if the air condition can be sorted,he said he will ask get that sorted.3.no hot water!!! Rang the reception said will send somebody waited 30 minuted no show.4.rang housekeeping - the engineer came ..asked if he was advised by recption,he replied no.5.rang the reception asked to speak to manager-nikhil advised him of situation no apology so far from any staff including manager all i was advised give me 2 minutes and i will find out.
the engineer fixed the water call from reception we will transfer you to another room-but no contact from manager.......a hotel so many good reviews i chose this hotel --most diappointed

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arvinds1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Actually i have visited this hotel long back in Jan 2006. We stayed for 2 Nights at this Resort and had wonderful time. We had booked the Kerala Cottage. They have there on private Jetty in Alleppey. There were live musical show during dinner times.

Food was also good.

Room Tip: Book Kerala Cottage to have floating Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chetan_Yangalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest .

Greetings from Lake Palace Team !!

Its good to hear that you still carry memories of your visit to Lake Palace back in 2006 , i am sure your stay would have been a memorable one.

To this ill like to Invite you to come and experience the changes at Lake Palace which have happened in the due Course in addition to what you experienced long back in 2006.

My team and I assure you the best of our services at all times.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thanking You

Arjun kohli
General Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Imagine, u want to enjoy backwaters n could nt get a houseboat. then lake palace is the place u must come to.. Built in the backwaters it"s kind of island with good privacy. Received a warm welcome at the arrival and too fast a service. All rooms n cottages are built at the bank of Backwaters, still provided with most modern amenities. But be cautious to open the doors facing Backwaters during evening or night, lots of mosquitoes (inherent to backwaters) can jump on you!! Kerala Cottage are pretty good, Clean n cool. Food is excellent. Try Kerela stuffs here. They r awesome. Try and get meals included in your plan as there is no other resto nearby. one needs to go out by jetty that has specific timings. Ambience is classically romantic.. i wish we had some more time to spend there, but... Next time..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vipul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest .

Greetings from Lake Palace Resort !!

Thank you for taking your time to write this review- it is always a pleasure to have you stay at Lake Palace.

I am glad to know that you enjoyed the food spread and beautiful view, which the resort has to offer in abundance
We, at Lake Palace , strive to keep the spirit of authentic Kerala hospitality alive through the warmth and hospitality of our staff, the traditional ambiance of the resort and food spread- your appreciation for the same will go a long way in motivating my team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and delighting you as always!

Warm Regards,

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blr
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

its an excellent hotel with excellent staff and beautiful location.you wont belive it is jus on the backwaters of alleppey.we stayed there in first week of july. though its rainy season,it did not rain heavily on those 3 days.so our kid had a gala time in the pool located in the mid of a private lake(where one can also use the peddle boats).they have free pick up and drop facility from KSRTC bus stand,where they have their own office and guests can wait there for the boat to reach resort. they have daily cruise for an hour in the evening.free wi-fi is also provided.the rooms/bath are kept clean. food is exceptional.we dint find it too expensive compared to the quality and quantity served.though only few veg options were available on the menu,a variety is prepared on request.
you can also do fishing..

cons- communication with few of the restaurant staff and securities was bit o a problem as they couldn't understand English and we did not know Malayalam.but many seem to be good in hindi.kids play area was not at all maintained(may be because it rained so heavily the during the previous days of our visit)

special thanks
to Mr.Jobi at the reservation.though we communicated with him only through mails/phones.all the arrangements were done as per our requirements on arrival.
to Mr Biju,a very friendly staff who assists in pool/indoor games area
to the whole staff of restaurant

we would definitely come back and recommend it to friends
thanks for making our stay memorable one, lake palace.

Room Tip: if you are getting a deal which includes meals/bf,its worth it..stayed in kerala cottage..but yes ,a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeps r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and writing back to us regarding your recent Stay at Lake Palace.

Its good to hear that we stood up to your expectations and you had a good time during your stay, Its very Motivating for our team when we hear back from a satisfied customer.

Your concern regarding the Vegetarian food and the Staff Communication is taken as a feed back and we will be coming up with a exotic vegetarian Menu for the same which can be experienced on your next visit.

Would also recommend you to try our Traditionally architecture d Houseboats -- which are a must to complete the Experience in Kerala on your next visit .

Thanking you once again for being our guest and look forward to see you on your next Visit.

Warm Regards

Arjun Kohli
General Manager Operations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

its a exellent hotel with a outstanding location.in the middle of clean backwaters.its facilated by ferry and houseboat,it a complete package.its room are so clean and tidy.Bed are so cosy and we can easily spend 2 days in hotel.there service is exellent and its play srea and gym has good machines.children can easily enjoy the play area and swimmin pool.cleaniness is good as the rain comes regularly so its hard to maintain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anirudh18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking time to share this review with us and other travelers. I am sure your feedback will go a long way in helping those planning their trips to Alleppey in the near future.

Its really motivating to hear that you enjoyed the beauty and services at Lake Palace.

Would also recommend to use Our House boats on your next visit to Alleppey, being among the best in the market are Traditionally designed to give you a Traditional feel of Kerala Architecture and beauty.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback.

Look forward to see you again on your next visit to Alleppey!!

Warm Regards,

Arjun Kohli

General Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I really enjoyed my time at the palace. It is set in the most beautiful grounds, with a stunning location right on the lake.

The view from my room was incredible, while the room itself was large, comfortable and very clean.

Staff were friendly and polite, and made a real effort to make me feel welcome.

The only lost points are for the construction work that was occurring on the grounds when I stayed, which I felt could have been handled better. Without this, a definite five stars.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DevineInsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest .

Greetings from Lake Palace Resort !!

On the onset would like to thank you for writing back to us and sharing your experience regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the beauty and landscaping of the resort from your room and the warmth and hospitality of the staff.
At Lake Palace all our Cottages and rooms are water facing ,which gives a spectacular view of the Backwaters.

I regret the inconvenience caused to you due to the maintenance happening at the resort ,kindly accept our apologies for the same ,I hope you will see the improvement and enjoy your time with us on your next visit.

Thank You once again for sharing your experience with us, would look forward to see you again on your next visit to Alleppey.

Regards

Arjun Kohli
General Manager Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
22.1 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.3 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
7.5 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
17.3 mi away
Vasundhara Sarovar Premiere
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Resort

Property: Lake Palace Resort
Address: Thirumala Ward,Alleppey | Chungam, Alappuzha 688011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Palace is a Five star luxury backwater resort located in Alleppey at the banks of Vembanadu Lake, adjacent to the venue of the legendary Nehru Trophy boat race. Lake Palace Resort represents a quaint tradition, blended with modernity. Its architecture is delightfully Keralite yet comfortably modern and rich in contemporary ethos. Each of its rooms is individually decorated with a dramatic blend of old-world charm and modern accessories. While the Lake View Cottages feature a cozy lounge with mini bar, refrigerator, television, king size bedroom, en-suite bathroom with hot & cold running water and 24 hours room service, the Water Villas offer the rare feeling of being afloat. Its facilities include king size bedrooms that are beautifully appointed rooms with wooden furniture, en-suite bathrooms and 24 hours room service. Every balcony at Lake View Cottage offers a unassailable view of the unruffled Vembanadu Lake where the traditional country boats & canoes cruise gently along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Alappuzha
Lake Palace Alappuzha
Lake Palace Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing